Random stuff

I don't wear a badge, or a stethoscope, or a white coat. The pager is usually hidden under my sweater. I've never had an email address starting with dr or ending with md, and I usually announce my name without a preceding Doctor, unless its a core therapeutic interaction. Outside of the clinic, I'm very careful about staying out of the doctor role.

Which is why this interaction in the elevator today was odd.

Little old lady in a cute red sweater walks in. I hold the door for her.

You are a doctor, aren't you.

Umm..yes. How did you know?

Oh, you just have that air about you.

I have an air about me. That doesn't sound good.

Oh, no. Its good. Its really good.

Now how on earth did that happen?

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Random stuff

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    there's always an "air" around knowledge.

  2. Aubrey says:

    Yes…as well as Kindness, Confidence and Calmness.
    It's very good, Purple.

  3. As one of my students once said: "You smell smart."

  4. Brown Suga' says:

    What Aubs and Leenda said.

  5. Fanny says:

    I think it's very much about confidence and knowing where you're going -( both metaphorically and literally)

  6. Scott says:

    It's because you've been wearing the bold new fragrance from Ralph Lauren, Eau de Freud.

    (Ugh, that didn't sound very appealing, did it.)

  7. Neat!2 things:It's a clinic? For several areas of practice? I'm guessing that a lot of the people who are there as patients are in some kind of pain or confusion or doubt or fear or worry. And other people do have radar for that. So you probably seem comfortable, clear-headed, certain (in a good way) and optimistic (or at least calm), in comparison? So you're probably not a patient. Maybe you also seem confident and caring and open to people, which would be nearly everyone's image of the perfect doctor….I'm wondering what else she said. And why she said it to begin with. You know? Do you have any idea?

  8. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Yes, but what knowledge?

  9. Purplesque says:

    Ah, how I wish. The one thing out of those I am often accused of is being calm.

  10. Purplesque says:

    What a wonderful compliment! ( I must remember that.)

  11. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I'm flattered.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Hmm..but I can't usually tell the difference between physicians and patients in the elevator..maybe I need to be more observant as well.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Lol..actually, it does. I may not (yet) like Eu de Freud, but it is bold and new and fascinating.

  14. Purplesque says:

    It is a clinic for several different practices, so you're probably right. I was just surprised she picked it up so easily. She didn't say anything else. She seemed really friendly, and maybe just a little bit intrusive. (I thought for a second, is she manic?, then kicked myself for judging.)

  15. LeendaDLL says:

    I dunno… you're the one that gots it!

  16. then kicked myself for judging.) *grins*

  17. Emjay says:

    You probably exude that kindness/caring/capable air that doctors have.

  18. To be honest, your healing energy comes through your postings too. πŸ™‚ You have a patient and sympathetic essence. It's definitely a good thing.

  19. Purplesque says:

    I hope so, but it sure doesn't feel that way..particularly the capable part. πŸ™‚

  20. Purplesque says:

    Wow…I thought the only thing that came through my postings was that English is my second language. :DThank you so much for the kind words.

  21. Lakshmi says:

    Excellent.In fact, I've never seen you, but I know from here that have that aura (the good type, that is) about you. I think it has something to do with the brilliance and sincerity you exude, even when you are writing about foccasias and posting yummy pictures with the sole intention of pissing me off.

  22. Purplesque says:

    Eesh..I wasn't fishing for compliments, but I love getting them!!lol. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

