Gingerbread cupcakes

I could have baked a cake for A's birthday, but here's how cake distribution goes in our household.

P bakes a cake.

A eats a slice. P eats a slice. A praises the cake and goes to bed.

P eats the rest of the cake.

So, in the interest of our shiny new healthy lifestyle, I made cupcakes instead. Four of them.

 

I followed Isa's fabulous recipe. I had tried it once before, replacing all of the oil with applesauce. That yielded passable cupcakes, but the ones made from the original recipe are truly extraordinary. Moist, light, and not too sweet.

(As for the frosting, what you see above is lite cool whip with some lemon zest and chopped crystallized ginger. Yeah, sometimes nothing but pure synthetic taste will satisfy my palate. lol )

The birthday boy ate three cupcakes. Success!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Gingerbread cupcakes

  1. Waterbaby says:

    Cupcakes are an excellent … clever detour from consumption of an entire cake! Nicely rigged. ;p

  2. jaklumen says:

    Applesauce does very well substituting for oil in most baked recipes, but yes, it's not the same thing.Funny you should mention cupcakes– tomorrow the CBBS (Columbia Basin Board game Society) meets and Cimmy usually makes a cake. We've been making yellow cake with sesame seeds and root beer, and we were discussing how cupcakes would be far more convenient.

  3. Brown Suga' says:

    When I first saw your cupcakes on Twitter 2 days ago, I bought a LOAF of chocolate cake on the way home. I ate some and brought the rest next day to eat at lunch with friends. We were still craving for cake, so friends went and bought ANOTHER chocolate loaf…And now the cupcakes again. You are a merciless one.

  4. homebody says:

    That sounds like the cake distribution in my household, except there is no A.
    These look especially yummy!

  5. Vijay says:

    :P~I'm seriously thinking of reporting you to the Vox admin for continuing to post such provocative photos πŸ˜‰

  6. Emjay says:

    LOL – it's a little of the reverse here. I cut things into thirds and sort of "share" them out – 2/3'rds for the manservant and 1/3 for me. The idea of this distribution is to prevent me eating way too much of one thing, but invariably I eat my third and then go begging for a bit more of his portion! Those cupcakes look delicious and delightful. LOL to Vijay!!

  7. I haven't made cupcakes in ages. These little beauties look gorgeous and fit for a king's birthday!

  8. julie says:

    haha… that's a familiar story in my household too. Happy birthday to A! Love the golf foil liners… that's so bling bling of you. πŸ™‚

  9. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!GINGER!!!!!!!!!! *runs around yelling*I ❀ ginger!!!!!You're brilliant.They look absolutely GORGEOUS and yummy. Is it too late to wish A a happy birthday?Here's a cyber-cake for him! And you, too. And I may grab a few pixels of it before I leave…since the cupcakes are gone? πŸ™‚

  10. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..thank you, Wbaby.

  11. Purplesque says:

    CBBS? What kind of board games do you play? It sounds like a lot of fun..so does the sesame root beer cake. I used to have a cake recipe long ago that used carbonated beverages..ThumsUp, the Indian version of Coke, to be precise. It was fun!

  12. Purplesque says:

    Uh oh..my apologies. Food post inspired cravings are rather ruthless, aren't they?I hope the chocolate cake was good..

  13. Purplesque says:

    Who knew my fantasies of becoming a rebellious provocateur would come true on Vox? ;D

  14. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I could live with the one-third two-third distribution, but it never works where desserts are concerned. I even have my own perfected begging technique! LOL

  15. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. The king thought so, too. πŸ˜€

  16. Purplesque says:

    Lol..sometimes a girl just can't do without the shiny stuff. Thank you.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Stealing..what? The cupcakes? The recipe? The blogosphere? πŸ˜€ Thank you.

  18. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..you and A would get along quite well. I had thought of baking a chocolate cake, but he likes ginger, so we went with this one!He says a big thank you for the gorgeous cake. (I wouldn't want to share that one with him, it looks so happy and festive and Yummy!)*Hands you the gingeriest pixels of cake*

  19. jaklumen says:

    What kind of board games do you play?Mostly European ones, such as Settlers of Catan, which was featured in WIRED magazine lately. I'm not so much into it as other members; it's simply a social outlet for me and any board games I own are all kid's board games that don't measure up in the slightest.Cimmy has been eager to play RPG games, especially D&D, so I am helping her more with that.As for the cake recipe, well, the one I got wasn't especially good, IMHO. It doesn't seem to be like the recipe you mention– I've seen cakes made with soda and sold in the stores for years with just about every popular soda on the planet– Dr. Pepper, 7UP, cola (as you said), Orange Crush, etc. This recipe simply called for rendering down root beer to make a glaze, which was horribly tedious and had me wondering why root beer extract wouldn't be more convenient.If you have that recipe I would be very interested in looking at it, because I can't imagine that it would similarly involve pouring root beer into a pot and waiting for hours on the stove for it to thicken.

  20. Purplesque says:

    You lost me at RPG..all I can think of is Role Playing Game? But you can't do that with a board game, can you? :)I never had that coca cola cake recipe- but I remember it as quite straight forward. Google turned up this one..looks good.

  21. jaklumen says:

    You lost me at RPG..all I can think of is Role Playing Game? But you can't do that with a board game, can you? :)You can't.I'll try again. I'm not as much of an aficionado as the other members of the group are. I haven't bought a single high-brow board game. I just go, try to have fun, and hope they continue to tolerate my presence even though I don't work for the same employer (it's a company social group, basically).Cimmy and I are quite fond of role playing games, but the group, save for the mutual friend that introduced me, is witheringly indifferent; we've mentioned starting up an RPG group and it seems they can't be bothered. Said mutual friend is unfortunately hopelessly busy or he would be available to help us.About the cake recipe… apparently, what we missed was adding powdered (confectioner's) sugar to the icing mix!

  22. bee says:

    fantastic. i've bookmarked this.

  23. A is most welcome for the cake!

  24. pixiepine says:

    This has to be my favorite cupcake recipe ever! I always win over skeptics with these πŸ™‚

  25. Purplesque says:

    πŸ˜€ Aren't they fabulous? I like to think of them as gingerbread for adults- sophisticated but fun.

Leave a Reply

