Saffron cardamom shortbread cookies

A twitter friend, who just happens to be a fabulous quilter, sent me a lovely quilted tablecloth recently. The quilt smells and looks and feels so good, I've been using it as a throw instead, keeping my feet warm when I do my couch potato impersonations.

I want to send her something I made, but I have no idea what she likes. This is where online friendships suck. You may know a lot about one aspect of someone's life and nothing about the other.

Playing it safe, I decided to make these spring saffron shortbread cookies which I found on Mango Power Girl's blog. The cookies are lightly flavored with saffron, cardamom and nuts, making them Indian enough to satisfy me and American enough to please her (I hope!).

I mostly followed the original recipe, cutting back the butter to 1.5 sticks and skipping the icing, adding the cardamom to the cookie dough itself. I also used walnuts instead of pistachios coz I love them in cookies!

Only after making the cookies did I think about packaging. How do you mail crumbly shortbread cookies? After much trolling of the local megamart, I settled for a tin of peanuts, emptied, washed and re-papered. The packing took much more time than the actual making of cookies- there is a lesson in here somewhere. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Saffron cardamom shortbread cookies

  1. Aubrey says:

    The photo is genius – those three crumbs that I see are just enough to reveal the shortbread-y goodness inside each cookie.
    I'm off my cottage cheese and white bread diet now – I can do with a tin myself, actually. But not that I'm asking. Just bringing a topic up for discussion.

  2. Waterbaby says:

    Remove the nuts and these sound delish!! Too bad saffron's so darn expensive! Coincidentally, there was a cardamom shortbread recipe I spied recently that sounded good; I was thinking I might give it a whirl having just inherited all the spices from a departing neighbor. I'm not a fan of shortbread cookies but my stepmother LOVES 'em and for the very packaging dilemma you encountered, I make the thick bars so they have a chance of arriving not in a pile of crumbs!

  3. These cookies look simple but packed with good will. I'm sure she will appreciate them and enjoy them.

  4. Emjay says:

    Wow – those look so tempting! All that's missing is my cup of coffee! One of my vox neighbours sent me biscuits (cookies) and it was really wonderful to get them. She sent them in a little wooden crate. The manservant did voice the opinion that I shouldn't eat anything sent by someone I didn't know – so I didn't share them with him! 🙂

  5. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I would be more than pleased to send you a tin of cookies, my dear Aubrey. Send me your address! Of course, I still remember our plans to share a glass of Absinthe one day..soon.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Yes..now that I've realized it, I will have a package in mind before I design the size of the cookies, not after!Re: saffron, you may be able to get somewhat cheaper (and better than Spanish) Kashmiri saffron at the local Indian grocery stores, maybe even online!

  7. Purplesque says:

    Oh..thank you for saying that! I'm also sending her some garam masala..a bit of sweet and a bit of savory. 🙂

  8. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..you rock! We called biscuits 'biscuits' in India too, now I call them 'cookies'. They were rather common and not considered a treat, though, as cookies here are. I distinctly remember licking all the chocolate icing off a package of cookies and replacing them in my mom's biscuit tin, hoping nobody would notice. 😀

  9. Jabulani says:

    *sigh* you can't send shortbread to UK. You'll just have to visit and bake them while you're here instead! 🙂

  10. Purplesque says:

    That's a promise. I've always wanted to visit the Big Smoke and go to Baker Street!

  11. Lakshmi says:

    When are you coming down to India? I can book the ticket for you.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Sigh..you know the song? If I had wings I would fly over..pankh hote to..Thank you for the offer, though. 🙂 One more year of residency and then I should be able to fly back.

  13. Completely I share your opinion. In it something is also to me it seems it is very good idea. Completely with you I will agree.

Leave a Reply

