We have moved.

New beginnings.

Window in the entryway

Stairs. (It wasn't obvious at all, was it?)

Outside

Urchins? Cherubs? Angels?

The mosaic stonework in the hallway has been stripped off and replaced with tile. It makes me incredibly sad, and a little wishful. If I were rich enough to buy this building, I’d save it! Such glory in rescue!

I miss Vox.

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to We have moved.

  1. trishc1812 says:

    That is an awesome window! While looking at picture #1 I knew something wasn’t quite right…I knew I was missing something. I love the split stair case and the window. I’d say I’m jealous, but I know how my poor knees are at the ripe old age of 46 wouldn’t be able to go up and down those stairs very often.

    I hope your move goes well.

    • purplesque says:

      Thank you so much! I rented the apartment without thinking it through- I’m loving it, but the parents are likely to have a bit of a problem when they come visit. Their 60 plus knees are not going to be very happy, either.

  2. Vijay says:

    Ah! I see you’ve changed the last line.
    I was going to respond, “What’s not to love about WordPress?!”

  3. Doug says:

    Love that window – and the obvious stairs.

  4. What a beautiful building! There was one very similar to this in Minneapolis: I always wanted to live there, but some developer bought it, gutted it, and turned it into condos which were of course too expensive for me or any other average joan on the street. I was told later it used to be a mansion owned by some tycoon who made a fortune in milling flour. Does your building share a similar history?

  5. leendadll says:

    wow-de-dowww… that’s a nice building!! Congrats on the move!

    i miss Vox too. But i’m gradually getting the hang of this… I just had to accept clicking a billion more links every day (I use my blogroll to check for updates)

  6. zottavox says:

    Wow! That’s extremely impressive!
    Congratulations on finding such a great place you also love. Vox was colorful. Yes. And close-knit. No doubt about it.

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    Gorgeous window and lovely door knob. I hope you are happy here – and that you don’t break a foot or leg – then you will hate those stairs! 🙂

  8. M-----l says:

    You just took Doorknob Monday to brand new heights. Scott (you know him, right?) will have to step up his efforts.

  9. rlbates says:

    Love the photos and the details at your new home. The stained glass is marvelous!

  10. Boston Margy says:

    That’s gorgeous! Enjoy, and thanks for the pics

  11. robpixaday says:

    GORGEOUS!!!!!! WOW!!!
    And I’m so happy for you, that you’ve moved and are settling in!! That’s a lot to go through…(((((hugs)))))

  12. Peggikaye says:

    beautiful! what lovely surroundings!

  13. merbelle says:

    That’s super cool. I have been wondering what the window looks like from the outside.

  14. juliesindia says:

    I miss vox too, but glad I was able to find you again. 🙂 Great pics!

  15. Glad you moved, because now I can finally comment! I didn’t want another registration, so I read you on VOX but could never comment. Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

