Of private posts.

The recent brouhaha over a food magazine plagiarizing some blogger’s work led to a few friends suggesting that I sift their pages to see if anything of mine had been lifted. As much as I appreciated their caring (and rating my food posts high enough in their mind), the truth is that it doesn’t matter a whole lot to me.

The food posts here are a purely hedonistic exercise- I cook, take pictures, and write about food for my pleasure. I love getting comments on those posts. What happens to them after that does not matter much. Also, with the sheer amount of blog content out there, how valuable is this work, anyway?

The other content on this blog- the work related posts that I try to make anonymous as much as possible, the worries about my life and career that are dragged on to the screen against my will, they are the ones that matter. Luckily for me, they are the ones least likely to matter to anybody else, except for the group of people that have become my friends over the past few years on Vox and elsewhere.

Those are also the posts that I’m reluctant to share in the big, bad world that is WP- not because I’m worried someone will steal them, but simply because they are personal. So I’ve decided to password protect all such posts. I have no idea how to share this password with selected people, so please drop me a line in the comments if you have been able to read these posts in the past and/or would like to to do so. If you’re actually glad to have all the neuroses hidden away, leaving the food stuff easily accessible, that is good, too.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Of private posts.

  1. zottavox says:

    Please keep me on both subjects, Purplesque, if you wish. Will not copy it.

    • purplesque says:

      Sent you a message with the password, Z. I’m not concerned about anything being copied- its just that these are thoughts that are more important for me, but not necessarily worthy of public consumption.

  2. robpixaday says:

    I want to say something wise and comforting but all I can come up with is that I understand your reluctance about sharing some things with the world and not minding who sees other things. I spent most of my career keeping peoples’ secrets. It’s my “default setting” and I know annoy people because of it, since I’m not forthcoming with anyone’s info. EVER…unless expressly told that I can say something. And even then I try to obfuscate.

    I’ve learned from and enjoyed all of your posts. Anything you feel comfortable sharing with me would be a welcome addition to my world. And I’ll give you cyberhugs and nod sagely (LOL) in return.
    R.

  3. Emmy says:

    I haven’t known you long enough to ask for your password but I wanted to say, yeah I am rather frustrated with the privacy settings here. I had to laugh at the first time I saw my neighbor’s private posts. In huge, bold letters: THIS IS PASSWORD PROTECTED with the post title and all. Hello, that’s not much privacy, WP. Or I can shut almost everyone out and have to copy and paste each link. Bah. I miss Vox.

    Recipe lifting is an odd thing, but I think common sense and respect should rule the day – if someone wants to repost something, they need to ask first.

  4. I miss the “Neighborhood Only” setting from Vox too. Without it I’ve become somewhat more cautious about what I write on my blog, but since I write mostly about personal things, I can’t be too shy, I guess. But in the years since I’ve met you on Vox, I’ve enjoyed both your recipes and your personal posts. I’d still love to read the personal posts. Are you able to email the password, or should I send you my addy in a personal email?

    I made red lentil dal tonight for dinner and thought about you, btw. My parents had steak, however. They don’t like garlic or cilantro, I don’t like meat, so we’ll be eating two-entree meals as long as I live in this household. *sigh*

  5. mizunogirl says:

    yes, I would like to read the password posts, youc an send me a message with it.
    I do miss the ease of use that vox had compared to WP. I never knew I missed it but now I know!

  6. phantomxii says:

    I still haven’t tried my scheme for dealing with this neighborhoodless world—must get around to it. In the meantime, please please send me the password! 🙂

  7. bookmole says:

    I miss Vox too. I liked the Neighbourhood, and the ease of seeing posts. Gotta say, though, for posting I am really liking the WP interface!

    I would like to see your passworded posts, Purplesque; if you can message me / email me I would be grateful.

  8. leendadll says:

    can you send me the password (effini@yahoo.com)

    some people are sharing on the Vox Diaspora page. I added a Contact tab to my wordpress page so people can reach me.

    and on the plagiarizing topic: I don’t mind stuff being lifted, even by a for-profit site, but I mind not be credited as the originator.

  9. Aussie Emjay says:

    Hi Purple – I think I only used the “neighbourhood only” function at Vox a few times but it was nice knowing it was there if I wanted it. I’d love to continue reading all your posts…..

  10. Priya says:

    Hi Purplesque,
    I have been a devoted reader of your blog on Vox for the past year and a half. I love ur posts – recipes and otherwise. Have bookmarked a ton of your recipes but only tried the bagels so far and they were yum (chole-bhatura is up next ;-)). But some of my favorite posts are the non-recipe ones (like the one with all the gorgeous desi sweets; my fav was ur “heirloom” post from ages ago). Especially love the ones where u intertwine food and culture coz you do it so beautifully (like ur javein post) – I feel transported to a part of India that I’ve never visited. Love your travel posts too. Anyway, would love to keep being able to read ur posts, if u don’t mind.
    I don’t have a blog myself (in part due to my privacy paranoia – so totally understand urs) but would be glad to introduce myself via email.

  11. jaklumen says:

    Sending you an e-mail…

  12. I understand your point – I am very careful what I write these days. I do miss the ease of some aspects of Vox.

    I hope that we are still ‘friends’!

  13. Geropsych23 says:

    Hi Purple! Went to Vox and you were gone! Guess I’ve been outta the loop.

    I learn a great deal from reading other’s posts. I liked reading yours, and would love to have the password to read them again. Promise not to abuse it.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

