Dried pea sprouts

Most legumes are as easy to sprout as the bread in the back of my fridge. You don't need sprout containers, mesh bags, hemp cloth, or special seeds. All you need, really, is your favorite whole legume/beans/grains and some planning.

Any kind of container will work for sprouting. Glass, plastic, or stainless steel. I prefer lidded Pyrex glass bowls or lidded stainless steel tins, but go ahead and use an old yogurt container if you want.

Get some whole beans. Some easy-to-sprout ones are whole mung beans (green), whole moth beans (just like mung, but brown in color), black eyed beans, dried peas, field peas, chickpeas, black garbanzo beans and barley. I've sprouted everything from wheat to fenugreek seeds. Don't worry about their age, just make sure you buy some from a place that sells a lot of beans.

Day 0, am.  Take about a cup of beans in a bowl and rinse them. Discard any badly discolored, shriveled specimens that float to the top. Now cover them with a couple of inches of water and soak them for a couple of hours. Then drain the water, loosely cover the container with a lid/cloth, and let the moist beans sit quietly in a warm-ish corner away from sunlight. (About 70-75 degrees, the inside of your oven is perfect for this job.)

Day 0, pm. About 12 hours later, give the beans another quick rinse and drain, and let them sit.

Day 1, am. Rinse, drain, repeat.

Day 1, pm. Rinse, drain, repeat. You will probably start seeing tiny sprouts.

Day 2, am. Rinse and drain. You should have sprouts by now, though individual grains vary by a day or so.

At this point, you can refrigerate them, or continue the rinse-drain cycle every 12 hours if you want longer sprouts. Sprouts are their most nutritious when they are tiny, though, full of easily digestible protein, vitamins and enzymes. The rinsing keeps the bacteria away and gives them enough moisture to sprout. (I also do the sniff test each time- they should smell grassy and yeasty, but never rotten.)

Steam them lightly, then add to salads, or stir fry them for something warm. Here's my favorite recipe.

Heat a tbsp of canola oil in a skillet and sizzle 1 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp red chilli powder. Add about 2 teaspoons of ginger green chilli paste, a chopped tomato and a boiled and chopped potato. Stir for a minute, then add the steamed sprouts, salt and pepper and stir well. Add a couple of tablespoons of fresh lime juice or hot and sour tamarind sauce to the stir fry. Top with cilantro/fresh sprouts and serve with flatbreads.

*Edited to add: Some species of beans, as Drude helpfully pointed out, are not meant to be eaten raw, causing food poisoning like symptoms if so consumed. These include kidney beans and lima beans. Always make sure that the beans you are thinking of sprouting are safe to be eaten raw. Otherwise, cook them through. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Dried pea sprouts

  1. Yummm…..I love sprouts. I also find it so easy to sprout things, that I wonder why would one need special equipment!

  2. I should try the repeated rinsing. The sprouts I've tried to make tend to spoil before there's enough sprout to use as food. 😦

  3. I read your title as Dead Sea Sprouts! I think I need more tea!
    Not so sure about this recipe due to my health issues, but I am flicking to daughters who will be excited! The strawberry shortcake is a goer – may make this very day!

  4. M-----l says:

    You continue to create appetizing dishes out of ingredients I never would've imagined I'd like. Pea sprouts? Sounds icky, but looks delicious!

  5. Purplesque says:

    Definitely, HG. The twice a day rinsing keeps them from spoiling- I've spoiled a couple of batches where I forgot there were sprouts in the oven! More so in the warmer months.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Tea for everyone! And cake. I wish we had leftovers from that shortcake, or even some strawberries.Do you avoid beans because of health issues? I hope your daughters will try sprouting. It is always sort of exciting to wake up the third day and find sprouts..a bit like growing plants from seed.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, M—–I! Peas look playful..don't they? Pea sprouts taste like a cross between peas and beans. I actually prefer fresh peas to dried ones, but dried ones allow for stronger flavors.

  8. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thanks! Mung are my favorite- I just like to eat them raw. Which ones do you prefer?

  9. I have diverticulitis and need to stick to a low fibre diet for the moment – peas are bad news as are seeds and nuts. I love peas and nuts…and tomatoes… and

  10. Purplesque says:

    😦 I hope you get better soon! The peas will wait for the diverticulitis to go away. Are tomatoes off limits too? I didn't think they have that much fiber, though they are acidic..

  11. jaklumen says:

    I remember my mother making sprouts– alfalfa, I think, as it's very easy to get here. I think it involved a lot more fuss than this method, though. This seems very doable to me! I'll have to check the bulk foods section at WinCo and see what they have among the easy-to-sprout beans you've listed.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Alfalfa is one of those things that I haven't tried sprouting at home, but I'd love to try it and see what happens. I hope you do try making your own sprouts- black eyed peas and mung seem to be the easiest!

  13. jaklumen says:

    Black-eyed beans I know I can get easily– mung, I'm not sure.

  14. Drude says:

    I love sprouts.. and grow them myself… and I think it should be mentioned here that a number of bean species (kidney beans for instance) are poisonous when raw… so quite unsuitable for sprouting. I've been unfortunate/stupid enough to TRY the bean poisoning. It's not deadly, obviously, but you're in total agony for a day or so…I was looking for a list over which species have the toxin, but this article is all I found.Anyway if you're new to sprouting, best stick with sprout-beans you've seen/heard/read that other people eat…

  15. Drude says:

    This article
    mentions a few more species at the bottom

  16. Purplesque says:

    Oh, Thank you so much, Drude! I should have mentioned that..its a very useful thing to know. The only beans I know of that are poisonous when raw are kidney beans and lima beans. Its hard to eat tiny home made sprouts raw anyway- I like eating mung that way, but give all others a quick whistle in the pressure cooker.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Black eyes beans would be a great place to start! They are so good steamed, in salads with tomatoes, cucumbers, lime juice and cilantro.

  18. jaklumen says:

    Y'know, I just realized that most of what you listed are things we shop for consistently anyways. Tomatoes, cukes, lime juice and cilantro we buy all the time. Cimmy will probably like it as a salad well enough but I think for the rest of us, we'd probably put it into a tortilla. It's probably a big component of this "Asian fusion" that is rocking Portland.

  19. jaklumen says:

    Will a microwave suffice? I used to have a pressure cooker, but don't anymore. As far as the rinsing/keep warm process, well, I'll still probably use a slow cooker for that.

  20. Purplesque says:

    You can cook sprouts in the microwave, but it might take some time. You can boil them on the stove top, too. In fact, some people prefer that method since its easy to overcook them in the pressure cooker. (Does a slow cooker maintain temps as low as 75 degrees? I had no idea..)

  21. jaklumen says:

    My 3 (?) quart has a "Keep Warm" setting– I'm not sure if it's as low as 75 degrees, but I can always turn it off after a bit and wrap it with a towel or something like that.

  22. Drude says:

    I think the 75 degrees must be Celcius degrees (ca 170 F)… otherwise you wouldn't cook anything. Proteins denature (get cooked) over 60 C or so ( = 140F). But the bean poison doesn't get destroyed unless you heat it up to 100C which is 212F (or the temperature of boiling outside of a pressure cooker). The problem they are trying to explain is that you can 'cook' the beans so they are soft and smooshy but if they haven't been up to the required temperature you haven't zapped the poison. I have heard that this happens in mountains (and probably pressure cookers), where water boils at a lower temperature, so you can get sick from your kidney beans in spite of having boiled them well.

  23. Purplesque says:

    Ah..that sounds reasonable. I think you might even be able to sprout them just at room temperature, without using the slow cooker at all. My mom used to do that wrapping in towel thing too. It works beautifully. 🙂

  24. Purplesque says:

    Drude, I think Jak was referring to sprouting the beans in the slow cooker by keeping them warm, not cook them. :)As far as I know, water in a pressure cooker actually boils at a higher temperature. (High altitude-low pressure, pressure cooker-high pressure.) At the standard pressure cooker pressure of 15 psi, water will boil at 122 °C (252 °F). I suspect that's some folks always cook beans and lentils under pressure.

  25. jaklumen says:

    Yeah, I'm sorry I wasn't clearer. I've never felt comfortable putting things into the oven to sit– I fear that I'll forget about them, and perhaps also that someone will turn on the oven to use it for something else, and roast my progress.I've always used a slow cooker for soaking beans, and it seems more convenient to do it this way, although I could easily transfer the beans to another container during the rinsing process.Just on another note, I mentioned this post to my mother. She mentioned specifically, though, that sprouting alfalfa was her favorite, and then I said that your method was much simpler, as she (and my mother-in-law, too) used jars with sieved lids. She admitted (again) that she was inspired by my culinary adventures, so you are definitely having an impact on more people than just Cimmy and I!

  26. Purplesque says:

    Aw..thanks. That's good to know. You can definitely keep your beans in the slow cooker as long as it isn't turned on! 🙂 Some people keep their sprouts in a colander for the whole process, making the rinsing easy.I've never used the jars for sprouting, though it sounds like a good idea if you're a dedicated sprout-grower.

  27. Lakshmi says:

    Oh, you don't even need to steam them – add them as is to salads…yumm.

Leave a Reply

