Party postscript

It was wonderful. Everybody showed up, all the food was ready on time, and there were no major disasters. I had twenty plus people in my living room and everybody huddled together on the sofas and on the carpet. People loved both the movie and the food, and took leftovers home. I completely forgot about taking food pictures. 🙂

Here's a rather awful picture of the leftovers heated for lunch.

Clockwise from top center- chana masala, papad crisps, muthia with Madras tomato chutney, aaloo gobhi, paneer tikka, tabouli, rice pilaf. The bowl in the center has dahi vade, the lentil croquettes in yogurt sauce with tamarind date chutney.

A guest bought a gorgeous red velvet cake.  Both our program director and the chair came with their wives and stayed the entire evening. That's the part I love about this program, small and unpretentious as it is.  People are friendly, they are happy, and they've been here forever. Makes you want to get up in the morning and go to work.

I made a centerpiece out of a bowl of oranges and a vase full of greens. If you're horrified at the price of roses in the grocery store, try the field greens this Valentine's day. They are fresh, cheap, and so much more interesting than the flowers. I found these the day before, and fell in love with the metallic blue color.
 

Happy Valentine's Day!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Party postscript

  1. Aubrey says:

    I completely agree about the greens – what a fine idea for a centerpiece, with colors that are so subtle and unusual.
    That plate of food just makes me shake my head. So much fabulousness, yet so far away.

  2. M-----l says:

    Dang, even your leftovers look delicious.

  3. sylph says:

    That looks really good, especially once it gets chopped at a bit. And I love the green stuff. I do that all the time, just find something out there and bring a bit of it in for a vase. Not much blooming here naturally at any time.

  4. jaklumen says:

    Hooray! I knew you'd do great :-)Happy Valentine's Day to you, too.

  5. Margy says:

    Yum! Nice leftovers, and interesting too!

  6. Waterbaby says:

    i like the greens. it's a nice change from the traditional roses. (not to mention i welcome actions outside the box. 😉 )

  7. homebody says:

    (wiping drool from chin)

  8. I LOVE your eryngium! Eryngium gets me excited.Also, yr leftovers made me lick the screen before I even knew what I was doing.

  9. Purplesque says:

    We must meet someday. I'd love to cook for you.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, M—-I. They look like plain Janes compared to the original platters, but proved to be better company, having had a chance to sit in the fridge and become even better.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Isn't the green stuff amazing? I stuck a couple of long stalks in a wooden bottle (with no water), and they dried out and continue to look fabulous after three months.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. The floodgates have now been opened, and I will probably turn into a party animal. lol

  13. Purplesque says:

    🙂 thanks! And they are nicer on the pocket.

  14. Purplesque says:

    This is the first time I saw Eryngium..isn't it fabulous? I love the metallic colors and how subtle they are.

  15. Emjay says:

    I love the steel colour of Eryngium – that's a great idea. LOL – I'm sorry but I did get a smile out of you forgetting to take photos of your food! Goes to show how busy you were….. the left-overs look great anyway! I'm glad it was a success.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..yes. Guests had already started arriving by the time I had the appetizers on the table, and I thought it would be rather funny to whip out the camera and start taking pictures of the food. 🙂

  17. bee says:

    oh, man you put all those indian eateries in my town to shame. i will be making your chana masala this week. i still haven't figured out how to make that. i don't have anardana, so i'll probably use amchur or sumac.

  18. TWENTY PEOPLE!! Terrific !And it all went well..I'm soooooo happy for you!YAY!!!!!!!! *belatedly tosses party confetti*

  19. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I have a recipe for the actual spice mix somewhere, if you'd like that. Or I could send you some of mine.

  20. Purplesque says:

    whew…yes. I was rather stressed out, considering that All my department would be there at my house, for the first time, and a lot of them were new to Indian food.*jumps up and down catching the confetti*

  21. Lakshmi says:

    Good show. Thank you for not putting up original food pictures on this blog and having some of us want to hit you on the head for being so far away. The left overs are hard enough to resist…

  22. Purplesque says:

    It wasn't a deliberate omission. I like it when you come around and leave death threats on my blog. ;D

  23. *sweeps the floor to clean up the rest of the confetti*

Leave a Reply

