Blueberry ginger granita

Perfect for:

1. Getting rid of that large bag of berries in the freezer.

2. The heat.

3. Dessert after a rich Indian lunch.

4. Definitely the heat.

This is the first time I’ve made a granita, and they’re a lot easier to make than what I’d assumed. Adapted from this recipe.

To serve six:

  • 2 tablespoons fresh ginger, chopped
  • 4 mint leaves, plus more for garnish
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 pound frozen blueberries, thawed
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice

Finely purée the blueberries, ginger, mint and sugar in a food processor/blender until smooth. Force purée through a fine sieve into an 8 inch baking pan. Then pour the water over the solids left in the sieve, pressing hard on solids (discard what’s finally left in the sieve). Stir in lime juice.

Freeze, scraping with a fork every hour, until evenly frozen, about 4 hours total. Scrape again to lighten texture.

Freeze for up to a week. Serve with a dollop of ice cream/whipped cream/cashew creme and a sprig of mint. For easy cashew creme, grind together 1 cup cashews (soaked overnight), 1 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tbsp almond (or other nut) oil. Purée until light and airy. Store, tightly covered, in the fridge.

 

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blueberry ginger granita

  1. I’ve never made a granita myself, so I’m wondering why you have to sieve the berry mixture when it’s been run through the food processor. Will the berry skin and other solids not pulverized by the processor affect the texture or the flavor?

    I’m not on Google+ anymore, so I’m glad you posted the recipe here. It’s also a lot easier for me to read and print out when it’s on a blog page.

  2. purplesque says:

    Definitely a texture issue- I had about a couple of tablespoons of solids left in the sieve, which would keep the granita from just melting on the tongue if left in there.

    Why are you no longer on Google +? The recipes are definitely going to stay on this blog.

  3. jaklumen says:

    I think I’m lazy enough to not care about texture, although I will have to get a ricer/sieve for these Concords we do have.

    We can get most of these ingredients easily, but… now what sort of mint is assumed when it is just “mint”? See, we can grow mint out here– just a region over from us in the Yakima Valley is where a significant portion of mint used for mint oil and other stuff sold commercially in the U.S. is grown. It is mostly spearmint and peppermint.

    It is too late for us to start herb gardens, though; our flat-leaf parsley and thyme (I think) has failed spectacularly.

    p.s. my birthday is in about a week and if it’s not too cheeky to ask, I would like some garam masala because I just about pulled my hair out trying to find it here. I’m sure I didn’t look in the right places because there IS a small thriving Indian community here as I told you, albeit a city up.

    • purplesque says:

      I’m pretty sure the ‘mint’ that is used in cooking and sold in grocery stores in spearmint.

      Happy Birthday! I’d be delighted to send you some garam masala. It may not be in time for your birthday, though- I’m in the process of packing up the household, and the dry spices are already packed up. They will get unpacked again in a couple of weeks, so expect something then. 🙂 Do I have your address?

  4. my mouth is watering so much!

  5. shaily says:

    this sounds great….and the possibilities seem endless!

  6. aubrey says:

    What an excellent weapon against the deadly heat!

    And cashew creme? I can honestly say that I’ve never heard of such a thing before. Is it good for topping things like coffee cake or should it only grace things like this cool and crispy granita?

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    This makes me want to run home from work and cook! 🙂

  8. robpixaday says:

    Oh. My. Gosh.

    Berry, berry, berry wonderful!
    Just thinking aout this feels cooler!

  9. Boston Margy says:

    Yum! I’m going to try this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

