Sweet potato cheesecake

It was supposed to be a pumpkin cheesecake for Thanksgiving dinner. My first cheesecake for A, who's never had one because they are usually made with eggs. Inspired by the fatfreevegan recipe.

We canceled the dinner due to an emergency. I went to hunt for canned pumpkin on Black Friday and found nothing. Nada. All the grocery stores in town had run out of canned pumpkin.

Enter, the sweet potato.  The savior of our weekend.

Ingredients for graham cracker crust:

2 cups graham cracker crumbs ( I will use 1.5 cups next time- the crust was a bit too thick )
4 tbsp butter/margarine, melted
1/4 tsp nutmeg, powdered
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 tbsp sugar

– Mix together all ingredients and press down in a springform pan/ cake tin. I used a pie dish. Bake in a 350 degree oven for ten minutes. Cool.

Ingredients for filling:

8 oz cream cheese (Use tofutti for a a vegan version)
1 block (12 oz) firm silken tofu
1 cup sweet potato, roasted, peeled, mashed ( or 1 cup pumpkin puree)
1/2 cup agave nectar/honey/maple syrup
2 tbsp corn starch
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp powdered ginger
1 tsp vanilla

– Blend all ingredients really well in a food processor/blender. Pour into the crust and spread out evenly with a spatula. Bake in the 350 degree oven for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle does not come out wet. Remove and cool on a wire rack for an hour. Add topping if desired. Chill in the fridge for at least three hours before slicing.

Topping: optional.

1 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped fine
1/2 cup milk
1/2 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp maple syrup
A handful of toasted, slivered almonds

– Mix the first five ingredients together and gently bring to a simmer in a nonstick pan. Stir continuously until the chocolate dissolves and mixture thickens to pudding consistency. Cool and pour over the cheesecake. Spread with a spatula and sprinkle almonds on top.

This was good. Really good. It did not quite have the tang of a real cheesecake, though. Next time, I'll try to use the standard brand of cream cheese and maybe add a tbsp of lemon juice.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sweet potato cheesecake

  1. Scott says:

    Ooh, gotta put this on the to-try list!

  2. jaklumen says:

    Well, I do know of sweet potato pie (I believe it's a Southern U.S. favorite), so why not sweet potato cheesecake?

  3. Purplesque says:

    I do believe this recipe is a lot easier than the traditional egg custard version. It won't fall, crack, or otherwise be mean to you. The texture is perfect, and the tofu doesn't come through AT ALL. Just don't tell your guests what they're eating. 😉

  4. Purplesque says:

    Why not, indeed? 🙂 I hadn't heard of a sweet potato dessert before yesterday, but apparently, sweet potato cheesecake has been done before. *pouts*

  5. jaklumen says:

    I'm sure when it comes to desserts, most everything has been done. As far as pie and cheesecake, I'm given to understand most any winter squash similar to pumpkin will do and has been done. Yams might work as well, but I also read that they are rarely grown in the U.S. compared to the sweet potato. The yam is an actual tuber like a potato is, while the sweet potato is actually a taproot.

  6. Katiebell says:

    I love the tofu cheesecake, and it usually is completely perfect when the cheesecake is flavored with something other than just the traditional cheesecake flavory stuff.

  7. Rev Stan says:

    Wow that looks great. I love cheesecake but very rarely have it as the cheese upsets my stomach so I must have a go at this one.

  8. Purplesque says:

    You're right, and I should have known. I can put in anything, anything at all in Google and it will come with a recipe. It is a little scary.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! I'd love to do a berry cheesecake, but that would probably completely ruin my diet.

  10. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. You could try it with the tofutti cream cheese to make it completely cheese-less. It does taste really good.

  11. Jabulani says:

    *sigh* You soooooo need to come and live in my guest house. I have 50lbs of pumpkin sitting in my kitchen waiting to be turned into caramalised onion and pumpkin soup!!! Hubby finally brought the darned thing in from the garage where it's been for 2 weeks. I'm hoping it will still be ok when I finally open the darn thing up. That's probably tomorrow's job since tonight's is ironing the school uniform!! Btw, the teleporter seems to be down. I only got a picture of this come through. The actual all-I-can-eat piece didn't rematerialise. *sulks*

  12. jaklumen says:

    Aye, but then again, sometimes it's great fun to discover things on your own.

  13. Purplesque says:

    How do you open up a 50 lb pumpkin- with a chainsaw? I would SO love to have a chainsaw in the kitchen, along with a mean looking hammer, y'know, for the black walnuts.#*$^#! teleporter. I want my money back.

  14. Jabulani says:

    In a previous life, George was a butcher so we still have his huge knives here. When attacking this beast, I will open it very very carefully as the knives are still all damn sharp! We also have 2 saws – one was his grandmother's father's. He was a butcher in the early 1900s and Granny helped out on occasion. The saw still works, altho we don't use it. We have on occasion used George's tho. Doubt I'll need it on the pumpkin tho …

  15. Marie says:

    This looks yummy!

  16. Vijay says:

    I find it interesting that you have a guest house! hmmm…

  17. Jabulani says:

    *chuckles* Shhh Vijay, don't tell anyone. The "guest house" is our shed at the bottom of the garden!! However, we do have ample space indoors to accommodate visitors … 🙂 🙂 At some point, we may have to build a guest house proper if my parents need to leave SA and come back to UK. Fortunately, we have garden enough to do this. And I will have someone on-site to do my ironing and look after my kids. Hmmm, I might just tell them to come now…

Leave a Reply

