Bagels..

..are surprisingly easy to make!

Which is not necessarily a good thing, because now every time I reach for Panera's Everything bagel, a little voice will say, 'You could have made it yourself.'

Darned voices.

Ingredients for 12 bagels:

1 tbsp sugar
1.5 cups lukewarm water
2.5 tsp dry active yeast (1 packet)
4 cups all purpose flour
2 tbsp vital wheat gluten
2 tsp salt
poppy and sesame seeds, or toppings of your choice
a tbsp of vegetable oil, for coating the bowl

– Dissolve the sugar and yeast in the water and let it foam.
– Mix together the flour, gluten and salt. Add the yeasty water and knead for ten minutes.
– Place the dough in an oiled bowl, cover, and let it rise for an hour or so.

Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees. Bring a large pot of water to boil. (Optional: I added a tsp of molasses and a pinch of baking soda to the water- it is supposed to give the bagels a bagel-y sheen.)

Divide the dough into 12 equal pieces. Roll each piece into a rope, then wrap the rope around your open palm to form a bagel. Seal together the edges of the dough rope, and roll the ring a few times to smooth it out. For a quick technique video, go here.

Roll out all the bagels and cover them with a damp towel. Now starting with the ones you rolled first, add them to the boiling water in batches of three. The bagels will float to the top. Cook them on one side for a minute, then flip over and cook on the other side for a minute. (The longer you boil them, the chewier they will be.) Remove and place on a towel.

Sprinkle seeds in a dish. Carefully grab the moist bagel and place it in the toppings, pretty side down. Then place them on a parchment lined baking sheet, pretty seed covered side up.

Bake for fifteen minutes, or until nicely browned. Cool on a rack for 20 minutes, slice, top with your favorite cream cheese, and devour.

As you can see, my rolling technique is less than perfect. The bagels were delicious, though.

I won't be getting a chance to perfect the technique until February, since we just started the 6-week Eat to Live detox diet. The science of Joel Fuhrman's book is arguable, but the idea of living on fruits, vegetables and nuts for six weeks suits me just fine. Besides, this will give me the chance to go Vegan for six weeks and see what its like. The no-caffeine part is going to be much harder. I've already talked myself into a cup of tea a day. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bagels..

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    nothing but fruits, veggies & nuts sounds great – but would make me sick as a dog (my GI issues do not like when I eat tooooo healthy).what time should i be over for bagels?if you were my neighbor, I'd try to work out some kind of situation where I'd pay you every week and you'd give me some of your cooking!!

  2. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I know. I forgot to take my Beanzyme yesterday and woke up in the middle of the night with horrible stomach pain. A pound of collard greens will do that to you. :#Drop by anytime in February. I'd gladly cook for company. You wouldn't have to pay me! Just pay your moving expenses..

  3. Katiebell says:

    nice photos! and amazing! I have no idea how to make anything…. though I should try sooooon….

  4. chingching says:

    they look delicious. do you need the wheat gluten? or could you just use the bread flour?

  5. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! You can use bread flour, as far as I know. Its only all-purp flour with extra gluten, isn't it?

  6. LeendaDLL says:

    I was lucky in that it was limited to heartburn. No "disastrous gastrous" side effects!

  7. LeendaDLL says:

    there's maybe going to be a mini West Coast meetup in Feb. Maybe you could come out and be our personal chef!!

  8. Purplesque says:

    🙂 That's an awesome idea- when and where? I'd love to be there if it works out.

  9. Priya says:

    I LOVE your blog!! Discovered it by accident – can't remember how! and now am hooked by ur beautiful pictures, recipes and just your posts in general. Bagels are a guilty pleasure of mine (only eat them once every 2-3 months at Panera!) – so had to try these when I saw ur post and they came out sad-looking but AWESOME tasting!!!! And ur right – they're super easy to make. Thanks so much!!

  10. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you so much. I'm really glad you tried the bagels- it always surprises me when someone actually tries one of my recipes! Mine were sort of sorry looking too. I'm hoping to make them with whole wheat next time.

Leave a Reply

