The Parents are Coming Cookies

Date and pistachio stuffed semolina cookies, flavored with rose water. Familiar to the Indian palate, yet very different.

Mamoul.

For my parents.

Are you parent to an aspiring cook? Do you silently watch as your child wreaks havoc on your precious cookware? Do you swallow undercooked pasta with a brave smile and a word of encouragement?

In another twenty or so years, you shall be rewarded.

With cookies.

  

Hang in there.

p.s. I'd like to send one of these pics to Jugalbandi Click for May- theme cookies. Which picture do you like best?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to The Parents are Coming Cookies

  1. Aubrey says:

    You cooking minx, cookies are my weakness – there are so very many; and all have to be sampled. Date and pistachio, good lord.
    You photographic minx, both of these photos are grand, but I like the first one better – the composition is better, and it is a closer shot. Unfortunately, you give up the interior shot, the crumbs and the detailed background.
    So as you see, I've been no help at all.

  2. Nancy says:

    They look yummy. I would have to go with a shot that shows the filling.

  3. Brown Suga' says:

    Never heard of these! They look delicious!I think its the pistachio & rose water that makes them familiar – we have those in various burfi, rabri, firni et al, right? The dates are more of a South Indian/ Middle East thing, though.I'd go for pic #2, since it shows the filling and the crumbly-ness.

  4. faithy says:

    Looks delicious! And great photo! πŸ™‚ I like pic #2 more – that shows the filling.

  5. Mmmmmm…..definitely the second photo – they're just teasing me!

  6. Bookmole says:

    Yummy! Are you allowed to crop? Cos I like the one showing the filling best, but would crop so the cookies were in the corner. Cos Aubrey is right – the comp on 1 is better, but 2 has more interest in it.Whichever you choose, Good Luck!

  7. oooooo cooookkkkiies!

  8. The second photo has a smile for me. Definitely send the second photo. Very jolly looking cookies! I hope you enjoy the time with your parents.

  9. DATES!!!!!!In cookies!!!!!!!!!! WOWOWEEEEEEEE!!!!Can I adopt you?LOL…what a lovely post. Those cookies are SCRUMPTIOUS-looking…rose water! I never knew that would be in a cookie. But it sounds like a really wonderful combination with the DATES(!!!!!!!!!!!) and pistachios.I like the one where the cookie's smiling at us.But they're both delicious pix.So your parents are on their way, soon…YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. btw…the only reason I didn't grab any of those cookies is because you made them for your parents. But if there are any left over…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. *watches the cookies*

  11. Lakshmi says:

    Do you think your parents have an extra big suitcase to fit me?

  12. Waterbaby says:

    how interesting. and love the molds at the link! hmmm, i'd opt for pic 2 for the filling since prob'ly not many Westerners would know what's inside by pic 1.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! Mamoul can be found at most middle eastern stores- you must try them! This is one cookie completely worth the calories.You're right about the pics- that was my dilemma, too. I've cropped the second one a bit. Maybe that will help.

  14. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ That one it is!

  15. Purplesque says:

    You're right- Mamoul are Lebanese/Syrian. :)The filling is completely reminiscent of gulkand- the rose jam in paan. I was so excited the first time I ate them. Its the date- rose water combination. Gulkand in a sweet crumbly cookie dough- what could be better?

  16. Purplesque says:

    Thank you!And thanks for the link- I will check it out. I've never heard of NetIP, but it sounds like a great idea!

  17. Purplesque says:

    πŸ˜€ Thank you. The second one it is.

  18. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! We are allowed to crop, and pretty much edit the pictures however we want. Too much editing is frowned upon, of course.So its done! Hopefully this makes the second shot look better- I, too, think that showing off the filling is important.

  19. Purplesque says:

    I'm guessing you approve. πŸ˜€

  20. Brown Suga' says:

    I followed the link – did you use the same ingredients as the original, or substitute the butter etc? (Since you cook mostly vegan stuff)

  21. Purplesque says:

    Can I adopt you?Absolutely! You're too young to be my mother, but that doesn't bother me if it doesn't bother you. The more mothers the merrier. And then you can have date cookies whenever you like. :)Now that I am officially adopted, grab a cookie. :Dp.s. Yes, they get here tonight! Can you tell I'm excited by how incoherent I am?

  22. Purplesque says:

    I used my last supply of ghee left over from the in-laws visit. But you could easily substitute oil for a vegan version.For the cookies- 1.5 cups semolina/sooji, 1 cup white flour, 1/2 cup ghee, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tbsp rose water, 1 tsp dry active yeast. Add lukewarm water to make a soft dough.For the stuffing- 1 cup dates, 1/4 cup pistachios, and 2 tbsp rose water, all ground together.I think, though, that the stuffing would taste just as good on toast. πŸ˜€

  23. Brown Suga' says:

    Or chapatis. :DOr I could just pressure-cook it along with dalia and later mix them to have an extra-fibre dessert! (I think.)

  24. Purplesque says:

    That's a great idea! But pressure-cooking might change the flavor- I'd just stir some in the dalia when you want to take it to the next level (as they are fond of saying on cookery shows here.)

  25. Brown Suga' says:

    You're right – that occurred to me after I posted my comment. I had figured that if baking wouldn't change the flavour then pressure-cooking won't either… but now that you mention it, the cookie batter is probably what prevents the rose essence from escaping.

  26. Purplesque says:

    Yes, plus its a relatively short bake at low temperature. I've seen mamoul recipes go as low as 12 minutes of baking time, but I like my dough well cooked.

  27. Purplesque says:

    I'm sure you would fit easily into a medium suitcase. I'll keep some cookies for you. πŸ™‚

  28. Purplesque says:

    I have one of those molds- the date one. An incredibly lucky find at the local international food store.You're right about the stuffing thing- number two it is!

  29. Brown Suga' says:

    The recipe you linked to says to bake the mamouls for 12 minutes, with the temperature at 300-325 deg F. How much time did you bake them for and what temperature?One problem with me is that I'm lousy when it comes to combining flavours, or knowing the correct cooking/roasting/sauteΓ©ing time for different ingredients.

  30. Emjay says:

    You've probably already submitted by now – but I like the bottom shot with the filling and crumbs. They look incredibly delicious! I never make cookies, cakes etc because I know I would eat them all – the manservant has really good willpower when it comes to sweet things.

  31. Purplesque says:

    I baked mine at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. My mamoul were thicker than the usual store brought ones, plus they had no eggs, so that might have been a factor. (18 cookies from my recipe above.)The knowing comes with practice, but cooking is one of the most flexible arts out there- there is no right or wrong! I try not to let a recipe dictate what I do in the kitchen- when you play around, you find your own comfort zone.Note that the above advice does not apply to baking bread, which is more science than art, and requires more careful tampering with. πŸ™‚

  32. Purplesque says:

    Oh- same thing with A. How can men be so, so..indifferent? Those mamouls in the kitchen called my name all night.

  33. Woooooooooohooooooooooo!!! Tonight! and the weather's supposed to be nice — just for them!!!!!!That's so cool. I'm really happy for you!*munches on one of those fabulous cookies*I'll be 58 in a few months. Old enough.LOL….have a great day anticipating the joy of your reunion! And say Hi to your parents for us. AND relax and have some FUN!!!!!!!!!

  34. Waterbaby says:

    Does the international store not carry those molds regularly then?

  35. Purplesque says:

    Turns out it does. I was just very surprised to see them. I haven't seen mamouls anywhere in the city, and there is not a large middle Eastern population here.

  36. Monu Teena says:

    Delicious.. just love Maamoul ~ i have made some too πŸ™‚ do visit my place when time permits Maamoul ~ date cookies that’s a recipe by my mom πŸ™‚
    hope your parents loved to see your cookies too πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

