Just had to post this!

Its that time of the year again. There are all those resolutions (eat healthy, exercise, don't snort), and I have tons of romaine lettuce in the fridge. There are only so many ways you can eat romaine, right?

Until twitter. Susan from the fat free vegan kitchen mentioned making grilled romaine with white balsamic vinegar. I took it from there. Grilled strawberries and romaine with a balsamic reduction. Great salad, perfect dessert with a dollop of icecream (nix the lettuce). Easy and uttterly delicious.

All you really need for this recipe is a good, aged balsamic vinegar. This is one expensive foodstuff you will not regret buying. I keep mine in a dark closet and guard it with my life, except when I'm dipping my finger in it.

For the reduction, I took 1/4th cup of dark balsamic, placed it in a small saucepan on the stove, brought it to a simmer, turned the heat off and left it on the stove. Ten minutes later, a thick, creamy, super-yum balsamic reduction that could be dessert on its own.

Grill halved romaine hearts and strawberries (I stuck them under the broiler for a minute), drizzle the vinegar over and just eat.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Just had to post this!

  1. Waterbaby says:

    lol, this recipes combines two of my least favorite foods/flavors, vinegar and strawberry. regardless, interesting concept. envisioning little pieces of torn romaine, i was wondering how they'd survive the heat, then see it's a chunk, very cool.

  2. Grilled romaine!!!!!!! So cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!I never would have thought to do that. Brava!!

  3. TBC says:

    The strawberry- balsamic comination is utterly fabulous! We have it for dessert (along with whipped mascarpone) regularly when strawberries are in season here. Haave to try grilling the strawberries the next time. πŸ˜€

  4. CliffhangerB says:

    That's a pretty unusual combo there, will have to try it.

  5. This looks like a perfect combination! I love the roasting idea. Red and green, and the dark vinegar, you've got everything on one plate. A great salad and dessert!

  6. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I'm not a big fan of strawberries either, but Everything tastes amazing with reduced balsamic.

  7. Purplesque says:

    πŸ˜€ thank you!! If I remember right, you love lettuce, don't you?

  8. Purplesque says:

    Whipped mascarpone..oh my God, you are cruel. πŸ˜€

  9. Purplesque says:

    Unusual but oh so good. I hope you like it!

  10. Waterbaby says:

    but ya gotta like balsamic for that to work, lol!

  11. Aubrey says:

    I have to have balsamic vinegar in my kitchen; but I've never bought the prime, luxe, $180 per bottle kind. That type of rarefied balsamic is thick, sweet and just a drop on a shaving of parmigiano reggiano I hear is heavenly.
    The thought of it paired with strawberries is tantalizing indeed!

  12. Purplesque says:

    I don't know..maybe you would like the combination? πŸ˜€

  13. Purplesque says:

    Oh, no, mine isn't that expensive! We bought one bottle of 16 year aged Balsamic in Maine. (It was about 40 bucks, I think.) It is relatively thick and sweet to the point I don't mind licking it on its own or drizzling a few drops on my icecream. Tart, but not 'vinegary'.I wonder what the prime version would taste like.

  14. bee says:

    brilliant. i use pomegranate molasses now in lieu of balsamic in every recipe. i get a pure version with no additives from the afghan store.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Pomegranate molasses..need to get my hands on that.

  16. Dai says:

    This looks so good! I can't wait to get home to try it out!

  17. Purplesque says:

    Hope you like it as much as we did!

  18. Emjay says:

    What an interesting combination. Sounds pretty good though – and healthy!

  19. Purplesque says:

    Yes, its an odd bird, isn't it?(Tell me, do you like vegemite? How do you like it best?)

  20. Yes! I do like lettuce a lot…the frilly green one and Romaine and that one with dark red leaf ends. Next time the produce place has some Romaine that looks good but won't last long, I'll get it and grill it. Maybe I'll FINALLY get out my wok. I keep saying I will but never do. Romaine might do the trick!

  21. Emjay says:

    I'm not a huge vegemite fan. I do keep some in the cupboard and I like it on toast soldiers when I'm sick! It's pure comfort food. We mostly grew up with Bovril which is similar but runnier – it is British and can also be made into a warming drink (I have never known anyone to make a warm drink from vegemite). Bovril seems to be "smoother" … ..

Leave a Reply

