Neighborly update

So I've been running around like a chicken with its head cut off, trying to get things together for the party on Friday night. There is shopping to be done, platters and disposables to be bought, carpets to be vacuumed. Have I mentioned before that I hate shopping?

Anyway, here's the final menu.

Drinks: Mango lassi

Appetizers:

Khakhra (lentil flatbread crisps) with a mint-yogurt dip
Steamed fenugreek muthia (dumplings) with tomato chutney
Paneer tikka with mint-cilantro chutney
Phyllo cups with spinach feta filling (Okay, that's not Indian. Maybe they won't notice.)

Main Course:

Curried chickpeas (chana masala)
Cauliflower-potato curry (aaloo gobhi)
Dahi vade (lentil croquettes in sweet and sour yogurt sauce with tamarind chutney)
Saffron rice
Naans
Tabouli ( See phyllo cups, above)

Dessert:

Hot: Carrot halva
Cold: Rasmalai (cheesy dumplings in a sweet cream sauce)

Pictures will follow.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Neighborly update

  1. Emjay says:

    I wouldn't vacuum until after the party if I was you. Your menu sounds better than scrumptious!!!!!

  2. Lakshmi says:

    I am just going to the travel agent to book my ticket. Will you pick me up from the airport? At least virtually?

  3. Nyght says:

    Yum yum and yum.

  4. A-kay says:

    Can I gate-crash the party? 🙂

  5. Harrumph… I have no plans for friday night, yet. Just thought, I'd mention…and I apologize for drooling over my keyboard…The combination reminds me a bit of the breathtaking variety of meals a university friend of mine used to pull out of his hat in his tiny apartment. Sigh… His parents came from Sri Lanka.

  6. Waterbaby says:

    the menu sounds luscious. (though i still don't agree with the handling of the no-alcohol thing. 😉 ) is the cauliflower potato curry easy to make? — i happened to inherit a head of cauliflower just tonight.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..its going to have to be both before and after. I moved the sofa and found dried pomegranate arils underneath! (2 year old guests)

  8. Purplesque says:

    Absolutely. Then we can have both good food and good conversation. 🙂

  9. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I hope thats what they say!

  10. Purplesque says:

    Absolutely. I keep thinking it would be much more fun with my neighbors and online peeps instead of work colleagues..:)

  11. Purplesque says:

    Come on by. You'd be more than welcome.Funny you mention tiny apartments..the size of my kitchen is going to be the biggest limiting factor. I will have to put all the appliances away just to create space for the platters, and so on.

  12. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Here's the recipe for aloo gobhi.Chop one cauliflower into florets and 4 medium peeled potatoes into 1
    inch pieces. For maximum flavor, deep fry them in hot oil. For a
    healthier version, preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Toss the veggies
    with 1 tbsp vegetable oil, salt and pepper, and spread them out on a
    baking sheet lined with foil. Roast for 30 minutes or until they start
    to brown, flipping once at half-time.In a large saute pan, heat
    1 tbsp oil. Add 1.5 tsp cumin, 3 tsp coriander powder, 1/2 tsp red
    chilli powder, and let them sizzle. Then add 1/4 tsp turmeric, and 2
    tbsp kasoori methi. Give it a stir, and add 1 cup concentrated crushed
    tomatoes (from a can) and 1 tbsp ginger-green chilli paste (or fresh
    chopped ginger and green chillies.) Season with salt and cook, stirring
    occasionally, until the mixture becomes sauce-like, five minutes or so.
    Then add the pre-roasted vegetables and toss gently until covered with
    the sauce. Sprinkle on some garam masala, garnish with fresh cilantro,
    and serve.p.s. A much easier way to cook this to omit the
    roasting, and just cook the veggies on the stove, adding a little bit
    of water to prevent sticking. But I much prefer the flavor that
    roasting/frying gives this dish. Also, you could add one chopped onion
    to the saute pan before adding the spices (and maybe some garlic), and saute it until
    caramelized. I usually omit the onion and garlic.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Oh, and I forgot. Kasoori methi is a spice made of dried fenugreek leaves, available in the spice section of any Indian grocery store. Its optional, but I like the flavor.

  14. Waterbaby says:

    yes, that caught my attention; i was gonna pose an inquiry, then figured i could research it myself. i don't think there's an indian grocery store within 10 miles of my town, lol! asian supplies and foods, though, *those* are easily found!! lol

  15. dewitte says:

    That sounds so healthy AND delicious.

  16. WOWOWOW!!!Sounds wonderful!!!!!!!

  17. Aubrey says:

    I almost want to be excluded from the photos. Images of all that magnificent food, just out of my grabby reach, is guaranteed to break my heart.

  18. Purplesque says:

    🙂 It was. I exhausted myself cooking, but everyone loved the food so much it was worth every minute.

  19. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..you should have asked for something else! I completely forgot to take pictures. The platters of food stayed unshot, though not uneaten.

  20. Karen Lynn says:

    did you save me some mango lassi? was the party wonderful?

  21. Purplesque says:

    😀 The lassi was the first to run out. The party was quite a success, I think.

Leave a Reply

