Fresh corn soup and bread

Its not that we are living on soup and bread (I wouldn't mind that at all), but that my cooking-blogging mojo is gone. When I cook, I forget ingredients. When we eat, I forget to take pictures. Real life can be so distracting!

Here's one recipe that was rescued from obscurity by its own fabulosity- A raved about it so much that I decided to post it after all.

 

What you need:

Kernels from 4 ears of corn (or 2 cups frozen)
2 summer squash ( I used zucchini- or you could sub tomatoes for a different soup. Skip the milk if you use tomatoes.)
2 anaheim peppers ( or poblanos)
1 tbsp olive oil
2-3 cups stock/water
1 tsp cumin, toasted and ground
1 tsp garam masala (optional)
1/4 cup packed cilantro, chopped
1/4 cup sour cream (optional)
2 tbsp lime juice
1/2 cup milk
salt and pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.
Toss the corn, sliced squash and deseeded chopped peppers with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast in the oven until the corn begins to turn golden- about 20-30 minutes.
Place the roasted veggies with 2-3 cups of water/stock in a pan and bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer for 30 minutes.
Run the soup through a blender, and then pass through a sieve.
Return the soup to the pot, season with cumin and garam masala. Add milk and warm until heated through (don't boil).
Mix the sour cream with half the cilantro and lime juice. Add a dollop to each bowl and top with more cilantro to serve.

We served it with Rose Levy's Primo Rustic Focaccia.

The Focaccia goes to the weekly YeastSpotting at the Wild Yeast blog.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Fresh corn soup and bread

  1. Emjay says:

    fabulosity What a great word!! I think I might attempt this soup myself it sounds so nice and that focaccia looks really good.

  2. IG says:

    That's it! I'm coming to live with you. Or on your back doorstep anyway, to beg for scraps…

  3. homebody says:

    I wouldn't mind living off of soup and bread either, especially the kinds you make and photograph so beautifully.

  4. Brown Suga' says:

    The bread looks fabulous.

  5. WOWOWOW!!!!!The soup and that WONDERFUL bread………*sigh* Real life can be so distracting! So true!!!

  6. Fabulous soup and focaccia! I was just thinking of something made of corn too. Again, you are one step ahead.Real life is not as romantic or idle as we hoped. So many things to distract us from our simple pleasures. I hope everything goes well with you in your hectic life. 🙂

  7. Waterbaby says:

    your passion for breads comes through on your blog. 🙂

  8. LeendaDLL says:

    sooooo hungry. but please leave the cilantro off my bowl (I think it tastes like Irish Spring soap). thanks!

  9. jaklumen says:

    Any ideas on where I might find garam masala? I just haven't a clue. There aren't any Indian stores that I can immediately think of– Asian (primarily Thai/Vietnamese) yes, Eastern European, yes, but (East) Indian, no.By the way, I figured out how to store up recipes conveniently– it's a little open source program called Tomboy (came with the particular setup I chose for Linux). Very helpful when I want to collect recipes I can reference later!

  10. Purplesque says:

    You can order it online. There are several Indian grocery stores online. Even better, you could make your own. :)Dry roast in a skillet-4 tbsp coriander seeds1 tbsp cumin seeds1 tbsp black peppercorns1 tsp dry ginger¾ tsp cardamom seeds¾ tsp cloves¾ tsp cinnamon (2 X 1” pieces)¾ tsp crushed bay leavesGrind them in a coffee grinder and there you have it! It is a flexible spice- you can grind your own even if you don't have all the ingredients. It is great sprinkled on most Indian-style recipes.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Fabulous has been overworked so much, I though it needed a makeover. :DIf you try the soup, the most important step is the sieving..gives it an amazing texture.

  12. Purplesque says:

    😀 You'd be more than welcome.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! Its one of our all-time favorites.

  14. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you!Yes..some days I just want to escape into Vox.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! Knowing you, I bet you'll come up with another great recipe.I still haven't made the Pane Francese..can't wait to try it! #%&$#& real life.

  16. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. I just got called a bread-nerd; thought it was the biggest compliment Ever.

  17. Purplesque says:

    LOL I added cilantro to a dish last night, and kept thinking about soap! We could always do parsley for you. 🙂

  18. jaklumen says:

    I think making my own would be cheaper and far more satisfying. I think I have most of those spices on hand, although I think I only have powdered versions of some. I'll have to get a coffee grinder or a specific attachment for my Osterizer blender, whichever is easier. I've copied it to a new note in my Recipes notebook. Thank you!

  19. Emjay says:

    Did you sieve through a gauze cloth?

  20. Purplesque says:

    I used a large metal sieve..but I imagine a few layers of cheesecloth will do it.

  21. LeendaDLL says:

    I'm still trying to figure out how I know what Irish Spring soap tastes like!

  22. Purplesque says:

    You don't really need a coffee grinder..it should work if you dry roast the whole spices and then crush them in a mortar, or put them in a plastic bag and roll with a rolling pin. Then roast the powdered spices (they will take less time than the whole ones) and mix them in. Good luck!

  23. jaklumen says:

    Yeah I was going to ask about a mortar and pestle. I've heard of the rolling pin trick, too. Maybe even a peppercorn mill?

  24. Purplesque says:

    I would imagine so. I have never used one to grind spices. The hard stuff like cinnamon may be an issue if the grinding mechanism is plastic- I've broken a couple of coffee grinders with my spices. 😀

  25. Hi!! that soup looks WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!*grabs the soup and runs*thanks for neighboring me again.I messed up the two accounts I was trying to cover, ended up deleting them. Good thing I have extras ready just in case!

  26. faithy says:

    Your focaccia bread looks sooo good!! I haven't tried making one as yet, but just looking at yours makes me wanna try to bake one right away!!

  27. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you! I hope you bake one..focaccia is one of my favorite breads!

  28. pooja says:

    just found tomorrow's dinner. woohoo! thanks!

Leave a Reply

