Quiched!

Singing Horse has been making all these amazing, irresistible quiches. The temptation got to the point where I abandoned my weekend bread-baking plans and decided to make a quiche instead. This recipe is a mixture of her recipe and Bryanna Clark Grogan's.  The end result was truly phenomenal- the eggless, flourless quiche set beautifully, and A finally declared himself a quiche convert.
 

For one ten inch pie, process together in a blender:

-  1 block (14 oz) firm tofu
-  1/4 cup milk (soy is fine)
-  salt and pepper to taste
-  1 tsp dried herbs of choice (I used basil and thyme)
-  2 tbsp nutritional yeast
-  2 tbsp cornstarch
-  1/2 tsp agar powder
-  a pinch of turmeric (for color)
– 1 tbsp vegetable stock concentrate/1 stock cube ( I use Better than Bouillon veggie base)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Now comes the vegetable mixture. I used aspargus, peppers, carrots, peas and sundried tomatoes, but you can use any veggies you like, as long as the final mixture is not too wet. Reserve some vegetables for the top, if you like.
 
In a frying pan, heat 1 tbsp of oil. Saute together for five minutes-

-  1/2 cup onion, chopped
-  1 clove garlic, chopped
-  3 cups mixed, chopped vegetables of choice ( I left the sundried tomatoes as they were, and they soaked up the liquid from other vegetables.)
-  Season with herbs, salt and pepper.

Mix in half of the tofu mixture with the vegetables. Spread the vegetables in a 9-10" pie/cake pan and top with the remaining tofu mixture. I added some shredded parmeggiano on top along with the reserved asparagus spears.

Bake for 30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown. Let it rest for at least one, preferably two hours before serving.

 

The hardest part was the waiting. We drizzled some hot sauce on top and polished off the entire quiche between the two of us. Thank you for inspiring me, ladies!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Quiched!

  1. Emjay says:

    Gosh that sounds good. I love asparagus but the manservant thinks it is the devil's food! LOL. I will have to save this for one of my ladies nights.

  2. Morgat says:

    that looks like a work of art! fantabulous!!! I bet it tasted wonderful… I love quiche, and asparagus…

  3. LeendaDLL says:

    once again, I will be right over!! That looks like exactly what I need to be eating right now. Gawd, I sometimes wish you were my housewife – you could still keep your hubby, I'm cool like that. lol

  4. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I always think of asparagus as a very lady-like food, though most men I know really dig it.

  5. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you. It was really good- I got that good feeling you get when all the proportions click into place.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Be careful what you wish for- considering how often I get to see hubby these days, I might just take you up on that offer. πŸ˜€

  7. LeendaDLL says:

    Well, I've got a kitchen remodel in mind. Though, if I ever complete it, I might give you a run for your money in the cooking dept (doubtful, but at least I'll be inspired to try)

  8. Lakshmi says:

    I was mighty proud of my assumed "exotic" breakfast this morning – Spanish tortillas and banana nut bread, and I had to come here, see?mmmmm. Asparagus, just how many YEARS it has been since I tasted it. I feel like licking my monitor now.

  9. Brown Suga' says:

    Yummy! I LOVE sun-dried tomatoes!Is asparagus related to drumsticks? Coz I see some resemblance!

  10. That's like a dream…it's GORGEOUS!!!!!!!And healthy.And I'll bet it tastes f.a.b.u.l.o.u.s.Your patience is an inspiration. To take the time to place the spears on top like spokes on a wheel? Amazing. It's lovely!O!!! Look!! there's a silvery glittering spaceship landing on your patio!!! *as soon as Purplesque goes to the window to look for the spaceship, Robbbiedobbbie grabs the quiche and runs*

  11. I'd been thinking about how much I'll miss quiches, omelets and the like, since my cholesterol levels have been going up. This sounds like a great substitute. Thanks!

  12. Purplesque says:

    Mm..I'd gladly swap the quiche for a good banana nut bread.No Asparagus in the motherland? I thought all things American were available there, by now..

  13. Purplesque says:

    Afraid not..asparagus certainly looks like drumsticks, but doesn't taste like them at all. I can't really compare it to a desi veggie. It has a green, earthy taste, almost like biting into a very tender raw green bean.I love sundried tomatoes too- they brighten up any dish you add them to!

  14. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you! It did taste quite good- I normally find tofu quiche a bit bland, but adding the vegetable stock concentrate made all the difference.Re: asparagus spokes, I have a lot of patience when decorating food, as long as it cooks fast enough! πŸ˜€

  15. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ The one thing I disliked about being a lacto-vegetarian is not being able to enjoy those cute little breakfast quiches. No more! I hope you like this recipe.

  16. Waterbaby says:

    Did you take the pictures?

  17. Brown Suga' says:

    Banana nut bread? You had better keep some ready at all times. I might drop in without warning.

  18. Wow, I love your quiche! The asparagus and sun-dried tomato combo is great. I really like that flavor. I'm so glad to see your beautiful creation. Happy eating!

  19. Purplesque says:

    Yes'm. (Are they good? Bad? What? What? lol)

  20. Purplesque says:

    Is that a bit of drool under your tongue? lol

  21. bee says:

    thanks for the great recipe. i've been on a quiche binge recently and have two in my drafts i'll post soon.

Leave a Reply

