Snow, and a bit of color

This morning, I opened the door to leave, and found at least a foot of snow. It was like a huge new blanket, and for a moment I couldn't figure out how A had managed to go to work. Then I realized his foot prints had been filled in by fresh snow. Resisting the urge to fall down on my knees and build a snowman at our very doorstep, I went to work.

They declared a holiday.

It was awful for the few patients who had already shown up and had to go back, unseen, but apparently all those who live up (or down) the hills couldn't even get out of their houses. So we had no senior docs in the department. One poor residency candidate who had come for an interview was stuck in his hotel, too.

I came back home and settled down on the couch with my book and my tea and my view.

Now the snow has started to melt, and  its Reallly cold outside. Inside, however, life goes on.

Stay warm and cozy, people!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Snow, and a bit of color

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    You didn't return home and build a snowman to block the doorway?!?Get/keep warm!!

  2. I wish I could send you some warm air from Florida. The weather got a lot warmer two days ago. Stay warm inside and make a nice pot of hot soup for yourself. πŸ™‚

  3. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I baked a rye bread instead. Sure sign of old age. πŸ™‚

  4. Purplesque says:

    Warm weather in January? Ah well, its Florida. :)Soup. I made red cabbage soup. Its rather disappointing..boiled cabbage just doesn't do it for me. 😦

  5. Maybe you can try making stuffed cabbages next time. I love them!

  6. You were VERY strong, not to stop and build a snowperson!!And gosh you had a lot of snow!Sorry about all the people who were without treatment, and for your trip out. But I'm glad you had a quiet day to enjoy the loveliness!

  7. Do workers still get paid on snow holidays? It sounds like a great cost to the economy all this down time

  8. Emjay says:

    What a lovely view you have and that eggling pot is gorgeous! I have never done a snow angel; have you? I think if I had that much snow and was about to come into the warmth I would like down in it!

  9. jaklumen says:

    Yum yum, stuffed cabbages πŸ™‚

  10. jaklumen says:

    We had a little snow again but nothing all that much. Seems a lot of North America is still getting pelted by snow, however.So that eggling pot is a kit, right? Pretty sure I have seen them before.

  11. Purplesque says:

    πŸ˜€ It was a nice day. I got a lot of work (and bread-baking) done. I felt bad for the patients, but everybody took calls at home and tried to take care of stuff.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Hmm..I imagine they do. This hasn't happened here since the 70s, and I've only been here a couple of years, so don't really know. But I see your point..

  13. Purplesque says:

    Snow angel..that sounds so much better than snowman! I made one, back when I first saw snow. We had gone on a trip to the mountains with a group of college friends. There was Lots of snow, and even skiing involved. Lying down in the snow? Yes!

  14. Purplesque says:

    Yes, it is a kit. Comes with the egg, the little plate, and some extra seeds. Hubby gave me three as a done-well-in-exams gift. :)You like stuffed cabbage, too? Is it the same concept as stuffed grape leaves?

  15. jaklumen says:

    Is it the same concept as stuffed grape leaves?Basically, yeah.

  16. Morgat says:

    Around here, people make cabbage rolls, stuffed with a rice and meat mixture, and with tomatoey sauce on top… they're an Eastern European thing, I think. I also googled the Ukrainian or Polish name for them, Holopchi (spelling may vary). Some people use fresh cabbage (boiled) and some people use pickled/sour cabbage. It wasn't one of our family traditions, but I've had them other places — I like the filling, but I'm not keen on cooked cabbage…

  17. Morgat says:

    … apparently, some people also use beet leaves — I've never encountered those in real life, but I bet I'd like them better than the cabbage version!

  18. jaklumen says:

    I have. They are worth trying.

  19. Purplesque says:

    Hmm..I don't much like boiled cabbage either. But maybe if I roasted the leaves in the oven, just to soften them up. Sounds interesting. Have not seen beet leaves big enough for rolls!In India, colocasia leaves are used to make rolls, stuffed with a spicy chiclpea paste, then sliced and deep fried/steamed. Heavenly.

  20. Purplesque says:

    Will do. Sometimes I think I won't run out of things to try even if I made a new recipe each day.

  21. jaklumen says:

    Congratulations, you said the magic word: 'steamed'.When I made stuffed cabbages, steaming seemed to yield better results.

  22. love the little egg!waaah, i can't believe you guys got a holiday!! further up north here they never cut us any slack. in fact when we had the worst blizzards and the governor declared a state of weather emergency our hospital still wrote, on their main web page, that we were expected to come , and to use our hospital ID badges if necessary to get through any roads that were prohibited from travel.

  23. Karen Lynn says:

    Oh I love your little egg! And thank you for sharing the picture of the Capitol in the snow! What an awesome view you have out your door gf! :))

  24. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

