Update

 I'm afraid I haven't been around much. My apologies- real life seems to have taken over. A long and boring update follows, mostly because I need to write it down.

Career: Its a mess. I have two options. One, I can join a waiver job here at the University, for the next three years. That way, A sticks around for a year while he finishes his residency, and then he leaves for a 2 year- fellowship.
Pros: If I join a waiver, he gets a work visa easily. I have an assured job here- less pay, but I get to teach and work in a familiar environment.
Cons: A two year separation, I miss out on my fellowship.

Two, I can leave for a one-year fellowship, and then A can try to get to the same place for his fellowship after he graduates.
Pros: A shorter separation, I do my fellowship, and hopefully we move to a bigger place.
Cons: Will have to beg employer for a extraordinary ability visa for A; they may or may not agree. A may not match in the program where I'm at next year.

And thats where it stands, eating at me from inside out.

Speaking of eating, I'm on a formal diet for the first time in my life. It had to be done; I was stuck at the same weight for the last 4 months despite a healthy diet and a good dose of exercise. Its called the Instinct Diet, written by Susan Roberts, professor of Nutrition and Psychiatry at Tufts. The basic premise is that there are five food instincts: Hunger, Availability, Calorie density, Familiarity, and Variety. She has formulated a balanced low calorie diet that is supposed to satisfy all the five instincts.          

Most of the diet seems to be sensible- the only weird thing is that there is no exercise recommended. The authors explain that exercise alone does not lead to weight loss, which is true. What they seem to ignore is that most studies show that regular exercise is needed to maintain weight loss.

Anyway, I've decided to follow the 12-week program (along with my exercise) to get myself off this weight plateau. I went shopping for the diet groceries today. It felt odd to follow a list and not buy what looked good or caught my attention. The food itself was pretty good. It went against my food instincts (Italian dressing on a taco salad?) but apparently satisfied the five mentioned in the book- I've been full all day with NO cravings.

Expect some diet food pictures. You've been warned.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Update

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    good luck with your decision.please keep posting on the instinct diet. it's an interesting premise and i'm impressed that even 1 day worked as intended.

  2. Waterbaby says:

    will be interested to hear how you like that diet. next time you swing by. πŸ˜‰

  3. faithy says:

    somehow i am skeptical about all these diet programs and believe in eating everything in moderation..but i do hope your diet works! πŸ™‚

  4. Oink says:

    Can you get married to get around the visa issue?

  5. Purplesque says:

    I don't want to jinx anything, but I lost weight! Most of it is probably water, but at least I'm off the darned plateau.The diet menus are mostly high fiber, filling, low calorie meals dressed up with small portions of delicious, high fat additions. You eat 3 meals and 2 snacks a day, and dessert sometimes. The hardest part, I suspect, is going to be the repetition- you repeat a 3-day menu for the first 2 weeks, and then a 7-day menu for 6 weeks. Maintenance is much more flexible.The authors' idea is that if you eat the same delicious, but healthy foods over and over again, you can re-train your brain into liking and craving those foods rather than your favorite danger foods. I'll believe it when it happens! πŸ™‚

  6. Purplesque says:

    So far so good. It wasn't hard to follow, kept me full and I had no cravings. Now to see if I can keep at it for 13 more days. πŸ™‚

  7. Purplesque says:

    I completely agree- this has been a real deviation for me, but I was tired of the plateau (the last ten pounds!!). It seems to be a decent balance of carbs, protein and fat, with a good amount of chocolate thrown in, so we'll see. Thanks!

  8. Purplesque says:

    Oh yes! It would be so easy to marry a guy with a green card….except I'm already married. This one is a pain in the butt most of the time but I still love him. What to do? ;D

  9. Oink says:

    Oh sorry. I'd assumed that you were a citizen and he was the outsider… Good luck with making a no-doubt very difficult decision. x

  10. Oh, I hate those complex career vs. personal life decisions. You're essentially being forced to choose between being happy in your work or happy with your loved ones, but for a million reasons you can't have both. When put to the fire, I chose my loved ones: I don't regret it, but it's kept me from advancing in my own career and making a lot more money. I hope there's a happier third choice or "middle way" out there for you.

  11. LeendaDLL says:

    congrats!i have pretty diverse tastes. my crappy eating is primarily due to issues of convenience, not taste. I realized this after looking at that diet and figuring out that I'd fail because I can't be bothered to MAKE my meals.

  12. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Ice cream!Now that I've decided to be a complete bore and talk about my diet at every occasion- here is the Instinct's diet 'recipe' for icecream. Mix 1/4 cup sugar free icecream with 1/3 cup high fiber cereal. Eat immediately. :DI hope we can find a middle way too..keeping my fingers crossed.

  14. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I know. I thought I was cooking a lot, but having to put together three meals a day is a lot more than I'm used to! This diet does give semi- home made versions of the diet menu, mostly requiring opening a few cans and putting things together. So if it works, I'll let you know!

  15. Emjay says:

    Oh – what a lot of thinking you have to do over a tough decision. That diet sounds interesting – (though not as much fun as my coffee & copulation one! LOL). I'm looking forward to photos of this diet food.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Coffee and copulation!! LOLThat sounds so much better than 'eat 1200 calories per day and exercise.'

  17. Aubrey says:

    The complexity of your choices makes my head swim. I hope you can fight through all the alternatives.
    Good luck on the diet – but I think you need to exercise to maintain health if not an ideal weight? Even a mile of walking each day would count.
    Let us know. Share your diet-pain with us.

  18. Purplesque says:

    Oh, yes, I am exercising. My usual 2-3 miles of walking per day along with 30 minutes of biking. And swimming on Wednesdays!The only pain I'm beginning to feel is that of repetition- I'm Not a creature of familiarity.

  19. Acccccccccck!!!!!!!!!!!!So many decisions!!!!!!I had no idea you guys were facing separations like that!!!!!(((((((((((((((purplesque)))))))))))))))) & ((((((((((((((((A))))))))))))))))I have no advice at all (never had that kind of situation to deal with)…….just try to enjoy whatever you decide…….You'll be making the absolute best decision that you can and one way or another you'll benefit from it. I hope that you'll be enjoying, it, too.The diet:What about the studies re long-term high-stress and metabolic response? Maybe your plateau has been due in part to that? Your body has been responding to the state of your emotional stress by stocking up on supplies and battening down the hatches for a bad storm. Maybe? You took on that supervisor thing months ago (I think?) and it was something big, now this….it's a LOT (it sounds like it). I hope that the diet will do what you want it to. At the very least it'll be a controlled, organized way of doing something, some order in the midst of chaos. And maybe that in itself will help.I hope you don't mind my saying all this….Gotta run. Need to get some breakfast and see if I can get to Drivers License place early .I didn't get my picture the other day: around 50 people in line, and it was raining…bleccch.(((((((((hugs))))))))))

Leave a Reply

