Question

Is it evil to be more glad of the fact that I beat my closest competitor than the fact that I scored 99 percentile in the national in-service exam?

In my defense, he started it first.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Question

  1. Emjay says:

    Well, I think a huge congratulations is in order – on both counts!!

  2. Oh heavens no – enjoy what you will! Revenge is sweet!
    Congratulations – fantastic work!

  3. Lakshmi says:

    If that is evil, you are allowed to grow horns and a tail.Congratulations lady.

  4. Katiebell says:

    Ummm. No not at all. As long as you aren't running about rubbing it in his face at every opportunity. 🙂 (secretly rubbing it in his face is another story!) Congratulations! THis is excellent!

  5. First of all congratulations for this excellent result!!!!!As he started it, he really deserves your reaction. We even have a word for it: Schadenfreude. 🙂

  6. Purplesque says:

    He he..I am so sorry. He completely ignored me the first year and didn't even tell me his score ( I suspect I did better than him.) Last year, he did better than I and showed up on my doorstep at night to announce it! So I'm really really glad I won the final battle, so to speak- not a peep out of him so far. 😉

  7. Purplesque says:

    Hm..I hadn't thought of that. It might not be such a bad thing after all!

  8. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I won't rub it in his face, overtly or covertly. I'm just glad I managed to come out at the top in the end. It is revenge enough knowing that this must be driving him nuts. 😉

  9. Purplesque says:

    Thank you!Would this qualify as schadenfreude? He hasn't had any misfortune, scoring a neat 97 percentile. On the other hand, I'm pretty sure he considers being beat by a 'young and stupid' woman a misfortune. Ah, well..

  10. The way you describe him, the "mortification" of being outclassed by you could easily outweigh the 97 percentile for him. 🙂

  11. Brown Suga' says:

    Oy! I can't believe I missed this. Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

