The sourdough experiments- part two

Scraped all most of the starter off the walls.

Found the bottle under the sink. It had a couple of tbsp of starter left in it. Fed the starter, using 1:1 volume ratio of flour and water instead of the recommended 1:1 weight ratio.

Resisted the impulse to drink the alcohol formed as a result and poured it down the drain. Fed the starter.

Looked for recipes. Got confused. Looked some more. Got worse.

Berated self. So, you were the organic chemistry genius, yes?

Found a recipe written in straight English.

Decided to give up the quest for perfection and just enjoy myself. Here are the results.

Scoring tip: Use a scalpel.

This has to be one of the best breads I have made. Amazing flavor. I did not use the onion and used a combination of caraway and nigella seeds.

Ideally, you are supposed to wait a day before cutting into rye.

Hmph.

The crumb was a bit shaggy (blame the hmph), but the marbling was beautiful. Toasted and spread with apple butter, this is pure heaven.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The sourdough experiments- part two

  1. Scott says:

    That looks delicious!
    I wonder if the beverage market has a niche for sourdough liquor.

  2. Emjay says:

    That looks amazingly good! I love the alternative use of the scalpel. LOL.

  3. Waterbaby says:

    looks like it turned out pretty well despite the drama. please may i have a dab of butter instead, not a fan of the apple butter …

  4. Oh my that does look good.And I'd have hmph'd too.:)

  5. Well done! Looks delicious.

  6. The bread looks delicious, but does the recipe require using a scalpel to score the top? Could I use an x-acto knife, or a box cutter instead? 😉

  7. jaklumen says:

    Resisted the impulse to drink the alcohol formed as a result and poured it down the drain.I have to ask: would it have tasted any good? (I would guess no.) The loaf looks fabulous. Will I try to make it myself? Good question. Some of the ingredients might be hard to find, and the sprouted wheat flour would be at the mercy of the use of my folks stonemill grinder (probably easier to make than buy), so… I guess we'll see.Glad your experiment turned out very well, though.

  8. YummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyYummyI'm glad you just relaxed and let perfection arrive on its own. And that bread is REALLY beautiful!

  9. Purplesque says:

    Apparently, sourdough liquor is also known as hoochinoo or hooch. Quite popular, like most things illegal. 😀

  10. Purplesque says:

    I'd been looking for a scorer Forever..the scalpel also does a great job of trimming candles. A true multi-tasker.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Butter is good. I've just never been a big fan..as a kid, I would smear fresh cream on my toast instead of butter.

  12. Purplesque says:

    😀 I'm in good company, then.

  13. Purplesque says:

    I like box cutters, too. My last one broke while carving the third pumpkin for Thanksgiving, otherwise it would have had the honor.

  14. Purplesque says:

    But that's hooch! People drink it all the time.I don't think you need sprouted wheat flour. Regular whole wheat flour and dark rye flour would do just fine.

  15. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. Why is there that little scroll bar under your comment? Its cute.

  16. Waterbaby says:

    cream in only my coffee please. 🙂

  17. Dai says:

    This looks so good!

  18. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. 🙂

  19. O! that bar is because I typed too big a "Yummy" for the allocated space. Here's another:((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))I hope.

  20. Neat, hunh?*waves and says "Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee"

  21. Purplesque says:

    These are really neat. I saw them at work first and didn't get the scroll bar there, but here they are. Two of them!

  22. LOL…and they're FREEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. Amazing result! I have never ventured into sourdough yet. I will see if I can muster up more courage and enthusiasm in another week. Thanks for the motivation and gorgeous photos to tempt my stomach.

  24. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! I think most recipes make it look far more difficult than it is. (And I promise to keep on trying to tempt you.)

  25. Thank you so much! I will surely be tempted. One has to make a loaf of sourdough bread at least once in her life. It is a must!

  26. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thats exactly what I think. I found the Wild Yeast blog and Rose Levy's website quite helpful. Making the basic sourdough today..will post results if its any good.

  27. Thanks for sharing those two blogs. I'm checking them out now…

  28. bee says:

    are you kidding me? is it supposed to look this sexy with the marbling and all?

  29. Purplesque says:

    You tell me; I got the recipe from you. Reminds me of those gorgeous banneton impressions…:)

Leave a Reply

