Question

Would you go to a party if the food was Indian vegetarian and there would be no alcohol served? (Assume, of course, that you are unaware of my awesome cooking skills.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Question

  1. IG says:

    Of course. Sounds yummy.

  2. M-----l says:

    I would definitely go to that party…provided it was within walking distance of my house. (It's too icy to drive right now.)

  3. LeendaDLL says:

    Yes.But I also know people who wouldn't. But I figure they're best left behind anyway.

  4. Drude says:

    I would come, but I don't drink anyways, and I loff veggie food, so I might not be the right person to ask. – I know MEN who wouldn't go unless there was big chunks of meat involved.

  5. Dai says:

    I would! All the food, whatever the foods, will all be so flavourful!

  6. Aubrey says:

    Yes. YES. It would be all kinds of marvelous.

  7. Waterbaby says:

    heck no! that was my initial response. on second thought, i'm changing my vote. i would. i'd just hook a flask to my belt.

  8. Oink says:

    Absolutely, yes. Shall I get myself a nice dress? 😉

  9. One of the reasons I stopped socializing is that I don't drink any more and it's such a big part of parties and get-togethers here. I don't like to eat dead animals these days. [And before anyone else reading these comments says anything, not live ones, either.]So it sounds PERFECT to me.If you're planning a gathering for people and worrying about this, my advice would be not to mention the lack of booze ahead of time and let them find out when they arrive. I tried to have a party a few years ago, before which I told people "no alcohol," and several arrived tipsy. One person brought his own. One couple turned me down at the last minute. The remaining ones didn't mind, once things got going, and told me later that it was actually nicer that way…to be able to remember the party and to wake up the next day feeling good. Of them, the moderate drinkers (the ones who have only a glass of wine now and then) didn't care at all.YOU'RE the bright spot of your party. Anyone who needs more probably isn't worth worrying about. Or doesn't know you very well. The food will be a lovely and delicious addition. They're lucky to have the opportunity to experience it. However, I wouldn't make a big deal of telling them ahead of time what you won't be serving. Like the alcohol, it's not a critical thing for them, to gobble carcasses slathered in gravy. They can arrive expecting whatever they expect, and find your WONDERFUL food. If anyone desperately needs to munch on cow flesh he or she can stop somewhere on the way home. Wow, I sound annoying.But I really do think that your presence (and A's?) should be sufficient. Food is extra. The mix of neat friends is the party part. All the other "requirements" that many people seem to have (the alcohol and yucky food) really aren't required. And you don't need to warn them ahead of time. Anyone who is THAT disappointed probably isn't someone you should be concerned about. *runs to the mailbox to search for her invitation*

  10. Oink says:

    Oh that's funny – 'not live ones either'.

  11. Nyght says:

    HELL yes! I am salivating at the thought!

  12. Karen Lynn says:

    Oh yes, is this an invitation? I'm so there! And you know I'm not a veggie, but to be in a gathering where there were friends and no alcohol would be my dream party! I'm thinking GAMES! Have you played "catch phrase"? It is an awesome party game! I so wish I had sober people in my real life.

  13. Morgat says:

    I really really like Pumpkin's response. I would be delighted to go to a party where there was no alcohol involved, because people tend to look a little askance when one says "no thank you, I don't drink".
    I hardly ever socialize anymore because of all my food allergies — it gets so tiresome to have to ask "what's in this?" "what's in this?" Allergies are a royal pain. Especially when one sees a whole bunch of yummy food.
    I'm with pumpkin — they don't need to know ahead of time, do they?

  14. Karen Lynn says:

    I too hate the "no thank you, I don't drink" reply…at least once people get to know me they know not to ask, but it still kind of puts me on the spot when someone will say "Karen doesn't drink alcohol, lets make her a virgin". But then again I am proud to be a nondrinker. Especially being the ONLY nondrinker I know makes me feel special. I don't understand why people can't be happy and have a good time without it.

  15. Ana Karin says:

    Of course I would go. I guess I never even think about what will be (or not) served at a party that I am invited to. All that stuff is extra, and left to the discretion of the host. If there is alcohol, OK then I may have some if I feel like it. If not, that is OK too. If there is steak, I'll have some. If there are only veggies and dip, I'll have that. The point is to spend time with friends. On a separate note, I like to bring something to the party. Usually it is a bottle of wine or a box of candies/chocolates. One occasion I brought a bottle and I was informed that the host did not drink. That was awkward. Now I ask if I can bring something to complement the evening if I don't know the host very well. Seems to work pretty well.

  16. jaklumen says:

    Assume, of course, that you are unaware of my awesome cooking skills.Referencing what Pumpkin said, it might also be easier to not specifically mention the food is Indian vegetarian. Why should you have to? Two reasons I can think of, in my experience:1. Some people have preconceived notions about veggie dishes and vegetarianism2. My interpretation of the guest/host relationship is that the guest graciously accepts what the host offers. If they are going to have a problem with that, well, they might not be the best company.Better to simply have them be pleasantly surprised. Along with the alcohol, if they don't like it and complain, well, maybe they won't be invited the next time?You know how I feel about veggie dishes– if they are well prepared, that's great 🙂 I know I should be eating more vegetables anyways. I've probably mentioned my stance on alcohol– it is partly a religious thing, but I realized it was not for me. I don't get uptight about it that I can tell– if people want to drink and smoke and eat a certain way around me, I'm not going to be terrifically bothered, as long as they show me the same courtesy when I don't do the same, especially in my own home.Oh… have a good time if you decide to have that party. I'm sure you'll be the consummate host if your posts so far have been any indication 😉

  17. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! I've been mulling over this for a while, so its good to get my neighbors' opinion.

  18. Purplesque says:

    Ah, the weather is another factor. We have had ice on the roads as well. ( I must be the only person who drives instead of walking when there is ice on the road.)

  19. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! This is a semi-official Movies and mental illness night anyway, which makes it weird. Not quite a personal invitation, and not quite an office event.

  20. Purplesque says:

    Yeah..I know men like that, and men who pretend they can't hold a decent conversation without the aid of alcohol. Such a pity. 🙂

  21. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha. If this ever happens, you can rest assured there will be pictures, recipes and blog posts dissecting everything. The internets are for us neurotics.

  22. Purplesque says:

    The response to this question makes me crave a Vox get together. It would be all kinds of marvelous, indeed, to have us all together.

  23. Purplesque says:

    😀 I have another close friend just like you. He lives next door, and has offered to keep his 'bar' open for any wandering guests of mine.

  24. Purplesque says:

    By all means. The dress code is extreme-winter-super-casual. 🙂

  25. Waterbaby says:

    Your neighbor sounds like someone I'd want as one.

  26. Purplesque says:

    Thank you for the good advice. It makes sense. I'd be Pissed if somebody came to our home tipsy. I'm a very light drinker myself, but A is a strict teetotaler and not comfy with the idea of serving alcohol in our house. I argue with him, of course, for the sake of argument, but I'd like to respect his sentiments.The food should not be an issue. Most people here LOVE Indian food, and it being vegetarian shouldn't matter. If it does, oh well, too bad. :D*mails in your invite, with extra sparkles*

  27. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thanks for the aye!

  28. Purplesque says:

    Thank you for the comment, Karen. You just made me realize that I'm actually lucky to be in an alcohol-free environment.I'll keep a special bowl of extra-hot chillies out for you. No games, coz this is a Movies and Mental Illness night. I'll take movie suggestions, though. 😀

  29. Purplesque says:

    No, they certainly don't. Thanks for the advice!I hear you about the allergies things. I always have to check whether there is 'meat, meat broth, fish, eggs' in everything I order. Vegetables and other sides are quite often cooked in animal fat or meat broth, and many people don't consider seafood and poultry to be meat.Surprised by the askance at people not drinking..I'd consider that bad manners, at the very least.

  30. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! Thats sort of why I was thinking of announcing the veg/non-alcoholic thing. I could easily use a bottle of alcohol in cooking or take it to my neighbors, but if somebody brought food with meat in it, that would be uncomfortable. Maybe I'll just slip in the word..:)

  31. Purplesque says:

    Thanks, Jak! I hope so, too. So far we've had small gatherings, and people always seem to enjoy themselves.I'm not really concerned with food. Most people I know enjoy good food, vegetarian or not. The alcohol thing does bother me a little bit, but certainly the success of a party shouldn't depend on that.I will try to keep #2 in mind. 🙂

  32. Purplesque says:

    He is a good friend, and good company. Unfortunately he equates entertainment with alcohol. Mostly, though, I can mislead him with homemade dessert. 🙂

  33. Waterbaby says:

    I don't equate entertainment with alcohol. However, I do equate kindly letting guests knows what's what with graciousness.

  34. Purplesque says:

    Point taken, Wb. I think everybody has their own approach to entertaining, though this is certainly one sphere where I would go with popular opinion.

  35. Brown Suga' says:

    Now I've got a new take on this…I say, don't let anyone know about lack of meat or alcohol, because those items are not absolutely necessary and meat-eaters can eat veggie food
    as well. On the other hand, it's necessary to inform people if meat dishes are being served, because vegetarians would be caught in an awkward situation if
    they go to a party and find there are hardly any vegetarian dishes for them.Also, if I were the host, I would definitely not mind if a guest calls to find out what's being served (and keeps it a secret!) That is acceptable in the case of vegetarian preferences, or food allergies. Any good host will definitely make some dishes especially for her vegetarian friends, even if she is a meat eater. However, a host cannot be expected to cater to allergies, so that is the responsiblity of the guest alone.(Of course, if the veggie guests are the type who faint or retch at the sight
    of meat, or the meat-eating guests will throw a tantrum if they can't have a chicken leg, they're better off not being invited!)

  36. Brown Suga' says:

    I forgot to say – enjoy the party, and if you figure out a way to teleport the leftovers, please do so.

  37. Purplesque says:

    You know what Su, I think thats what I am going to do. We'll see what happens, and if it flops, I'll call it a social experiment. lolRe: veggie eaters who faint at the sight of meat, its funny how all of them adapt very well to the American way of food, where meat is always present, and the same griddle is used for tofu burgers and hamburgers. *evil laughter*

  38. Purplesque says:

    *Goes to check the batteries on the teleporter*

  39. homebody says:

    Absolutely! Did/will you serve anything with cauliflower? I only like cauliflower cooked with Indian spices, and then I love it.

  40. Purplesque says:

    Absolutely! Cauliflower and potatoes, roasted and then curried. (I've had requests for it already. 🙂

  41. homebody says:

    Aloo gobi? (heartheartheart)

  42. Purplesque says:

    Yes! (Can't send food over the internets, damn them, but I'll gladly post my favorite recipe, if you like to cook.)

  43. homebody says:

    The recipe would be awesome if you felt like posting it. Yum!

  44. Purplesque says:

    Here is my new favorite way of making aloo gobhi. The one spice that really makes it is kasoori methi, or dried fenugreek leaves available in the spice section in any Indian store. You can certainly make it without it, though.Chop one cauliflower into florets and 4 medium peeled potatoes into 1 inch pieces. For maximum flavor, deep fry them in hot oil. For a healthier version, preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Toss the veggies with 1 tbsp vegetable oil, salt and pepper, and spread them out on a baking sheet lined with foil. Roast for 30 minutes or until they start to brown, flipping once at half-time.In a large saute pan, heat 1 tbsp oil. Add 1.5 tsp cumin, 3 tsp coriander powder, 1/2 tsp red chilli powder, and let them sizzle. Then add 1/4 tsp turmeric, and 2 tbsp kasoori methi. Give it a stir, and add 1 cup concentrated crushed tomatoes (from a can) and 1 tbsp ginger-green chilli paste (or fresh chopped ginger and green chillies.) Season with salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until the mixture becomes sauce-like, five minutes or so. Then add the pre-roasted vegetables and toss gently until covered with the sauce. Sprinkle on some garam masala, garnish with fresh cilantro, and serve.p.s. A much easier way to cook this to omit the roasting, and just cook the veggies on the stove, adding a little bit of water to prevent sticking. But I much prefer the flavor that roasting/frying gives this dish. Also, you could add one chopped onion to the saute pan before adding the spices, and saute it until caramelized. I usually omit the onion.Hope this is useful. 🙂

  45. Emjay says:

    I would gladly come. I enjoy wine but it is not the "be all and end all" of an occasion.

  46. homebody says:

    Thank you, SO much, for such descriptive instructions. I can't wait try this! I am lucky to live near an Indian grocery and it's nice to have an excuse to go look for a spice I've never tried before.

  47. Scott says:

    I'd be delighted to attend such a party! But I would welcome being told in advance about the menu so I would know whether there'd be things I could eat.
    I am unfortunately allergic to certain ingredients that are widely used in vegetarian cooking, so I have to watch my step. (I also have other medically-imposed dietary restrictions, though they are usually less of a problem in such situations.)
    I don't drink these days, but even when I did, I would never have skipped a party because there wouldn't be alcohol. And perhaps telling people it's non-alcoholic would prevent them from bringing bottles of wine and expecting them to be opened.

  48. Purplesque says:

    Allergies..certainly hadn't thought of that. Most invites I have seen casually mention the type of food (or lack thereof) and alcohol to be served. Feels like a safe bet. ( Its a work gathering, and I don't expect anyone to show up tipsy.) Thanks!

  49. Lakshmi says:

    I don't drop in to check the flow of gastronomic temptations for a week, and see what happens. Bah !But yeah, hope you had fun (or will have fun, if it is in the future)… and if that teleporter is ready, I am too.

  50. Oh, sure! I will absolutely go. I love Indian vegetarian food and abhor alcohol. Where and when??

  51. Purplesque says:

    Sometime in the next two weeks. There will be blog posts. Consider this your final warning.

  52. Purplesque says:

    🙂 The house next door, as soon as we move in. p.s. The thought for cooking for another foodie is so tempting. A likes what I cook, but I can't really discuss merits of grilled vs. steamed tempeh and flour flavors with him.

  53. Lakshmi says:

    Of course, I know. So, no more visiting vox on an empty stomach. If at all, in future, I decide to relocate (or even visit) US, I'll be sure to be your neighbour. Consider yourself fore-warned too.

  54. Purplesque says:

    I like people who like to eat. If I could just replace my real neighborhood with the Vox hood..it would be all kinds of cool. Come on over.

  55. Dai says:

    If I could replace my neighbourhood with vox neighbourhood, it'd be a party all the time! Sans the cute neighbour boy…

Leave a Reply

