Chilaquiles

Alright, so I'm in a Mexican food frenzy right now. It all started with a borrowed copy of Viva Vegan!, but has now spread back to the first cookbook I ever owned, the excellent Vegetarian Planet.

Chilaquiles were one of the first new recipes I tried after coming to the US, and they quickly became a favorite. They make the perfect weeknight dinner or weekend brunch for a number of reasons.

1. They are leftover friendly.
2. They are infinitely flexible.
3. They are easy, quick and can be made in one skillet from start to finish.
4. They are delicious!

*Disclaimer: This recipe apparently shares little with traditional Chilaquiles other than a base of tortillas. Don't let that stop you!

Ingredients:

6 corn tortillas, cut into 1/2 inch strips or quarters
1 medium potato, sliced thinly
1 zucchini, sliced into half moons
1 large red/yellow pepper, cut into strips
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp chipotle chilli powder
salt to taste
1 tbsp olive/canola oil
1/2 cup ricotta

To serve with: your favorite salsa and/or sliced avocados

You'll also need a stove-top to oven skillet to make this a one-skillet dish. Otherwise, use a casserole dish for the baking.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Heat 1/2 tbsp oil in a large skillet. Spread the corn tortilla strips in the skillet and toast them, stirring now and then, until brown spots appear on both sides. Remove to a plate.

Pour the remaining oil in the skillet. Add the potatoes and garlic and cook for a minute or two, until the potatoes are slightly softened. Now add the zucchini and the pepper. Cook for 3-4 minutes until the vegetables are softened. Season with salt, oregano and chilli powder. Mix in the tortilla strips and the ricotta.

Place the skillet in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. Serve warm with salsa and avocado.

*Recipe adapted from Vegetarian Planet by Didi Emmons.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chilaquiles

  1. This dish looks and sounds delicious! I am really hungry now πŸ˜‰

  2. M-----l says:

    Vegetarian Planet was also my first cookbook. I always make a habit of going to Didi's Veggie Planet restaurant in Cambridge whenever I'm out in Boston. They have some of the best food I've ever eaten.

  3. jaklumen says:

    I've never had chilaquiles– I don't think I've even seen them in the "down-home" Mex restaurants I've been to (the ones I know serve Hispanic clientele, especially).Seems like a fairly easy recipe. I'd be inclined to substitute cottage cheese for the ricotta, though, as I usually have that on hand.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Darn! I can't believe I forgot all about that when we went to Boston. Now I'll have to go there again. Do you still cook from your copy?

  5. Purplesque says:

    Probably not..it seems to be a very basic, leftover type recipe. Cottage cheese would make a fine substitute, I imagine, or even mozzarella.

  6. M-----l says:

    Do you still cook from your copy? Ha ha! I've never cooked from my copy. I just bought it because Didi Emmons is cute.

  7. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I had to google her image. She is cute.

Leave a Reply

