Easy Carrot Ginger Soup

It feels strange to be back here on the blog, even though I've been lurking some on Vox.  I could write pages on how I've been an awful neighbor and the stuff that's keeping me from being any better, but lets see if we can do a short list instead.

1. Impending move. Apartment hunting.
2. Job hunting for after the fellowship.
3. Husband's fellowship interviews. 14 interviews in 14 states. Traveling. Worrying when he drives 8 hours after being on a 24 hour call.
4. Husband's visa paperwork, which will allow him to finish residency and fellowship.
5. Research.
6. Upcoming graduation.
7. Spring, and planning a box garden. Hating squirrels again.
8. Studying for board exams.
9. Studying for upcoming fellowship. Taking drug tests and getting fingerprinted. You'd think I was going to work in a federal prison rather than learning to take care of geriatric folks' mental health needs.
10. Being a senior on the Consulation-Liaison service.

Ugh. Allow me to give you this recipe for an easy soup for long days, especially if you are pursuing your own crazy lists. Enjoy it while there is still a slight nip in the air and fresh carrots in the market.

What you need:

1 tbsp olive oil
1.5 lb carrots, chopped
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 ribs celery, chopped
1 inch piece of ginger, chopped
4 cups water/vegetable stock
1 tsp garam masala (or curry powder)
4 tbsp plain yogurt
chopped cilantro/toasted almonds for garnish
salt and black pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a soup pot. Add the onions and the celery and saute until they turn translucent. Add the ginger and carrots and saute for another couple of minutes. Then add the water/stock and bring to a boil. Lower the heat down to a simmer, cover and cook until the carrots are soft. Blend with an immersion blender. Stir in salt, pepper and garam masala.

Add 1/2- 1 tbsp yogurt to each bowl. Ladle in the soup and stir. Garnish with cilantro or almonds and serve warm. This is a delicious earthy soup that goes very well with a simple grilled cheese sandwich and an apple.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Easy Carrot Ginger Soup

  1. Another great recipe! But welcome back: you've been missed. Hope all of your impending plans go well: there's so much there, I'd be exhausted if I had to tackle them all at once.

  2. Waterbaby says:

    "Taking drug tests and getting fingerprinted. You'd think I was going to
    work in a federal prison rather than learning to take care of geriatric
    folks' mental health needs." – Big Brother is Here. I once filled out a lengthy application for a very menial job in an assisted-living facility that, with my signature, gave an OK for an extensive background check. It made me sick to my stomach, literally, not because I've anything to hide but the invasion of privacy. I tore the application up and went home.

  3. jaklumen says:

    I could write pages on how I've been an awful neighbor and the stuff
    that's keeping me from being any better, but lets see if we can do a
    short list instead.Aww… I kinda figured you were crazy busy. Your explanation is more than sufficient. The recipe is fantastic! It appears to be quite easy enough (and the ingredients easy enough to get, especially with suggested substitutions) that I could make it a part of my regular fare. But I don't have an immersion blender, so I'll just blend it in batches.

  4. Doug says:

    Suddenly hungry. Must make soup.

  5. dewitte says:

    Mmm… that sure sounds good. I'm in the mood for some ginger, too.

  6. jaklumen says:

    Actually, made it tonight– took a little liberty with the recipe, but it was delicious!

  7. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, HG! I hope you have been well.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..Waterbaby, I'm used to the Big Brother, being a resident alien and what not. The government has enough information on me to write a biography if they were so inclined. That itself doesn't bother me; the hassle does.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Ginger is one of those things that has grown on me with age. I hated ginger as a child. My brother used to tease me with the old Indian saying, 'A monkey doesn't appreciate the taste of ginger.'

  10. Purplesque says:

    That's what recipes are for! I'm glad you liked it. Blenders actually do a better job with soup than most stick blenders..but I find sticks more convenient.

  11. Lakshmi says:

    I asked for it, didn't I? Yummm…and to think I came here after dinner. I am hungry all over again.Welcome back..and good luck with everything.

  12. jaklumen says:

    Yeah, I gathered that a stick blender would have been handier for the quantity– but of course, as we don't have one, I just blended it in batches.

  13. faithy says:

    looks good! i should try this..i love carrots!

  14. chingching says:

    love your postings…any thoughts regarding writing a book to your list of things!! ha..ha..just kidding

  15. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, Lakshmi. You probably won't see me around here that much anymore, but I will continue to lurk.

  16. Purplesque says:

    The list above. Things are kind of overwhelming right now, and while it doesn't take that long to write a post, I'd rather spend that time reading others' posts.

  17. Lakshmi says:

    No Purp. Keep writing, it will give you a welcome break. And us something to salivate over.

  18. Stewart Carl says:

    What words… super, a brilliant phrase

Leave a Reply

