Strawberry Shortcake

Hello, summer.

Even though I did not grow up eating strawberries, this dessert reminds me of all the good things of childhood.

Ingredients:
1 cup plus 2 tbsp all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup sugar
a pinch of salt
2 tbsp cold butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 cup milk plus 1 tsp apple cider vinegar (or 1/2 cup buttermilk)

To serve:
6 cups sliced strawberries, tossed with 2 tbsp sugar
3/4 cup light whipped cream
As much vanilla ice cream as you want
A few sprigs of mint

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.
In a mixing bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and salt.
Cut in the pieces of cold butter and crumble with your fingers to get a coarse mixture.
Stir in the sour milk/buttermilk until you get a moist dough. Don't overmix.

At this point, if you have a dough, pat it into a 3/4 inch thick sheet and sprinkle lightly with flour. Using a cookie cutter, cut out shortcakes. Join and re-pat the scraps into shortcakes- you should have 6 in all.  If, like me, you end up with a wet batter (I did not measure the milk properly), pour it into 6 muffin tins.

Bake the shortcakes in the oven for 12 minutes. Cool on a rack.

Slice a shortcake into two, top with a couple of tablespoons of whipped cream, a scoop of icecream, a cup of strawberries, and some mint. Share with your loved ones. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Katiebell says:

    It sounds just lovely. Not really a part of my diet but gorgeous just the same.

  2. Aubrey says:

    I'm not a sweets person, but today I am extraordinarily hungry, and also seem to be extremely susceptible to lovely photographs: So I'm finding this post very enjoyable!

  3. rlbates says:

    I am a sucker for strawberry shortcake. Love it, love it, love it.

  4. LeendaDLL says:

    I'll be right over!

  5. faithy says:

    Yums!! I love strawberry shortcake! Its been a while since i've seen you make desserts! 😉

  6. Purplesque says:

    Katiebell, why no strawberry shortcake in your diet? 🙂

  7. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you, Aubrey. I wasn't a sweets person at all, and now I can't get enough of them. Funny how things change.

  8. Purplesque says:

    You're going to see a lot more desserts here on Vox. Summer is barely here, and I am craving Indian icecream and cottage cheese desserts and all kinds of chocolate…*shudder* Its a little scary.

Leave a comment