Voxed

I miss you, Vox.

The shiny Facebook and Twitter may have lured me away, but you were home. A little creaky, a little old fashioned, but definitely home, with its familiar sounds and smells. I survived a new city, new apartment, new job, secure in the knowledge that I could go back to my Vox neighborhood any time and everything would be alright.

What happens next?

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Voxed

  1. lauowolf says:

    found you!
    and figured out how to follow people on Blog Surfer.
    it is conceivable that this could work.

  2. robpixaday says:

    Hellllllooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!
    ((((happyhugs))))

  3. LBeeeze says:

    Voxed. I’m so glad I was.

    Today is another adventure.

  4. jaklumen says:

    I’m still trying to figure out how to deal with the fallout. Fortunately, I had already established a presence on WP well beforehand.

  5. merbelle says:

    I feel the same way. It was so cozy, and when I’d been away a little while, it felt good to just slip back into place. These other places were made with a different purpose in mind. But I’m glad we had that time there, and glad of the friends I made.

    • purplesque says:

      Yes. I hope you are moving to wordpress as well?

      • jaklumen says:

        I hope I don’t seem rude by giving an answer, but my understanding is that she has a presence on WP already and will follow us here, but is continuing blogs over at TypePad.

        I don’t mind if folks find TypePad a better fit; hopefully most will parse it as semantics and stay in touch regardless. She and I talked about this a lot; I also decided to export to both sites to keep it open, but I have chosen to keep more of the “fun fluff” at TP and do the more serious personal stuff here at WP.

  6. purplesque says:

    Oh yes..it does not matter much where people move. I didn’t see a link and was trying to figure out where to look/how to add her to my list. 🙂

    • jaklumen says:

      Yeah, it’s basically a matter of tracking down all their VOX posts (as far as I can tell) to see if they included links/usernames.

  7. robpixaday says:

    Readomatic?

    ::looks around::

    I can’t find mine. I even tried searching and Support.
    Do we all have one?
    It sounds like it could be useful. Is it like a WordPress internal feed or something, to let us know when someone we know posted something? I’d LOVE that!

    ::waves::

    • jaklumen says:

      When you are logged in, go to the top of the page to the WordPress toolbar. Go to “My Blogs”-> name of your blog -> click on Dashboard.

      This will take you to the Dashboard page.

      Find the Dashboard side bar on the top left. Click on the down arrow/triangle to expand the menu. Click on “Readomattic”. Yes, it is spelled precisely that way. At the Readomattic Page, click on “Edit Subscriptions”. Scroll down to “Blogs”. Go to the window to the right of “Add blog:” and paste in the URL of the blog you want to add and click on the “Add” button.

      http://learn.wordpress.com/ may also be of help to you.

  8. Aussie Emjay says:

    Vox felt like a comfy old couch. And, just like that comfy old couch it is difficult to throw away! I’m looking forward to more cooking and history of dishes posts from you – along with your scrumptious photography of same!

    • purplesque says:

      It will probably take a few warm dishes to make wordpress feel like home- one coming right up! I promise to be a better neighbor on WP- Vox closing has made me realize how good we had it.

  9. mkirkd says:

    Hi there, *waves* I so agree with you about VOX, I will miss it for sure. I’m here on to at http://mkirkd.wordpress.com/

    • purplesque says:

      Yay! Added you as well..

      Does anyone know of a way to add typepad blogs to readomattic?

      • jaklumen says:

        I don’t think there is a way.

        I have seen mentions of Google Reader as a solution. It’s a feed aggregator– that is, it compiles syndicated feeds. Most blogs can send you content that way.

        I have been using feeds for a while now, usually RSS (Really Simple Syndication) feeds, and usually by way of my browser or my e-mail client. I won’t bore you with the tech specifics except maybe to say a feed is usually a XML data file. You copy the link to that file (find the icon that looks like a dot with two sound waves coming out at a right 45 degree angle and click on it to get the link) and then you paste it into your aggregator. Firefox will make a Bookmark out of it for you and then the feed is an expandable menu with all the little items.

        It’s like a podcast you grab for your iTunes, but it has web content.

  10. L says:

    You are in my google reader.
    Feels more like home now.

  11. Brown Suga' says:

    I’m on the wagon too!

  12. Zan says:

    Hey, Purplesque! Looks like you made a graceful transition.
    As you see here I went to TypePad but Leenda fears even that may be sold
    to someone else and then we don’t know what.
    Welcome to your new blog. Cheers, Z

Leave a Reply

