I Diet Pizza

This pizza makes no claims to be the one from my favorite pizza joint. It is quite delicious on its own, though, and satisfies all my cravings for only 300 Cals. That's one fourth a large pizza, which runs close to 600 Cals for the thin-crust spinach-feta-caramelized onion-balsamic reduction pizza at Lola's.

Yeah, I'm a fancy pizza eater. I also like grape-gorgonzola pizzas. It is a source of deep and unremitting shame.

Ingredients:

1.5 cups all purpose white flour
1 cup soft white wheat bran (I just use regular bran. Cut back to 3/4th or 1/2 cup if the dough is too branny for you)
2.5 tsp active dry yeast
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 cup warm water
1 cup tomato sauce (On weekdays, I cheat by using store-brought sauce and heating it on the stove until it reduces to three-fourths the original volume)
2 oz parmesan cheese
2 cups of your favorite toppings ( I used half a pound of broccoli and baby spinach each, sauteing them first)

Knead together the flour, bran, yeast, sugar and salt using enough water to make a soft dough. Start with 1/2 cup water and add more as needed. Knead the dough for five minutes, then let rise for an hour.

Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees. Roll the dough out into a large 14-inch pizza, then let rise again for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare your sauce/toppings.

Spread the sauce on the pizza, followed by 1 oz grated parmesan. Add the toppings, and the rest of the cheese on top. Bake for 12-15 minutes until the crust is crispy. Serve immediately.

Even though I'm officially off the diet, A and I like this pizza so much we make it at least once a week. The bran in the crust makes it chewy and sweet, and two slices make a large serving. Try replacing the bran with whole-wheat flour for a non-diet but still healthy version.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Diet Pizza

  1. Very good for the diet indeed! It seems that diet is on our priority lists, isn't it? Good luck! The greens surely help. I love the photo, by the way.

  2. bee says:

    there's something for you at jugalbandi. congrats!!! you ca get pretty awesome pizza dough with whole wheat if you add some mashed potato and potato water.

  3. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. Diet is always a priority, isn't it? 🙂

  4. Purplesque says:

    Hmm..I need to try that. I've tried your whole wheat pizza dough recipe and that turns out great as well. Not sure about the calorie count, though- this bran crust Really fills me up, and I actually like the sweetness and crunch of bran. Maybe I can try a whole wheat flour-bran-potato water dough.

  5. Emjay says:

    I unashamedly love "fancy" pizza toppings. We have pizza Friday when the manservant is home and I have to have all those things like goat's cheese, pinenuts, spinach, artichoke, feta, caramelized onion etc on mine.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Goat cheese on pizza..Love it! Maybe we should have Pizza Fridays as well.

  7. Emjay says:

    It is the night that we put the world right! It's really nice as we go through our respective week and talk about the world around us. Then we watch our Netflix movie of the week! We really try to keep Friday nights to ourselves.

  8. Purplesque says:

    That sounds wonderful. One thing I love about families is the little rituals. I'd love to have some of our own. We have things we love to do together, but not a fixed schedule..

Leave a Reply

