Sourdough English Muffins

Doesn't everyone love English muffins? Great use of leftover sourdough starter, and they are so easy! Perfect breakfast for a long working weekend.

Made from this recipe. I halved the recipe since I had exactly 1/4 cup stiff starter. Added .125 cup of extra milk and voila! Look at them holes-they soak up the butter and the jam so well…
 

If you don't have sourdough starter, don't let that stop you from entering English muffin heaven. Try Alton's Brown's recipe.

These muffins are going to this week's YeastSpotting at the Wild Yeast blog.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sourdough English Muffins

  1. *sniffs* I thought I smelled something LOVELY over here….wowee I love those things soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much!!!Wouldn't you just like to crawl insdie one of the little nooks and crannies and lap up the butter or nibble on the jam and muffin? And then move on to the next? YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!And you made them from scratch. Amazing.btw: I made BisQuik bicuits a while ago, had them for lunch. Will do a post tomorrow about them, probably. I added Mrs. Dash's Lemon-Pepper seasoning to the dough. See what you did? You INSPIRED me!!!!*grabs a muffin and runs*

  2. little miao says:

    These look so delicious my mouth is watering!

  3. You have just said the magic word! How can I resist these English muffins?? It's going to be a tough night looking at these photos. Bravo!

  4. jaklumen says:

    I think these would be fabulous Southern-style with country gravy. This is basically a savory white gravy, often flavored with sausage.Although the traditional choice is buttermilk biscuits (made with baking powder), sourdough English muffins would make a nice Western twist. Plain country gravy *should* be veggie friendly (paprika or ground peppercorn is usually the seasoning), but I have confidence in you to make it so if need be πŸ˜‰ Please do consider giving it a try.

  5. Purplesque says:

    Wouldn't you just like to crawl inside one of the little nooks and crannies..I would. I would. πŸ˜€ Can't wait to see your biscuits!

  6. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you.

  7. Purplesque says:

    I didn't mean to tease. πŸ™‚ I know how much you like English muffins- was thinking of you while these were on the griddle.

  8. Purplesque says:

    That is a great idea!I've tried making gravy a couple of times before..once with mushrooms and once with white beans. While good, neither were what I imagine gravy to be. This time, I'm going to try a roux with lots of different seasonings for flavor, and see what happens. Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. Emjay says:

    I would eat these hot out of the oven smothered with butter and honey – simply divine!

  10. I'll take more pix today, with them near some bean soup. The shots on the cookie sheet look bad: they look like moon rocks. They tasted good, though!

  11. Thanks, Purple! I am making these muffins now, actually patiently waiting for the dough magic to happen in the mixing bowl. Like you said, sourdough is always waiting. πŸ™‚

  12. Purplesque says:

    Oh, yes..divine magic with butter and honey. (One of the few things that I do allow myself butter with- English muffins and pancakes!)

  13. Purplesque says:

    Did you get sourdough culture? Thats super-cool!

  14. Emjay says:

    The manservant brought back some organic Australian honey – I wish I had some of your muffins! I am putting it on potato bread! πŸ™‚

  15. Purplesque says:

    Good man, this servant of yours. He must like his job. πŸ™‚ Enjoy the bread-and-honey.

  16. Yes, I used my own. You once mentioned Wild Yeast blog in your post and I went there. I followed the instructions on Susan's blog and started my own sourdough starter from scratch. I think on day 3 I made a mistake in the feeding quantities and time (how careless of me). So ever since I have been trying to rescue my starter. I don't have enough experience to know if it's really so big of a problem. Anyway, I pretty much gave up and decided to start a new starter and not make the same mistake again. But there was just enough to make the English muffins and 2 loaves of French bread. Amazingly, it worked. πŸ™‚ I will raise another starter though.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Just saw your muffins..they look delectable!Sounds like your sourdough starter was fine after all..it appears to be a lot more resistant than we give it credit for. I did the same thing after the starter I got from my colleague exploded. I used the leftover 2 tbsp in the bottle, adding flour and water in a random fashion. It survived somehow, and now I feed it properly. πŸ˜€

  18. bee says:

    so so delicious!!! these look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

