Clover leaf sourdough rolls

I wonder who came up with the idea of clover leaf rolls? A playful young hausfrau, rolling little balls of dough and dropping them into muffin tins? A busy baker, snipping off a roll of dough with scissors? No matter how they came by, clover leaf rolls are as fun to make as they are to eat!

Adapted from this fabulous recipe over at Jugalbandi. You can make this recipe without a sourdough starter, too. I skipped the garlic and the sundried tomatoes, and added a generous handful of fresh chopped sage and oregano from my tiny herb garden. Half the recipe makes 6 average sized rolls.

This recipe is a favorite because it doesn't take three days of prep, unlike most sourdough recipes. You can decide to bake sourdough rolls at noon and have them ready by dinner. That's serious stuff. The rolls are serious, too, soft yet substantial, packing a ton of flavor. Broken into tiny pieces and dunked in tomato soup, they are oh-so-good.

Herbed sourdough rolls go to the Wild Yeast blog for the weekly YeastSpotting.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Clover leaf sourdough rolls

  1. faithy says:

    Now i feel like eating bread for lunch..as it is almost approaching lunch time on my end..and bread is my fave food staple…lol! 🙂 Do you have to prep the sourdough starter? I've always been curious about sourdough..have not tried making it yet.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Nothing is better than bread, is it? :)I only keep about 1/2 cup sourdough starter at hand- so for most recipes it has to be expanded twice, which takes about 18 hours. Then you start the actual knead-proof-shape-proof process, which takes another day and a half for most sourdoughs.Recipes which use sourdough primarily as flavoring agent and add instant yeast for the actual rise, like the one above, can be made much more quickly.

  3. faithy says:

    Yes..i love bread, in fact more than rice! Perhaps cos i am a carb-addict. lol! Oic…i learnt something today..:) but do you have to 'feed' your sourdough starter daily to keep it alive? and to make the sourdough starter from scratch still requires a few days right?

  4. Purplesque says:

    Yes, and no. Making it from scratch takes a few days. I borrowed mine from a colleague and shifted it to whole wheat flour. It needs to be fed every couple of days if left outside, but I stick it in the fridge, and it stays put for a week. That way, I refresh it every Friday and use the excess over the weekend. (And yes, I forgot to feed it a couple of times, and it survived just fine. )

  5. faithy says:

    Thanks! Seems like feeding it weekly is not as bad as i thought it would be. But i have no one to borrow any starter from, so looks like i might have to work it from scratch. 😦

  6. Purplesque says:

    If you are in the US, I'll gladly mail you some (Some baking websites/local bakeries may also give away starter for free). If you make your own, you will have the satisfaction of using local fauna. Good luck!

  7. faithy says:

    😦 But i'm not in US..and our local bakeries or baking stores here doesn't give away anything!?! Nothing is for free here..hahahaha..

  8. faithy says:

    thanks! I'll try to make starter one of these days and keep you posted!

  9. original cin says:

    Excellent – I am drooling!

  10. Aubrey says:

    I love making bread, but the dough is always in danger of getting tough, because of over-kneading. Yet, is there anything so comforting or down-to-earth as kneading bread?

  11. Purplesque says:

    The party rolls are pretty! I like the idea of topping different 'petals' with different toppings- maybe I will try that next time.Hausfrau is certainly not uncommon in written English- I haven't heard anybody actually say it. 🙂

  12. Purplesque says:

    My dear Aubrey, would you please come over and knead some dough in my kitchen? Being lazy as I am, I can never knead dough as long as the recipes suggest. ( I just knead doughs for as long as I like, recipes be damned. So far, no bread has ever complained.)

  13. Waterbaby says:

    You got me curious about cloverleafs, so I *rose* to the occasion and researched it but didn't find much, though I did discover the interesting origins of the Parker roll. If I ever find how it came to be, I'll pass it on.

  14. Purplesque says:

    lol Ah well, now I'll have to go look up the Parker roll! (I didn't find anything on the clover-leaf roll as well, which makes me think it most likely originated in a household kitchen.)

  15. Waterbaby says:

    Here's the gist from one site: A puffy yeast roll with a creased center, created at the Parker House Hotel in Boston soon after its opening in 1855 by the kitchen's German baker, whose name was Ward. One story holds that Ward, in a fit of pique over a guest's belligerence, merely threw some unfinished rolls into the oven and came up with the little bun that made his employer, Harvery Parker, famous.Cloverleaf rolls — someone getting lazy and plopping three pieces of dough into a tin is my guess.

  16. Emjay says:

    These look so dainty! Have you considered "varnishing" them and putting them in a lovely black wire "bowl". I have such a bowl waiting……..

  17. I haven't been into blogging lately. But I must tell you that the anticipation of seeing beautiful food on your blog has kept me coming back to Vox. Needless to say your loaves are gorgeous and ready to please everyone. I feel extremely contented after seeing them. 🙂

  18. flipflop says:

    They look awesome

  19. OOOOOOOOOOOOO they look so good!!!!!!I've never seen them before…the snipping thing is fascinating!!!!!

  20. Purplesque says:

    🙂 As long as the varnish is edible!

  21. Purplesque says:

    Glad you liked them. I find myself too tired to Vox much- hopefully, this will soon pass.

  22. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Its the first time I made them- don't they look like fun?

  23. bee says:

    there's something for you at jugalbandi. congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

