Grand Canyon, December 2008

The 'light snow' forecast turned into a snowstorm on our drive to the Canyon.

 

 

When we finally made it up the hill, visibility was 0.4 mile and we couldn't tell if the canyon even existed. Thankfully, the fog disappeared overnight, and the canyon came into view, as breathtaking as promised.

 

The snow made our planned hike all but impossible. We hiked a short distance on the rim trail that had been cleared of the snow and were rewarded with gorgeous views of the forest on one side and the canyon on the other.

 

I'd thought seeing the Grand Canyon once would be enough. Now I am already planning our next trip. :) 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Grand Canyon, December 2008

  1. Emjay says:

    I told you! LOL. Your photos are gorgeous!

  2. WOWEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Amazing……….*stares, slack-jawed, at the pictures*It's so good to see you!

  3. Vijay says:

    Great photos, as usual, Enjay 🙂

  4. Amy Jeynes says:

    Wow!
    Scott and I drove to the Grand Canyon for our honeymoon a shocking number of years ago. It was in November. It's awesome to see what it looks like with snow!
    The stargazing was primo. That was one of my favorite parts of being there.
    Have a great time!

  5. Waterbaby says:

    I used to live in southern Utah, with Zion and Bryce canyons, which are like the Grand Canyon (but even more stunning) … and the snow on the layers of red rock is just beautiful. i had the added treat of flying above and through them in my father's small plane, sights i will never forget …

  6. Nyght says:

    I went to boarding school not too far away from the Grand Canyon, but no matter how many times I saw it, I never got bored with the views. Absolutely breathtaking!
    Glad you're having fun!!!

  7. i had seen a lot of photos of the grand canyon, and had been there myself before, but i had never ever seen pictures of it in the wintertime, laced with snow. what a treat, and a different perspective. glad you were able to take the time off from work to escape and play =)

  8. Waterbaby says:

    i forgot — since you're already planning that next trip — ;D — i do highly encourage the addition of Zion National Park, not even a hop and a skip from the Grand Canyon. Zion, Bryce and Snow canyons (all in the same general vicinity) tend to get overlooked in the Grand Canyon's fame and really are more stunning IMHO and aren't all touristy {bonus points}! Just something to think about from someone who's been around …

  9. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. I believe you. 🙂

  10. Purplesque says:

    Good to see you too! We're back, finally, and as gorgeous the canyon was, its good to be back home. I haven't visited in a while..how have you been?

  11. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, Vijay. I found the canyon hard to photograph, and it really is impossible to capture its beauty with a camera, at least for amateurs like me.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Ah, yes. We were out very, very briefly the first night after the fog cleared, and the stars were amazing. I would have loved to stay out, but my eyes kept tearing up with the cold and I couldn't see a thing. 🙂

  13. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. That sounds like a great idea. I'd read briefly about Zion and Bryce, but did not want to squeeze too many things in one trip. Having been to Vegas once (it was enough), I'd love to visit the other canyons on our next trip. Living there..(and flying over the canyon..wow) must have been amazing. Do you get to visit now?

  14. Purplesque says:

    I want to go to that school! Everything about the canyon was amazing..the colors, the history, the fact that one small (relatively speaking) river started it all. It took my breath away.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! We were expecting snow, but not this much! Once we got past the scary drive, it was great. Everything was gorgeous, and there were very few people in sight.

  16. Waterbaby says:

    @well, it's rather complicated story. the short answer is yes, i could visit, if i had the money to travel, i have family there, and don't want to for that story. end of comment. 🙂

  17. I'm doing great, thank you!I thought of you yesterday and will do, again today: several weeks ago I made 15 bean soup and the past few days I've been eating it for lunch (had it in the freezer).It's sooo good to have soup on cold days….*waves*

  18. Aubrey says:

    Stunning. It looks like we have purple canyons majesty as well.
    Really, the colors have left Aubrey speechless and breathless.

  19. Breathtaking photos! Happy New Year, Purple! May you be blessed with peace and more love in 2009. And of course, many nice eats and treats…

  20. Purplesque says:

    15 bean soup? It would be hard for me to even guess..do you know all of them?Soup is great on cold days..so is pizza. 😀

  21. Purplesque says:

    You are very kind. The colors were truly striking, changing from layer to layer, each more stunning than the first.

  22. Purplesque says:

    Thank you so much. A very Happy New Year to you and yours as well, and lots of good eats!

  23. No, just a few. Mom used to make it; I bought some bags when the prices of food started going up. Here's the company ——- I didn't follow the recipe, though. Went way off track into uncharted territory (didn't add meat). And I didn't want to wait around to let the beans soak. So some of them are a bit crunchy. But it's REALLY good!Pizza……..I ❤pizza!I eat it maybe twice a year.

  24. Purplesque says:

    I've seen those multi-bean soup packages..they look so pretty. Maybe its time to try them.We made thin crust zucchini pizza tonight. It got all stretched out and shapeless, but was quite yum.

  25. M-----l says:

    I must have missed this post in the Christmas rush. Those pictures of the snow on the canyon are absolutely beautiful.

  26. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..I'm still playing catch-up with Vox.

  27. Wow, amazing pictures! I don't think I even knew that it snowed at the Grand Canyon.

Leave a Reply

