Southwestern sweet potato-black bean salad

Fall is here and my food cravings have changed. No more fresh green salads and fruit sorbets- I want soups and stews and food that warms the bones. Mark Bittman has the perfect recipe. As a bonus, it makes good use of the sweet potatoes and peppers from our CSA box.

Here is my (slight) modification of the recipe.

4 medium sweet potatoes (about 1 1/2 pounds), peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks

1 small red onion, chopped

3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 minced fresh hot green chili pepper

1 clove garlic, peeled

Juice of 2 limes

2 cups cooked black beans

1 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro


Heat oven to 400 degrees. Put sweet potatoes and onions on a large baking sheet, drizzle with 1 tablespoons oil, toss to coat and spread out in a single layer. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast until potatoes are tender, 30 to 40 minutes. Remove.

Process chilies in a blender along with garlic, lime juice, cilantro, remaining olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

Put warm vegetables in a large bowl with beans and bell pepper; toss with dressing. Serve warm or at room temperature.

The salad was wonderful- bold and warm, with just enough heat to make my taste buds sing (but not yell). The cilantro-green chilli dressing gave it the welcome flavors of Indian sweet potato chaat- best eaten by the roadside.Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Southwestern sweet potato-black bean salad

  1. Emjay says:

    I wish I had seen this before dinner! I'm sure I wouldn't be disappointed in this recipe.

  2. Spike says:

    Looks like it would make an amazing soup, too. Maybe with a ground chipotle instead of the jalapeno…

  3. Purplesque says:

    There's always another dinner..I spend a lot of time planning future dinners around the recipes found on the internet. 🙂

  4. Purplesque says:

    Ah, yes, I do believe I saw that variation somewhere. With warm cornbread for dipping..

  5. ::looks around::Yikes! Looks like nobody's home…Hi!!!!

  6. Purplesque says:

    Hi, Robbbie!I'm around..just don't feel like interacting much these days; the seasons sometimes affect me this way. Hope you are doing well, and staying warm. I promise to visit as soon as I'm back to 'me'..

Leave a Reply

