Vegetable Pot Pie

Two words: Comfort. Food.

I really haven't felt like cooking since my family left. Everything that mom brought- the home made wheat cookies, the cute silver bowls shaped like a leaf, the three bronze musicians on my wall- remind me of home and what I'm missing. Thank goodness for the barefoot contessa, who tempted me back into the kitchen with her lobster pot pies.

I usually make pie crusts at home, thinking they are bound to be healthier than store brought ones, but a comparison showed that there isn't much difference in terms of calories. Using frozen puff pastry sheets made this a true comfort food, easy to put together in less than an hour.

For the filling:

1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp flour
1.5 cups milk
1 tsp vegetable stock concentrate
a handful of fresh herbs (I used sage and thyme)
6 cups of parboiled/fresh veggies (cauliflower, potatoes, carrots, peas and mushrooms)
1 tsp mustard
2 tbsp nutritional yeast/cheese
salt and pepper

For the crust:

I used one frozen puff pastry sheet for four mini loaf pans/ramekins
1 tbsp oil+1 tbsp milk, for brushing
coarse salt and black pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees, and leave the puff pastry sheet on the counter to thaw.

Heat the butter in a dutch oven. Add the flour and stir until you get a dark brown roux. Whisk in the milk and the stock concentrate and bring them to a boil. Add the mustard, yeast, veggies. Season and let simmer for a few minutes, until the sauce thickens and the vegetables are cooked through.

Divide the vegetable filling between four mini loaf pans/ramekins. Cut the thawed puff pastry sheet to fit the pans, leaving half an inch overhang all around. (You could also use a dutch oven to cook the veggies in and then just cover it with the whole sheet). Cover the pans with the pastry sheet, seal the edges and brush the surface with milk and oil mixture. Sprinkle some coarse salt and pepper on top if you like, cut at least two vents into the crust, and bake until the top is well browned (about 20 minutes for the mini-pans.) Let stand for ten minutes before serving.

This was good with a simple green salad, even better when followed by the Skinny Cow chocolate fudge icecream.

p.s. Why do you think I can't find any fat free frozen yogurt when I want to binge?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Vegetable Pot Pie

  1. Waterbaby says:

    … but … but … but where's the pic of how these looked on the inside?! because the contents sound delish!

  2. Purplesque says:

    Oops..you're right, I should have taken a pic of the insides. The filling was quite yummy, but the crusts were more photogenic. I'll remember the next time!

  3. Aubrey says:

    Somehow, the mustard makes it perfect…I love cooking with mustard.
    What is the green cassarolette made of? It reminds me of malachite.
    And yes – we gotta see the innards!

  4. Jabulani says:

    This sounds fabulous. I will certainly be trying it on my kids who love anything with pastry! I am also a convert to frozen pastry; I laboured over making my own, making double quantities and freezing some. Then I read an article (think it was in my BBC Good Food mag) that there's about this much difference (—) between bought and made. It took me about 1 shop to make the switch πŸ˜‰ I love this site; @scanman has a lot to answer for! Thanks for the excellent recipes.

  5. another one I have to try! Yum!

  6. Vijay says:

    Glad to have been of service!

  7. Emjay says:

    This sounds delicious and I totally agree about the pastry!
    Re the low fat frozen yogurt – it's a conspiracy by the full fat ice cream makers! πŸ™‚

  8. I agree with Emjay: there must be a conspiracy by Ben & Jerry's, Haagen Daz and the others to keep fat free frozen yogurt out of the freezers. I finally ventured to the store last night to get some sherbet or frozen yogurt, something cold and sweet but light. And nada! Not even the omnipresent orange sherbet, which I usually see even in the depths of winter. I finally caved in and got some Edy's Espresso Chip ice cream, but I felt cheated, somehow.

  9. ((((((((((hugs))))))))))And YUM!!!!!Re the fat free frozen yogurt:I'm a serious fan of Turkey Hill's line. Some have low fat, some are fat free…most of the ones I've tried are so much like ice cream I can't tell the difference. But I don't know if it's everywhere….I think it is…..they do flavors in rotation, though; not all are available all the time. I've talked my supermarket ice cream guy into double-ordering the ones I like…LOL …I have 11 containers in the freezer right now (3 for $10, a good deal)Do you get to "talk" to your parents on the internet..? No need to answer if that's too intrusive. I just wondered.

  10. Morgat says:

    I'm so glad youre feeling like cooking again — when you don'tv feel like cooking, I know you're really having a rough time. {{{many hugs}}}

  11. Purplesque says:

    It does look like malachite- but is plain old ceramic. I found these cute little mini-loaf pans at a crafts store around Christmas. While I never got around to making mini-cakes in these, they are the perfect size for individual pies.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Thank you for dropping by. The pastry thing surprised me- one serving is really about the same as one serving of Indian bread, so its not too bad. Over the years (okay,more like a year), @scanman has connected me with several good friends. He has a talent for connecting people.

  13. Purplesque says:

    It really must be! I find it hard to believe any other reason they would have an aisle full of icecream and no yogurt!

  14. Purplesque says:

    Cheated is how I feel- but I hope the espresso chip made up for it. πŸ™‚

  15. Purplesque says:

    You've mentioned Turkey Hill before- I looked for it at my usual grocery stores but didn't find any. Which supermarkets are more likely to stock it, you think?Re: talking to patients on the internet, its a No. Maybe someday they will have an official way of doing it, but right now it would be considered a boundary violation.

  16. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ You're right. Thank you- its good to have friends like you. ((hugs))

  17. Uh, oh…I meant PARENTS on the internet…not patients…I just was hoping that you could stay in touch with them that way…I know you much be missing them so much.Gosh..I shop at Acme. Not sure where else Turkey Hill is stocked..will see if I can find out. *waves and runs*

  18. Purplesque says:

    LMAO..I'm sorry. I don't know why I read it as 'patients'. Freud would have a field day with that.I do talk to mom on the internet, and also on the phone quite frequently. That helps quite a lot.Don't worry about the yogurt- I'll ask around at the stores here. Thanks!

  19. LOL…It's a good thing Herr Freud doesn't have a blog!! If I see anything about the Turkey Hill I'll let you know. I'm such a fan I have their CALENDAR!!It arrives every year with with coupons for each month and a description of new flavors,AND the scheduled releases of their rotating flavors. I do ❀ them!!

  20. Purplesque says:

    A frozen yogurt calendar! Now that would be quite the thing..:) I want to try it, just to see what you like so much. I bet its really good.Just sent you a message re: licorice.

  21. Using puff pastry as pie crust is an excellent idea! I recently saw other bloggers do this and made a mental note of it. Your pot pie must have smelled like heaven. Now that you are back in the kitchen, maybe the Force will be back with me soon too. Have fun!

  22. Hi!! Me, again!I looked on the Turkey Hill website (it's a fun one!!) and found a place where you can enter your zip code to see where to buy the products…hereI just tested it; it works great!

  23. Purplesque says:

    Oh yes- and to be honest, using puff pastry makes this as easy as any other meal, instead of a long-weekend-only type meal. This is the first time I've used puff pastry-planning to use it a lot more when entertaining. Its like an easy filo.May the Force be with you.

  24. Purplesque says:

    Wow..thanks! That was easy- it tells me that all Krogers in the area should stock Turkey Hill. I'll look again- I remember getting some brand of frozen vanilla yogurt from Kroger before and it was okay. What I really want is to try the chocolate one you like so much. Thanks again!

  25. You're welcome!The one they seem to carry most often in the Vanilla Fudge Swirl Fat free…and it's FABULOUS. The fudge is….big glops of thick fudge mixed in, not those skinny little stripes some ice creams have. *sigh* I'm making myself hungry!Have fun!

  26. Wooohoooo!! me, AGAIN!LOL….sorry….I called that flavor the wrong name. It's Vanilla Fudge RIPPLE.

  27. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I figured that one. The Kroger did not have any Turkey hill yogurt- they did have their light icecream, though, so I got a box of that. Cookies and cream, yum.

  28. Oh, too bad about the yogurt…but I'm glad you like the ice cream one!

Leave a Reply

