The parents left.

Two hours ago. I am bereft.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The parents left.

  1. Emjay says:

    That's a nice photo. I understand how you feel – I go through this each time one of my children visits. Wonderful whilst they are here and so terribly difficult for a few weeks when they leave.

  2. Brown Suga' says:

    Aww. (((hugs)))Adorable pic, though.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    Welcome back to vox.

  4. M-----l says:

    That is the worst comforter/carpet combination I've ever seen. It's nice to see a picture of you, though. I don't remember ever seeing one before.

  5. It's hard when your family lives so far away and you have no idea when you'll see them again. I hope you'll get to see your parents and nephew in the near future; but photos like the one you posted help keep the memories fresh. I do have to admit, I cracked up when I saw the decor in the room. It was like 'Lion King' meets 'Leave It To Beaver.'

  6. Aubrey says:

    I believe that it's 'Lion King' meets the Black Watch. But it's an adorable picture.
    It's good to miss your parents; it's just proof of the depth of your feelings. But it doesn't make their leaving any easier. I'm glad you had a good visit.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Yes..I don't think I could stand a few weeks of this. Work helps- this is the only time I find myself wishing for more call!

  8. Purplesque says:

    Thanks. Parents just reached Delhi after almost 24 hours of travel- another six hours to go before they reach home. I feel awful.

  9. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you, Lakshmi. Funny how I turned to Vox and Twitter the moment they left.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Most cabins seem to revel in horrible decor combinations. There were also a couple of reindeer patterned brown pillows that I threw over the dresser.I seem to recall a time when I had a proper picture in my profile. Maybe we were not yet neighbors.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..isn't the decor horrible? The living room was much nicer, to be fair. There was a very nice antiqued green wood dining table that we thought of stealing and carrying back with us strapped to the roof of the airplane. There was also the Murphy bed which the nephew loved taking down each evening and putting back up in the morning.Mom and dad loved the cabin style- this was at Disney Fort Wilderness. We had our own kitchen to cook semi-Indian meals in, yet didn't have to worry about doing the dishes or making the beds.

  12. Purplesque says:

    I have never seen a cabin with tasteful decor, and I've been to quite a few. :)The leaving was horrible- we went out to eat because I couldn't bear to come back to the empty home, and I tried (unsuccessfully) to get drunk. I realised two things- one, alcohol does not make you sleep better (I've told my patients that for years), and two, two glasses of Asti will give me a headache in the morning. 😀 I'll never have more than a glass of wine again.

  13. Scott says:

    Better to have parents you love and miss, I suppose, than parents you can't stand who have moved in next door. 🙂

  14. Purplesque says:

    That is true. Thank you for making me feel better. 🙂

  15. (((((((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))))))You must have felt (still feel?) like someone kicked you in the stomach….I'm so sorry. But I"m glad you got to be with them……GREAT picture!!!!I'm not back yet, and I'm not really "here" right now…just popped in to see if anything was going on and saw your post. I apologize for not coming sooner. Right after my fever broke I got a STUPID back spasm and I'm just beginning to feel human again…LOLTake care, hunh?(((((((morehugs))))))*pokes around in purplesque's kitchen* Any cookies left?

  16. I haven't been blogging much lately. Hope you had a good time with your parents and you are doing well. God bless!

  17. Purplesque says:

    *hands you a plateful of cookies*Thank you. It is getting better, a little each day. I will be fine. 🙂

  18. Purplesque says:

    Me as well..thank you for dropping by! We had a great time..it ended too soon.

  19. Maybe it is time to start cooking for us again?

  20. Purplesque says:

    Perfect timing as always, FD! Just finished a food post- cooking is beginning to be fun again.

Leave a Reply

