One hundred years of books

The local library is celebrating its hundredth anniversary. It is housed in a beautiful old building that used to be the courthouse, and then the post office, before being turned into the public library. There are several great pictures online, but none that are free. I really should go out with the camera one of these days. I did. Couldn't get a good shot because of the rain and the traffic, but here it is.

So of course they challenge us to read a hundred books a year, in exchange for a Gold Library Card.

I'm not sure if it comes with any privileges attached, or if its just made of gold foil.

I want it. Badly.

January was a good month for reading books.

Scottish Folk and Fairy Tales (Penguin Popular Classics) The Night Watch Watch Your Back! (Dortmunder Novels) Suburban Sahibs: Three Immigrant Families And Their Passage from India to America The Chronicles of Conan, Vol. 1: Tower of the Elephant and Other Stories The Defenestration of Bob T. Hash III: A Novel The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao What's So Funny?

February, not so good.

The Old Silent (Richard Jury Mysteries) The Various Flavors of Coffee Ice in the Bedroom

 

Do you think I can rescue March?

Sleeping with Schubert: A Novel The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2008

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to One hundred years of books

  1. You can do ANYTHING!!!!You rock!!Those books look wonderful, really wonderful.A gold library card? Cool!Maybe they'll have special events and you'll be invited. Book signings…lectures…book repair workshops…

  2. Emily says:

    The Gold Library Card is an absolutely fantastic idea. How fun!I have a goal of reading 100 books this year too. Last year I read 87, and 70 in 2007. So even though I read a lot, 100 is still going to be a challenge. I've made a stack by my desk of short books. Some are kid's chapter books that I've been meaning to read (many Newbery winners are in there), and some shorter novels like "The Member of the Wedding" by Carson McCullers. Books that are 100-200 pages. On lazy weekend days, I try to grab one and read the entire thing in one day. Reading these, in combination with the books I normally read that range from 300-500, helps to hit an average of 8 or 9 books per month. Without those short books it'd be really hard for me. I'm at 20 books for the year, so we'll see how I end up! Good luck to you with your goal! You'll have to post a photo of the card if you get it. πŸ™‚

  3. sylph says:

    I think you could most easily get on a track of 2 books a week from this point forward and succeed. That would be 84 books; since you need 85, you could squinch one more in handily enough. How fun!

  4. The gold card is a great idea. And I love that you want it so bad. If you find yourself coming up short you could always alternate novels with graphic novels, too. Wow, I'm excited! You can doo eet!

  5. Waterbaby says:

    lol. we'll know the answer to that question on April 1.

  6. The library looks great! I've been totally enjoying the local public library (I won't know what to do without it). We can all use some more books in the following months.

  7. Vijay says:

    You're superwoman if you can read a 100 books in a year while being a psych resident, blogger & tweeter πŸ™‚

  8. Lakshmi says:

    I second Vijay. How do you do it?

  9. Emjay says:

    You have some interesting looking books there – some nice covers. I think you will do it ! πŸ™‚ I read about 1.5 books per week so I guess no gold card for me!

  10. TBC says:

    I am going to come here for some book recommendations as soon as I finish the huge pile I got from my library! πŸ™‚
    How is the library going to keep track of whether you actually read the books you checked out? πŸ˜‰

  11. Purplesque says:

    Thank you!The big reason I want to do this is because I don't read like I used to..the internet eats into my precious 'book time'. It bothers me.

  12. Purplesque says:

    I like the way you have planned it out. Maybe I'll try something like that. I'm not allowed to include children's books, or books that I did not check out of the library (like Watchmen, which I just finished), so that makes it harder. You'll get to see the gold card. πŸ˜€

  13. Purplesque says:

    Thanks for dropping by! I love the fact that this challenge is making me catalog books read; I'd never gotten around to doing it either. Why don't you join the club?

  14. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..just went to the library and got some good stuff. Its on!

  15. Purplesque says:

    I do want it bad. For some odd reason, graphic novels take me longer. I spent almost two weeks reading Watchmen- guess I like looking at the pictures. πŸ™‚ To add insult to injury, it was a gift and not a library check-out. Thank you for the good luck wishes- I'm going to do it!

  16. Purplesque says:

    You forgot the cooking!Lol..you're right. The blogging and tweeting business really distracts me..it may have to go on the backburner for a while.

  17. Purplesque says:

    In another time and place, I would have been labeled with attention deficit disorder. I constantly have to be doing something, and boredom is a nightmare.According to my colleagues, though, its simpler than that- No kids. lol

  18. Purplesque says:

    1.5 books is not bad at all..right now I'm trailing much behind that. How about a silver one for 75 books? πŸ™‚

  19. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..very good question. I guess they are just going to rely on people being honest…..Don't give me ideas!

  20. "want to keep a record of all the books I read this year,"Not that you asked me, but I recommend http://www.librarything.com/ If you do much facebooking you might prefer http://www.goodreads.com/

  21. sylph says:

    Thank you! I think Facebook is of the devil, but I do actually belong to both those book sites. I get really behind on them, though, and am not sure what I need to do to make it a good routine. I plan to update my good reads thing today, but I have already forgotten some of what I've read over the past month!

  22. I try to go in at least once a month and update them at the same time. I prefer Library Thing, but a lot of my Vox and FB peeps do Goodreads. And I like getting the email updates from GR about what my friends list is reading.(I am here and here.)

  23. I'm sorry. I didn't realize then, but now I see my comment did seem weird. I guess it's just a trying period of time with a lot of self-discovery and healing. Since the "self" is the hardest thing to know, I may have been really overwhelmed and confused. Books have been a huge help along the way. That's why I wrote that comment (but not in such a clear way). I hope it didn't sound too much like an alarm. All in all, things are OK. πŸ™‚

  24. sylph says:

    That seems sensible. I think I'll update them both tonight. And I put links to my various online profiles in a Vox post this afternoon. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

