A little apology, with a long story

Things keep happening in the real world, keeping me from Voxing as usual.

On Friday, I tried to get my credentials verified for when I go out into the adult world. Its a nerve wracking process, and will probably take a few months to complete. After which the even more nerve-wracking visa-job-moving process will begin. Let the fun begin.

Received Peter Reinhart's Whole Grain Breads in the mail. Did not receive Freud's New Lectures. Made a transitional rye hearth bread. Did not make slides for case conference on Thursday.

Had our first American car-wash experience. Tis fun! I can't wait to go back.

Took some shots with the new 55-200mm lens, which we found at Circuit City closing sale at half the price. (Made me feel a bit like a grave robber.)

You knew the pics were coming, didn't you? πŸ™‚

We paired the bread with a hearty vegetable-quinoa-bean soup. The soup is basically a mish-mash of several web-recipes, but it is really good.

Soup recipe

A baking sheet full of roasted veggies. I used one red onion, two zucchini, a carrot, and one orange pepper, tossed with 1 tbsp of olive oil, salt and pepper, and roasted in a 400 degree post-bread-baking oven for 30 minutes.
1/2 cup pinto beans, soaked for a few hours in warm water
1/4 cup quinoa, washed well in warm water (removes the bitterness)
1 tbsp Better than Buillion veggie base (or one buillion cube)
1 cup packed washed baby spinach leaves
1 tsp garam masala
1 cup diced canned tomatoes
1/4 cup fresh herbs (I used sage and oregano)
1 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a presure cooker/heavy pot. Add the quinoa and stir around for a couple of minutes, until toasted. Then add the roasted veggies, beans, tomatoes, veggie base, salt and pepper, and about 6 cups of water. Bring the whole mess to a boil and then simmer, covered, until the beans are tender. (In a pressure cooker this will take about twenty minutes, or two whistles.)

During the last few minutes, add the baby spinach, garam masala and fresh herbs. Serve with warm bread and maybe some cheese. Enjoy. 

I'd like to send one of the pictures above to this month's Click over at Jugalbandi, themed Wood (includes paper, cane). Which one do you like best?

*Edited to add: I'm sending the first picture to Click-wood. Thanks! Not very happy with it, but too lazy to try more.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A little apology, with a long story

  1. Waterbaby says:

    You knew the pics were coming, didn't you? — haha, indeed. Was the car-wash a do-it-yourselfer or through the tunnel? Yeah, heard just the other day that Circuit City's down to the wire so sales should be fantastic! Of the two pics posted? Noooo contest, the bread.

  2. jaklumen says:

    You say you were gone, and yet you make a most awesome post. The soup sounds FANTASTIC, although I will probably modify it to suit our convenience.Oh, and I'd say no shame in making good on liquidation. The prices aren't always the best in town– I must admit I bought nothing from our local Circuit City closeout (all gone now too) because they didn't have anything I needed for cheap enough. But good that you got something you can use πŸ˜‰

  3. Purplesque says:

    It was a tunnel..quite an experience. Followed by DIY vacuuming..not so much fun. lolThe bread pic is better, no doubt, but I wonder if it doesn't highlight wood in the culinary sense the second one does.

  4. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you.Re: Circuit City, I know I shouldn't feel bad about it, but the atmosphere was just..weird. Half empty aisles, temporary employees who obviously didn't care, (and one guy who obviously cared and had developed laryngitis as a result)…it was sad.

  5. jaklumen says:

    Yep, seen the same myself.

  6. Brown Suga' says:

    Oh my God. That soup looks divine.

  7. bee says:

    the first one.

  8. LeendaDLL says:

    i like the 2nd one best.i heard that during the last hour everything left at CircuitCity was 25 cents. Wish I'd known that ahead of time as our local store still had a good amount of portable hard drives left.

  9. I suggest the second one, if only because I want to try the soup recipe. I have a little bag of quinoa sitting in the back of my pantry: I had no idea what to do with it until now. Thank you as always for the vegetarian recipes!

  10. Morgat says:

    I love both pictures, just wanted to say that your bread is never just bread, it's always a work of art. Wow.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Divine..not quite, but close enough. πŸ™‚

  12. Purplesque says:

    25 cents! I should have gone back for that car charger…

  13. Purplesque says:

    I'm glad you liked the recipes.I've had the small box of quinoa sitting in my pantry Forever..the flavor doesn't do anything particular for me, so I'm just going to finish it off in soups and stews. That being said, the soup above is certainly worth trying..it was good!

  14. LeendaDLL says:

    there's a lot of debate about whether anything was actually left in the stores or if the remaining 'decent' merch had been pulled. A week earlier, my store had a LOT of portable hard drives left… enough that I can't imagine them selling in a week. If I knew they went past 40% off, I would have returned – and for 25 cents, I would have cleared them out and started and ebay business!

  15. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..maybe someone else had the same idea. You're probably right, though, about the good stuff being all gone. We did manage to get a wireless all-in-one for 65 bucks!

  16. LeendaDLL says:

    I got a TV tray (goes on top of the TV to hold DVD player – I'm using for my HD adapter & rabbit ears & center speaker for my home theater) for $12 and a couple packs of Lithium batteries.

  17. Oh, gosh I hope all of your "adult world" things get sorted out well and quickly. That must be a drain on you, being concerned about everything. ((((((hugs)))))))The new lens is DANDY!!!! Congrats! And I just heard on the news that one of the Circuit City liquidation managers (for one or two of their stores) has been arrested to stealing electronics from them. At least you paid for it.Car wash!! COOL!! Take pix next time!!!Or make a movie!Your bread and soup are absolutely GORGEOUS. You're making me very hungry. Haaaaaaaa……………!! *runs to eat breakfast*

  18. And I forgot this: no need to apologize!!! I wasn't around either. Heater troubles.

  19. I love the soup recipe and will try it before this week is over. My in-laws are visiting this weekend, so that's my chance of going into the adult world. πŸ™‚ But seriously, I hope everything goes well for you. Visa-job-moving, that sounds scary. The best of luck to you!It was a tough decision, but if pressed, I will have to say the second picture is somehow more like a story, and more human. It's hard to pinpoint the exact feeling. It suffices to say that it speaks to me more.

  20. Purplesque says:

    Thats not bad at all..

  21. Purplesque says:

    πŸ˜€ There was a moment of blue-and-green bubble splatter on the windshield when I absolutely wished we had the camera!Hope the heater trouble is fixed and you had a nice warm breakfast.

  22. Purplesque says:

    Great suggestions..thank you! I can't re-shoot the pic since the bread is long gone, but I could certainly re-crop it. Thinking of doing an entirely different pic anyway..neither of these Really grab my fancy.No fancy editing for me. I try to shoot in natural late afternoon light. The spoon picture was actually taken with an artificial diffuse light apparatus hubby and I rigged up after getting inspired online. Its basically two white light bulbs attached to two vertical stands with a diffuser sheet attached to the stands.

  23. Purplesque says:

    Hmm..The first one is too contrived, isn't it? I'm going to try again on a more inspired day..the weekend was just too hectic to do any justice to pictures.Hope you enjoy the soup. (Thanks for the good luck wishes..I'm going to need all of them. πŸ™‚

  24. Ah, that sounds interesting! I got myself two halogen headlights they use on building sites some weeks ago, and built a sheet from white baking paper. I wanted to use it as a DIY portrait studio corner (found that on the internet, too). But Im unhappy with the colors of the results, it all turns out as an underexposed dull yellowish brown. With the constant rain and grey sky we are having here, I should start again to experiment with indoor photography – and learn more about manual white balance. πŸ™‚

  25. Purplesque says:

    Ah.. halogen lamps might be more yellow. I used those slightly blue tinged lamps they advertise as 'natural light-whiter than soft white bulbs'. Or you could use the energy saving white CFLs. Good luck with white balance..I've played with it some, but it doesn't seem to work very well for me. Maybe I need to practice. πŸ™‚

  26. Emjay says:

    I'm so glad that I have come along so late – it would've been hard for me to choose between the two. I lean towards the bread but I think that's because it looks so good and I would love to try it! But, the soup with the wooden spoon so prominent is probably a better photo for the competition.
    I have dreams (nightmares) of my green card expiring without me noticing and turning up to work only to be taken straight to the airport and deported! LOL.

  27. I'll be on the lookout for those lamps. Thank you for the tip!

  28. Aubrey says:

    I just love the black background of the first photo. The composition is very classic.
    It emphasizes the lovely bread so nicely.
    Isn't the bread basket made of wooden fibers? Or would that be stretching the point too much?

  29. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you.The visa process is Insane. Its the only system here that reminds me of home.

  30. Purplesque says:

    It is, and the point can be stretched that far. That's probably where I'll end up going. πŸ™‚

  31. julie says:

    Your bread is so professional looking. Peter Reinhart himself would be proud!

  32. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you so much.

  33. Jezrich says:

    Hi
    !

    I
    have found your article about Circuit City. You can check out the
    reviews and comments about Circuit City at Pissed Consumer
    website. You might find it interesting.

    Regards,

Leave a Reply

