The week past, and savory mung pancakes

Life has been crazy lately. There's work, increasingly hectic but rewarding. There's housework, which never ends. There's paperwork, which I hate. And there is the cold, blanketing everything, making simple pleasures like walking to work almost impossible. ( I tried, and sprained my ankle.)

No wonder most of my patients get depressed this time of the year.

Anyway, those were all my excuses for not keeping in touch. Here's a recipe for mung pancakes. They are savory, they are golden, they can be stuffed with anything you like. In short, they are perfect.

For the pancakes, soak 1 cup of mung dal (the split, husked beans) in enough water to cover for at least two hours (or overnight). Then drain and reserve most of the water, and grind the dal in a food processor, along with some ginger and green chillies. Add a teaspoon of crushed cumin, 1/4 tsp of turmeric, salt and pepper, maybe some chopped cilantro. Add enough soaking water to make a pancake batter.

Make pancakes They won't fluff up like regular pancakes, and will be a bit thicker than French crepes. Crisp on the outside and relatively soft inside. 1 cup of dal will make about 6.

For the stuffing, I heated 1 tbsp of oil, added cumin, coriander, turmeric, red chilli powder, 1 cup of thawed frozen peas and 1/2 a cup of crumbled paneer (cottage cheese). Then I stirred it around for about five minutes and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Add a few tablespoons of stuffing to each pancake and serve them with any kind of chutney/salsa/ketchup.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The week past, and savory mung pancakes

  1. ooooooooooooooo………………………looks DEEEEEEEdicious!! And warm!!I *crawls inside the pancake tube and chews her way out*You sprained your ankle? O!!! 'm so sorry!! That's a painful thing, many times.And can interfere with lots of kinds of movement. (((gentlehugs)))I just put up a begonia picture in a post……maybe it will make your day warmer? shot it yesterday, in some sunshine.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I wouldn't mind crawling inside that pancake myself! Do you have room?(The sprain is not too bad..but I hate not being able to walk much.)The begonia is stunning..how did you get that amazing dark background in the sun? I love it.

  3. Ah ha! I just bought a package of mung dal, mainly because the store was out of split red lentils. But I actually have all of the ingredients for your recipe in my kitchen, so I know what I'm having for supper later today! Thank you!I hope your ankle feels better. I don't know about where you live, but it's so icy out here that I've given up on walking outside for now. I don't want to become one of those people who drive to the mall just to walk around in circles, but not moving around in the winter is both depressing and diet-busting. Think spring and dry sidewalks!

  4. Purplesque says:

    …not moving around in the winter is both depressing and diet-busting…Exactly! It is quite cold here (4-5 degrees) and very icy on the roads. I really enjoy walking to work by the foggy river, but it is getting quite dangerous. Good luck with the pancakes..these are my absolute favorite. Hope you like them.

  5. These pancakes look really good! I've been feeling rather depressed too, just because of the season, I guess. I don't feel like doing anything much, and it's still very sunny here. Strange… I hope all is well with you. Spring will come soon, I hope.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Maybe its the lassitude in the air. I certainly feel it.

  7. Do you have room? Yep! I just gnawed my way through one side and made a little enclosed sunporch area! O, that not walking thing is frustrating!!! Some is good, though. Keeps it healing evenly. Well, that's how I see it. And I'm the Great Ankle-Destroyer. I was doing a lot of going up and down the steps today and at one point I was distracted, and put my injured foot down on the top step all by itself, like normal, instead of one-at-a-time to keep it straight and not get my full weight on it. DUMB!! I didn't hurt (which is great) but I think it's too soon to do steps that way (on the way down; going up normally is fine).. On the other hand, not realizing I was doing that tells me that the foot is getting better. YAY!Do you have slippery areas there? Where you have to walk? Thank you about the begonia! I shot it close up and let the chest of drawers that was behind it blur out. Plus, I used Manual. There are a couple other shots with different settings that have washed out flowers and a brighter background.

  8. Waterbaby says:

    never have cared for mung beans myself but the filling sounds oh-so-good! like the combination of spices.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Oo..I hope your ankle gets better fast. It is so frustrating to have limited movement. Mine is better today..took medication yesterday and even did some exercise on the stationary bike (with good shoes.)There is usually snow/ice on the little byroad that I walk on, so I'm going to get snow boots or something like that. šŸ™‚

  10. Purplesque says:

    The cumin+coriander+turmeric+red chilli powder is the basic spice combo for most everyday North Indian vegetable dishes. For lentils I add some asfoetida as well, and in winters most dishes get a sprinkling of garam masala in the end.

  11. Yay for healing!! I'm glad you're doing better.Boots are good….

  12. Emjay says:

    That looks delicious even though I'm not keen on mung beans. Please be careful of your feet and ankles! (I'm going to turn into a broken record on that!). I have (almost) seriously considered buying those spike things that you just wrap onto the soles of shoes to give them "grip" in the ice – I am so paranoid about anything happening to my feet now! BTW – I have what is now called a "functional" foot – it has 11 degrees of movement now. I have not used my walking stick for 2 days! LOL – still can't do the downstairs thing though – so frustrating!

  13. Purplesque says:

    No walking stick and 11 degrees of motion. That's great news! I'm so glad its almost over. The spike things..crampons? Wouldn't be a bad idea..maybe thats what I need. šŸ™‚

  14. Waterbaby says:

    sounds delish just reading! yes, i'm a fan of indian flavors. tumeric is one of my very favorite spices (all of this following asian food, of course).

  15. Purplesque says:

    I've never tried making these with whole mung. They must have taken a lot longer to soak! Glad they turned out well.About the gram flour pancakes..they should be no more sticky than the ones above. I would omit the egg and milk. I've had sticky pancakes after trying to add milk to the batter.

  16. Yes, I had them soak over night, otherwise the pancakes would have been a bit much to chew on. The rest of the beans looks very nice in a jar on my shelf in the kitchen. :DI thought that the egg and milk might have been the problem. I'll give it another try. Thank you for adding new ideas to my cooking!

  17. Tried the gram flour pancakes again, without egg and milk, this time, and I made the batter thinner. Worked out very nicely, this time! I used tofu sour cream, raw carrot salad and cashew nuts as stuffing.

  18. Purplesque says:

    šŸ™‚ Yay! The stuffing sounds delicious..maybe I will try that next time.

Leave a Reply

