Roasted potato salad with wilted kale

Perfect for the cold rainy-gray weather we've been having.

Adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound russet potatoes, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tbsp grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp sumac (optional)
  • 3/4 pounds kale, stems and ribs discarded and leaves thinly sliced 

Preheat oven to 450°F with rack in upper third.

Toss potatoes with oil, salt, pepper and paprika and spread evenly on a baking sheet. Roast for twenty minutes or until golden brown. Spread cheese and kale on top of potatoes and roast for another couple of minutes until the kale is wilted.

Beat together tahini, water, lemon juice, minced garlic and sumac until smooth.

Toss kale and potatoes with tahini sauce and add salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Roasted potato salad with wilted kale

  1. Waterbaby says:

    No sumac to be found within 25 miles, I reckon. Lemon juice will have to do. 😉

  2. jaklumen says:

    Interesting– I happen to have some Ranger russets i need to use. But why russets instead of Yukon Golds? (They have remarkably different consistencies; Yukon Golds have a softer texture.) Probably will substitute limes for lemons, as they happen to be cheaper. Not sure where I'm going to find kale…

  3. Purplesque says:

    Lemon juice will do just fine. I added sumac just because I had some.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Another 'just because' substitution- we usually buy a 8 lb bag of russets for Indian cooking, and that's what I had. Sometimes I buy fingerlings for roasting, but substitute russets for pretty much all potato recipes.All megamarts here- WalMart, Kroger, etc, carry kale. I'm trying to remember which part of the country you're in..

  5. jaklumen says:

    Another 'just because' substitutionFair enough, and if they are ideal for Indian cooking, perhaps I could get more recipes that use russets in particular?All megamarts here- WalMart, Kroger, etc, carry kale. I'm trying to remember which part of the country you're in..Kroger owns Fred Meyer now, so apparently I can get it there (I'm in the Pacific Northwest).Wal-Mart is everywhere, of course.I should have said that I probably wouldn't find it at the grocery stores I frequent: one is a Boise-based warehouse-type, and so selection is a bit limited; the other is a Mexican-style chain.

  6. Aubrey says:

    I will eat potato salad in any form, with any ingredients, possessing of any subsitutions. I love the tahini in this recipe.

  7. Purplesque says:

    You would like the recipe, I believe. Funny I never thought of it as a potato salad, but it is, of course.

  8. I've been really into potatoes and kale recently. This is perfect!

  9. Lakshmi says:

    Even the name makes me go weak on the legs. Purp, will you please consider my offer of being my personal chef? I'll give you peacock and ivory, in return.

  10. Purplesque says:

    I gladly accept your offer. You can keep the peacocks, though- noisy creatures.Its been a while since I saw you- my fault, mostly. Have been staying away from Vox until inspiration strikes again.

Leave a Reply

