Diet pains- part one

To be perfectly honest, its not that painful. I'm full most of the time, and have even managed to keep the binging-when-I'm-alone thing at bay. Maybe because I'm so busy cooking all this 'diet' food.

Toss together in a large bowl:

5 oz broiled tofu ( I used miso-rubbed tofu, broiled for about 7 minutes on each side.)
4 cups chopped romaine lettuce
1 cup diced tomato
2 tbsp lite Italian dressing
1/2 cup boiled pinto beans
2 tsp taco seasoning (I used a mix of chilli powder, toasted ground cumin, dried oregano)
1 tbsp chopped cilantro
2 scallions, chopped

Top with 2 tbsp of light sour cream (I skipped that) and 1 tbsp of Parmesan cheese.

One serving has about 300 calories, a whopping 30 gm protein, 5 gram fat, 30 gm carbs and 8 grams of fiber. Its delicious, especially when followed by a 'sugar free gelatin dessert'.

Unfortunately, the authors consider eggs, fish and gelatin to be vegetarian. So I had to take matters into my own hands and create a sugar free, calorie free, jelly dessert that is Vegan!

 

Dissolve a 2-serving size packet of orange-flavored Crystal light in 2 cups of water. Stir in 2 tsp agar powder, bring to a boil. Take off the heat, pour in small bowls, chill. Serve topped with fresh mint.

Agar desserts don't wiggle like real Jello, but they are delicious and gelatin-free. I was quite happy with the end result.

Update: I need to go shopping for smaller clothes. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Diet pains- part one

  1. scorpion1116 says:

    When I first saw this I thought it was chicken caeser salad. I thought you'd been converted, lol. It looks wonderful, as always, and congrats on the smaller clothes! (YOU GO GIRL!)

  2. Waterbaby says:

    interesting, never heard of crystal light used as a basis for jello. how much more do you aim to lose?

  3. jaklumen says:

    Update: I need to go shopping for smaller clothes. :)Hooray!

  4. LeendaDLL says:

    Woot! to smaller clothes!But cooking, shopping, planning… I could never stick to it!

  5. homebody says:

    If anyone can turn a diet into something pleasurable, you can! The photo of the dessert is lovely.

  6. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you! The agarello is not as translucent as Jello, but still beautiful.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..the original recipe does have a chicken option, and maybe that was the inspiration for the dish. I never knew!

  8. Purplesque says:

    I hadn't either, but decided to try anyway. There is no weight loss goal this time, I just want to be healthy. (And to fit into my medschool clothes. lol)

  9. Purplesque says:

    There is a significant bit of planning involved, yes. But there are no-cook versions of the whole menu. I don't want to start selling the book before I go through with the whole 8 weeks, but this truly looks very promising. All my stress-and-boredom related binges seem to have disappeared!

  10. faithy says:

    Wow..the salad looks so good! I love tofu & salad.. I can just eat plain soft tofu with soya sauce and red chilli & accompanied with kimchi & rice for weeks!

  11. Emjay says:

    Already you're in smaller clothes! Wow – that's great! I am quite jealous. The Agarello photo is gorgeous.

  12. LeendaDLL says:

    if not for stress & boredom binges, I'd be a size 2!!but at least i'm currently binging on fiber one cereal

  13. Purplesque says:

    Sounds delicious- I don't like doing that with store-bought tofu, but the fresh kind- yum!

  14. Purplesque says:

    To be honest, I'd already lose the weight before the diet- this is sort of the wrap-it-up phase. (Plus I'm rewarding myself with shopping money every time I resist a temptation! Double killer.)

  15. Purplesque says:

    Fiber one rules! I could kiss their feet.Today was Major stress day- spilled water on the Macbook. Opened and cleaned the whole thing- no damage done. It was a miracle I did not seek shelter in a pint of icecream.

  16. Brown Suga' says:

    Buying small clothes feels amazing.

  17. Zotta says:

    I did read a study that says people who cook and eat more are home are thinner.I think the fact you have the cooking gene can be a plus. Congrats on the newwardrobe. In stress situations like after work or almost losing a MacBook, it canbe helpful to do some kind of relaxation/meditation which could even just be walking or writing– which you already do! I always found it tough to relax after a hard day of teaching and driving through insane traffic patterns.

  18. Zotta says:

    PS: The Crystal Light jello is genius. One of your best food photos, too!Sven and I used to drink that by the pitcher.

  19. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..other than the cooking gene, I also have the love-to-eat-out gene! Unfortunately (or fortunately) this place has very few good eating-out options, so that takes care of that.Cooking works for after-work relaxation, as does getting on the bike and pedaling away. Of, and Steven Colbert. 🙂

  20. Zotta says:

    I should cook more, myself. Last night I made sauteed zucchinni and mushrooms, sliced in Smart Butter. My husband made rice with chicken broth and we added to that cumin and red hot sauce. I ate one too many lamb shoulders, but it was ok.

  21. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I know what you mean about Jon Stewart.The dinner sounds delicious! I love plain rice spiced with cumin, cloves and cardamom.

  22. Karen Lynn says:

    Congratulations on the weight loss! Did you need to lose weight? I thought you looked perfect!

  23. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you! I do need to lose weight- don't we always? lol

  24. Zotta says:

    Sounds great:) Thanks for the tip!

  25. Karen Lynn says:

    I do, but I thought you were perfect!

  26. Aubrey says:

    Very, very well done!!!
    Always use light dressing, mayo, sour cream, etc. Fat-free anything will just take the joy out of life and make you want to put a rifle to your head.
    Personally, I believe in Condiments: salsas, mustards, relish. When you're staring at a main dish, and your jaw is dropping with despair, any one of those items will punch that dish up.

  27. Purplesque says:

    Ah, yes. I did not enjoy my experience with fat-free foods, unless they are home-made, of course. :)Condiments are lovely! I love salsas and mustard and wasabi and a hundred different kinds of vinegars..

  28. Purplesque says:

    What? What? Is this what they teach in good Indian schools these days? lol

Leave a Reply

