Sugarplums for Christmas

With a name like that, how can you resist one of these?

There are so many  things I love about sugarplums.

1. They are made of dried fruit and nuts.
2. They are healthy, and more so if you skip the sugar. The serving size is perfect.
3. They require no cooking or baking. All you need is a food processor, a weighing scale, and two cooling racks. A small cookie scoop will be very useful, but you don't really need it.
4. Alton Brown made them for the Good Eats Christmas Special. How could they possibly not be good? 😉

The recipe is very flexible, so I used whatever I had in the fridge. My final recipe:

– 12 ounces almonds, toasted
– 10 ounces dried plums
– 6 ounces dried apricots
– 4 ounces dried figs
– 4 oz dates
– 1/2 teaspoon anise seeds, toasted
– 1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds, toasted
– 1/2 teaspoon caraway seeds, toasted
– 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
– 1/2 cup sorghum (or honey)
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1 cup coarse sugar (optional)

Whiz everything together in the food processor, except the sorghum/honey. Stop just before it starts to turn into a big lump. Remove to a bowl and add in the honey. Mix well. Using a tbsp or a small cookie scoop, scoop out 1/4 oz servings and roll into little balls. Roll the balls in coarse sugar and set on cooling racks. Let them rest for a few hours until completely cool and dry. Store in an airtight container.


The recipe above yielded a hundred sugarplums. Each serving (without sugar) has 35 Calories. I'll be taking these to the hospital for Christmas day call. Merry Christmas!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sugarplums for Christmas

  1. jaklumen says:

    Yum yum yum yum. It's not fair– I haven't even made my eggnog bread yet!

  2. Aubrey says:

    These perfect treats put my cookies to shame – I made them last night, and they were basically chocolate, chocolate, slivered almonds and chocolate.
    Happy Christmas, Purple!!
    Did I mention that the cookies had chocolate?

  3. Purplesque says:

    Mm..eggnog bread sounds amazing! I've never tried real eggnog, but bought home some soynog last year and it was delightful! Will you post a recipe when you make it?

  4. Purplesque says:

    Nothing can put cookies to shame- especially the kind made with chocolate, chocolate, almonds and chocolate. Chocolate and almonds are my favorite combination in the whole world..cocoa dusted almonds, chocolate almond bark, chocolate almond cookies…*swoons*

  5. Doug says:

    How have I never seen these wonderful things before? Making up for lost time now…

  6. M-----l says:

    I must admit that I didn't know sugarplums were real things.

  7. Purplesque says:

    You are not alone, my friend. I didn't either, but knew I had to make them the moment I did. They didn't disappoint.

  8. Katiebell says:

    oh man, are you coming by my hospital????

  9. Purplesque says:

    Depends on how much snow there is between your hospital and mine. 🙂

  10. scorpion1116 says:

    Oh, my. I'm with the others. I didn't know they really existed, but boy do they ever look yummy. I may try some…with the sugar. *smiles* Merry Christmas!

  11. Purplesque says:

    Merry Christmas, scorpion1116! Its so good to see you again.

  12. jaklumen says:

    It's in one of my bread machine cookbooks, so I can post it anytime.

  13. LeendaDLL says:

    congrats on your first food post that made me go, "ewwww.. yuck!" at the photo, then again at the description!despite weighing a ton, I'm not fond of stuff that's excessively sweet and even the non-sugared ones look that way to me.now, stuff one in my mouth and I'm willing to bet I'd change my tune and scarf the whole platter!

  14. rlbates says:

    They look absolutely amazing!

  15. I'm with the rest of the neighbors: They look delicious!I once made a very simple version of them. Just from dried plums, minced almonds and plum butter, rolled in coconut flakes. Healthy and yummy, too.

  16. Purplesque says:

    I would LOVE to see it when you do.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I don't blame you! Truth be told they aren't too sweet at all- the original recipe even adds in some sugar I skipped. If you've ever tried a Larabar, they kind of taste like that. I suspect fruit sugar isn't as sugary as the white stuff..

  18. Purplesque says:

    Your version sounds delightful! I'm planning to do another batch when my cookie scoop arrives- almonds, cashews, dates, prunes and coconut- kind of like a homemade Larabar. Their coconut creme pie is my absolute favorite!

  19. zenginkoca says:

    evertihing look delecious. Hımmm i' hungry:)

  20. Waterbaby says:

    Merry Christmas, Purple!

  21. Jabulani says:

    The recipe and pictures are gorgeous and all … but I have to say I prefer them when the come in a beautiful little red box complete with frogs and silver bells. Definitely the best way for sugarplums!

  22. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. You got to sample version 2.0, made of 5 ingredients only. Almonds, coconut, dates, cardamom, rose water.

Leave a Reply

