Gingery Squash soup

 I took the Alton Brown recipe and added a couple of parsnips (coz I like them) and a sweet potato (coz it was dying) to the acorn squash while roasting. I also replaced the cream with milk, added some sage and used a good quarter cup worth of fresh ginger instead of 1 tsp. Not advisable, unless you're feeding a crazy ginger-loving crowd like ours.
 

The end result was absolutely delicious. Viva la AB!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Gingery Squash soup

  1. TBC says:

    I too love AB. 😀
    Where did "rhizome of ginger" go? I was going to say that it took me back to my botany class in college, many moons back. 🙂
    What a lovely looking bowl of soup that is!

  2. Purplesque says:

    LOL I realized that would be a huge exaggeration (did not want to anybody to try it at home and burn their mouths.) Thank you..still struggling with light issues at night, but it was just too good not to share.

  3. It's a bowl of SUNSHINE!!!!!!I love ginger, the kind in cookies, and dried in the little spice bottles, etc. But I've never tried the fresh……is it more intense because it's fresh or less, because it's not concentrated? Sweet potatoes…..*sigh*….yum!!!!!!!That's the most beautiful post of the year!

  4. dewitte says:

    That's a lot of ginger! I'm sure we'd love it too.

  5. And bythe way: I LOVE that bowl!! Is it part of a set?

  6. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Oh yes, I love ginger too, albeit in smaller quantities. I find the fresh more intense than the dried one. Its more lemony but less hot..if that makes any sense. It makes a great addition to tea, too.The bowl is part of a snack serving set of three mom sent from India.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Yes, in retrospect, a little less would have been better.

  8. Emjay says:

    LOL – I think you really made a Purplesque recipe! Great photo!

  9. Zotta says:

    Looks terrific. Thanks! I will print and file in cookbook.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! It was quite the comfort soup.

  11. Zotta says:

    Looks like just the thing for an Inaugural potluck and maybe easier than the black bean stew I was planning but still good for cold weather!

  12. Purplesque says:

    Its certainly easy..and is a great cold weather soup, especially if you use cream and lots of black pepper and ginger!

  13. Zotta says:

    I appreciate those tips very much, P.

  14. It's a lovely set!Thanks!! I should try to find some ginger. Maybe our local Acme will have it!

  15. Morgat says:

    Squash, parsnips, ginger… does it get any better than this? I'm definitely going to try this.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Another ginger lover..yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

