Soup and Bread

The sourdough experiments continue. My strategy now is to approach bread recipes just like I do non-baked goods. Pick what you like and modify what you don't. Seems to working so far. πŸ™‚

The Norwich Sourdough recipe over at the Wild Yeast Blog sold me completely. Susan had already modified it from a 125% hydration to 100%. I used my stiff starter (50% hydration), using less starter, more water, and hoping for the best. The loaves turned out beautiful.

The bread has a crisp, crackly crust and a big, holey crumb. While it has a good sourdough flavor, I prefer the whole wheat flour-rye combination more than white flour-rye. We paired the bread with a winter-worthy roasted squash and corn soup.

The soup recipe is a (big) modification of this one. You will need:

1 large butternut squash, chopped into approximately 4 cup big chunks and 2 cups small dice
1 large sprig rosemary
2 cups frozen corn, thawed
1 inch piece fresh ginger
1 tbsp orange/lemon zest
salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp maple syrup
2 tsp garam masala
1 tbsp olive oil

– Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees.
– To a soup pot, add the large chunks of squash, rosemary, ginger and bring it to a boil. Season with salt and pepper, cover and simmer until squash is very tender.
– Toss the diced squash and corn with olive oil and maple syrup and spread it on a baking sheet. Roast in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until they are nice and golden.
– Puree the squash in the pot, then add half of the roasted veggies, the zest and the garam masala. Simmer for another five minutes.
– Ladle into bowls, top with some more roasted veggies, and serve.

Lets just say I'm drooling at the thought of leftovers for lunch tomorrow. The Norwich Sourdough goes to Susan for the weekly YeastSpotting.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Soup and Bread

  1. Brown Suga' says:

    The bread is gorgeous. And I love corn soup.(Squash = "louki"?)

  2. Waterbaby says:

    Looks like a nice soup from the recipe. More "springlike" than I'd like for winter; gonna bookmark for revisit around March-April.

  3. Purplesque says:

    Hey! Good to see you! Lauki is more like the summer squash. Winter squash behaves like kaddu and tastes somewhat like sweet potato after roasting.

  4. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Anything with that much garam masala automatically becomes winter-worthy for me, but I bet it will taste even better with fresh corn.

  5. Brown Suga' says:

    It does look like kaddu (yellow pumpkin.) Yummy!

  6. Waterbaby says:

    you're right, the g. masala's warming; the combination of remaining herbs/flavorings, the various sugars bring a lighter "springy" quality. imagine it goes rather well with that bread.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Well enough that I'm still thinking of dinner. Help! πŸ™‚

  8. Waterbaby says:

    lol lol. bon appetit! once it's figured out.

  9. LeendaDLL says:

    I have zero understanding of the hydration percentages (I've never been able to correctly make bread by hand – but I still loved the "bagel loaf" i created) but your bread looks VERY nummy.c'mon, you know you want to move in down the block from me. i'll pay you for these nummy meals!!

  10. MAGNIFICENT bread!!!!!OOO
    O that soup looks wonderful too!*grips the bread in her mouth, grabs the soup, and skeeeeedaddles*

  11. Wow, you did it so fast! The bread looks really gorgeous! I will have to make it now. Hopefully I can have some sourdough bread soon. This is really great!

  12. Purplesque says:

    I would move next to you in a heartbeat! But I need to finish my residency, just in case my primary vocation as a cook fails and I have to play doctor..:)Bagel loaf sounds interesting..how did you do that?

  13. Purplesque says:

    Be careful..that is hot!!:) Thank you.

  14. Purplesque says:

    I took me about 24 hours (from expanding the starter overnight to twice-proofing the bread) in all. Not bad for a sourdough. I'd love to see some bread on your blog..maybe we could exchange tips!

  15. LeendaDLL says:

    It was a long time ago but I think it involved not activating the yeast correctly. The loaf didn't rise during baking and the resulting texture was really dense – just like a bagel. It tasted great!

  16. Emjay says:

    Fabulous looking bread Purple! Your experiments look great!

  17. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Alls well that tastes well in the end.

  18. Purplesque says:

    Thanking you kindly, Emjay! I loved making this one..practically sat in front of the oven the whole time, watching the bread expand (and squealing now and then).

  19. Morgat says:

    This soup looks fantastic! I'll have to make some alterations, due to my allergies and diet restrictions, but I know I'm gonna love it!

  20. kt_krazy says:

    the crust on that bread looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

