My Macbook had a NDE

I spilled water on it.

Not on it, really. Behind it. On the coffee table. As soon as it happened I swiped the laptop and put it on the couch, hoping it would dry its behind and all would be well. It was only after I returned to it, having fortified myself with tea, that I realized it wouldn't start.

It wouldn't Start? It Wouldn't START??

The imminent panic attack was prevented by the presence of husband's laptop, and the internet came to the rescue. Specifically this awesome website. Armed with a set of tiny screwdrivers imported from the mother country, a tissue paper, and a popsicle stick, I dismantled the computer. Most of it, anyway.

Then A came home and had a fit. You can't do this without the right instruments! So we replaced the popsicle stick with a 5-buck spudger, the tissue with a container of pressurized air, and my eyes with his, behind surgical magnifying loops. Much labeling of screws and making of notes later, the logic board was taken apart. And put together again.

The moment of truth arrived, very similar to the moment we first laid eyes on each other. Will it happen? What if it doesn't?

It did. The little blue screen came on, followed by that sound of a Mac stirring to life. Oh, that sweet sound.

I have a feeling more than my laptop was rescued that day.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My Macbook had a NDE

  1. faithy says:

    WOW! Interesting! I won't dare to meddle with my macbook! LOL! I want to try this some day..i have an old macbook sitting at home and not working..maybe i should try what you did one of these days..:)) I'm bookmarking this site you provided!

  2. Lakshmi says:

    YOU OPENED A LAPTOP WITHOUT ADULT SUPERVISION? Are you sure you are XX and not XY? If my computer shuts down, I'd shut myself in the bathroom and scream, SOS dude and not enter the room again until it is fixed.

  3. jaklumen says:

    Actually, I was of the impression that a cuticle stick would do as well as a spudger, but I have never worked on a Mac and am going solely by what other VOXers have said, for the most part.

  4. Waterbaby says:

    ohmigawd, that's an incident for cardiac arrest!! so glad it's back up and running. and p.s. i know that lovely sound well, i've been a hardcore mac-er from day one and will never be anything but …

  5. Oink says:

    You're so much braver than I would be.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I wouldn't have dared either, Faithy, but these were desperate times. I've heard that Apple Care charges an obscene amount for fixing laptops with water damage.Re:taking apart an old Macbook, DO it! It was the most fun I've had in a while. The machine is as gorgeous inside as outside- a little miracle of design.

  7. Purplesque says:

    C'mon, Lakshmi, you naughty girl, what has sex got to do with this post? I love taking apart things- Dad is an engineer and growing up, I took apart quite a few motors, VCRs and the occasional kitchen appliance. My only regret is I never made him teach me how to take apart a car's engine. (Family business used to be a car dealership and workshop.)Maybe that's the explanation- A gets this weird scared-excited look when I grab the screwdriver instead of running to the bathroom. LOL

  8. Purplesque says:

    Great idea, Jak, I never thought of a cuticle stick. It wouldn't have mattered, though, I don't think we have one. πŸ™‚

  9. Purplesque says:

    That's was the scariest part, Wb, knowing I may have killed it..

  10. Lakshmi says:

    You know, you are SOMETHING. I hate being the damsel in distress, but when it comes to gadgets, I truly am. Shame on me.

  11. Purplesque says:

    You may be distressed by gadgets, but you are raising a child! Now that idea turns my stomach to water. You are brave.

  12. Lakshmi says:

    Oh no, kids don't have screws to tighten, or knobs and buttons to press. AND, kids are a lot more resilient to mis-handling than gadgets – with gadgets there is no second chance. Parenting is full of second chances.

  13. Waterbaby says:

    I bet. p.s. sorry you missed my cookies posting – with kitty the icing on the cake. πŸ˜‰ i actually thought of you as it went up.

  14. Vijay says:

    I sensed the latent animus in you long ago, Purplesque. Obi Wan, if he was around, would have said, "The force is strong in her!" πŸ˜›

  15. Vijay says:

    It takes big cojones to open up a Mac unsupervised! You've earned my respect.

  16. Wooooooooooooohooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!You ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I'm so happy it turned out well!

  17. Purplesque says:

    Ooo..that's a killer compliment in my book. Thank you, Vijay.(The one about Obi Wan, not the one about cojones. Jus' makin it clear.)

  18. Emjay says:

    You are one brave lady! πŸ™‚ The astro-dweeb was giving a talk in Spain and was finishing up his presentation in a coffee shop when he managed to knock my coffee all over his Mac. There we were in the hotel room with him pulling it apart and using the hairdryer. Thank God it worked – I have no idea how he would've handled things if it hadn't.

  19. Purplesque says:

    Me too, Robbbie, me too. *whew*

  20. Purplesque says:

    Oo..coffee is worse than water! I'm glad his computer survived.My Macbook suffers a lot of abuse. I run up and down stairs with it, drop it from the couch all the time, and occasionally turn it upside down just for fun. I don't think it could take anything more than water.

  21. Rolling says:

    hilarious πŸ™‚ enjoyed reading, you write very well – good wit, good with punchline:feeling more than my laptop was rescued that day.:)

  22. Purplesque says:

    Why, Thank you, Rolling! Thats a huge compliment. I'm glad you liked it.

  23. Emjay says:

    My laptop is very spoilt – it doesn't leave the comfort of the lounge room very often. The manservant's laptop is on the move all the time – even when he is not travelling it goes from the house to the office in a backpack each day – I think his gets treated like yours. Perhaps that toughens them up.

Leave a Reply

