Hello, I must be going.

I’m still here.

The Vox blog had started as a reaction to homesickness, as a coping mechanism. Then I went back home. It was all the things I imagined it to be- delightful, overwhelming, confusing, bittersweet.

And now I’m back. Starting a new job, and in some ways, a new, less orphaned life. I’m not sure yet if this blog will continue to remain active- twitter seems to be easier to keep up with, and WordPress was never able to capture the charms of Vox.

I will keep this ID active so that it allows me to continue reading your blogs and leaving comments. And maybe add a post or two when the going gets tough again.

You can find me on twitter (@purplesque) and gmail (purplesque@gmail.com).

Until then, my friends. Live long and prosper.

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Hello, I must be going.

  1. robpixaday says:

    You’re back?
    Back-back?

    ::waves::
    It’s WONDERFUL to “see” you!!!!!
    ::smoooooooochies::

    New job…moving….upheaval…….time for some (((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))

  2. floralens says:

    welcome back! come over to blogher, you will love it! and http://www.hoo.do.com is also a nice small blogging community.

  3. Vijay says:

    Oh come on!! You can’t just up and leave like this. Look at me, I maintain a blog in which it’s been months since I wrote. But I keep posting links and snippets with commentary in my posterous, a trick I learnt from the grand-daddy of medblogs, Gruntdoc. You can do the same here. Write about work or your life if you feel like it, but at least post a recipe or two and few of your fabulously drool-inducing food photos once in a while here.

    PS: WordPress seriously needs to consider putting in a ‘Dislike’ button.

  4. Rlbates says:

    I hope you find you still occasionally need an outlet for writing. Still I’ll “see” you on twitter

  5. Aww! No more recipes? I was looking forward to the return of those. 😦

    But seriously, I do understand. I’d say for me it’s less about WordPress and more about time constraints. Also, I got into blogging because my kids introduced me to it. When they dropped their Vox blogs, I wasn’t sure who I was writing for anymore, though the friends I’ve made on Vox—that includes you!—have made up for my kids’ lack of interest.

    I’m a bit sad, but I know I’ll see you on Twitter. But no more vegetarian recipes? Really?

    • purplesque says:

      You write beautifully, HG. But yes, people move on…it takes a lot to be consistent.

      There will be recipes, and other occasional posts. I just took the self-imposed pressure off with this post.

  6. sumpsimus says:

    People, people..
    You make me proud to be your friend. This is not a death knell for the blog, just an official announcement that I’ll be taking things easy. Food posts AND occasional medical/life posts are to be continued, just a lot more occcasionally than before- not because I MUST update the blog, but because I cooked something/saw something/felt something that was extraordinary and truly must be shared.

  7. M-----l says:

    I think you should publish a real book of recipes and food photography. I’d buy it.

    (That’s probably not realistic, though.)

    • purplesque says:

      It’s not impossible, and I did briefly flirt with the idea when in India..every time I think of something like that, I come up against ‘Someone has already done that, and done it better.’

  8. Lurkertype says:

    Purple!

    So glad you have returned to us! (and by us, I mean both WP and the USA)

    I am still here, and am on G+ as well; Twitter never quite suited me and I like the privacy functions on G+

    We will patiently await any wonders you share with us.

    • purplesque says:

      🙂 Thank you..G+ kicked me out when they figured out purplesque wasn’t my given name. I’ve been too lazy to go back since then. We will keep in touch, though, through WP.

  9. Usually says:

    You may find that you are cooking more now…..

  10. jaklumen says:

    twitter seems to be easier to keep up with
    Says you!

    I just couldn’t post enough small talk to stay on the radar of those I followed. I just don’t do microblogging very well at all. It feels constrained… like a shallow, babbling brook. I need freedom to run deeper, farther, and for longer stretches of time.

    That said, I need to revisit some of your recipes, or at least figure out what I can use garam masala for. (Sad, isn’t it? But I’m just not very conversant with the Indian style of cooking.)

    • purplesque says:

      🙂 I know what you mean, but being a brook seems to work better for me at this time.

      Garam masala? Just throw it on some things as a finishing touch- potatoes, red meat, anything else you fancy- it’s not all that complicated. Play around and have fun with it.

  11. phantomxii says:

    Just remember that, here on WordPress, every so often…a new doorknob awaits. Or, rather less often, some other door-related peculiarity. (And I hope you’re subscribed to my less-visible WordPress blog—although I admit it awakens even less often than the doorknobs. Time constraints, as has been said above. Sigh…)

  12. Oh my, I missed your return. I do so hope that you continue blogging, as I really do enjoy reading your posts. Stay in touch, please.

Leave a Reply

