Sourdough breadsticks and a soup

I love breadsticks. Not the soft white pudgy thingies served at Olive Garden, but the real stuff. Tall, slender, golden brown, crisp. With a hint of Parmigiano Reggiano and spice.

*wipes drool off keyboard*

This was my first time baking them. They are delicious and relatively easy to make. Once the dough is done, you can stick it in the fridge and make fresh breadsticks whenever the fancy strikes you.  Here's a pretty good master recipe. I replaced the yeast in mine with sourdough starter.
 

 

We paired them with an old favorite, curried spinach dal soup. Recipe adapted from here.

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 chopped onion
1 chopped carrot
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon Madras curry powder (I used 1/4 cup Madras tomato chutney)
1 tablespoon ginger-green chilli paste
1 teaspoon ground toasted cumin
1 bay leaf
6 cups water
1/2 cup dried lentils (I used husked mung dal)
10 oz frozen spinach, thawed
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 cup plain nonfat yogurt (Add 1 tbsp lemon juice if yogurt is not sour)

Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add next three ingredients; sauté until golden, about 10 minutes. Stir in curry powder, ginger-chilli paste, cumin and bay leaf. Add water and lentils; bring to boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer uncovered until lentils are tender, about 25 minutes. Add spinach and cilantro; simmer until spinach is wilted, about 5 minutes. Season soup with salt and pepper. Stir in yogurt just before serving.

The breadsticks go to Susan's weekly Yeast Spotting.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sourdough breadsticks and a soup

  1. Waterbaby says:

    them's cute breadsticks, love the curl!

  2. jaklumen says:

    Wow, you seem to be getting a lot of use out of your sourdough starter!I like soft, chewy, "pudgy" breadsticks, though. I'm sure these are good, too, but I still like them.

  3. Emjay says:

    I love crispy breadsticks! I'm sure they tasted great with that delicious sounding soup. The top photo is great.

  4. They look wonderful!And so does that soup. Yum!!!

  5. Aubrey says:

    You are evil! Evil, I tell you!
    Still, ignoring your undoubted wickedness in tormenting us with your culinary magnificence, I have to say that the photo of the curly breadsticks is gorgeous.

  6. IG says:

    These are magnificent. The breadsticks of course but also the soup. Magnificent, I tells ya.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..to be honest, I like them too. But I don't think of them as breadsticks. Bread, yes. Garlic bread, yes. But where's the stick part?

  8. Purplesque says:

    It was. Wish I had some leftovers.

  9. Purplesque says:

    It wasn't me, I swear. It was the evil boy who lives inside my head. I like him, though, coz he shared the breadsticks with me.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thank you so much. I am rather awed by them myself.

  11. MC says:

    Beautiful pictures and delicious crunchy looking gressini. What was the hydration rate of the starter you used in lieu of yeast? I would also be grateful if you could also specify the percentage of starter for 100% flour.I am glad I discovered your blog thanks to Susan's Yeastspotting!

  12. Purplesque says:

    Thanks for stopping by, MC! Isn't YeastSpotting a wonderful way to find bread recipes?I used 50%hydration stiff whole wheat starter. The starter was 30% by weight of total flour and water. These were the weights I used.115 gm bread flour90 gm water90 gram 50% hydration stiff startersalt and pepper1/4 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano1 tbsp herbs1/2 tsp tabasco sauceKnead together everything. I let the dough rise at room temperature (a cold 68 degrees plus sourdough starter- it was a slower rise) for 6 hours and then stuck it in the fridge for a day. Leave at room temp for an hour, cut into breadsticks, and bake in a 375 degee oven for about 15 minutes. I rolled them in cornmeal for the crunch.Hope this helps!

  13. MC says:

    Thank you very much! Just my kind of recipe. I prefer sourdough too…

Leave a Reply

