Potluck Recipe, and The Bucket List

Roasted butternut squash over Israeli couscous and preserved lemon. From this recipe.

I made minor changes, toasting the couscous and cooking it in just enough vegetable stock. (2.5 cups stock for 2 cups of couscous.) I omitted the onions and used cilantro instead of parsley.

The best part was making my own overnight preserved lemons. I bought a bagful of Meyer lemons from the grocery store and juiced half of them. The other lemons were quartered, packed with salt and lemon juice in a freezer bag, and placed in the freezer overnight. Thaw them in the morning and voila! Perfect preserved lemons. Great added to grain salads and pilafs.

The dish was a hit at the potluck for Movies and Mental Illness. We saw The Bucket List, and everybody was asked about their bucket list (we like cliches in this department). Mine was going back to college for a lit degree and backpacking through Europe. What's on yours?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Potluck Recipe, and The Bucket List

  1. Waterbaby says:

    my stepmother would mucho like this, she looooves tart and lemon (me, not so much) and the simplicity of preparation too. perhaps i should send her the recipe. πŸ˜‰

  2. Waterbaby says:

    every time i scroll past this pic, i can imagine how nice this would look in real life. (won't make it 'cause of the lemon but darn it does look pretty!)

  3. M-----l says:

    What's on yours?All I want to do before I die is eat Israeli couscous with butternut squash. It looks so tasty…and I'm very hungry right now.

  4. Vijay says:

    Great photo. Makes it look too good to just eat that stuff. On my bucket list: Do a month long road trip travelling the road less travelled in India. Has to be in a good SUV with family & a few select friends.

  5. Lakshmi says:

    I visit a blogsite I am a regular at, and Terri is talking about bucket list. I come to purplesque to drool over some food, and she mentions bucket list and there are people listing theirs. My best friend, a few months younger to me, tells me that she and her husband signed their will as part of their bucket list.

  6. What a gorgeous dish! I love how the couscous made the whole plate look like jewels of different colors.My bucket list: to visit Italy and Hungary for 6 months and finish writing my little book.

  7. Emjay says:

    I think the movie was too drawn out ….. that said, I can't wait for my foot to be back to "normal" so I can plan my next trip! I would love to see Russia and Vietnam next and more of the "real" China oh, and south America …. and Iceland …. the list goes on.

  8. Purplesque says:

    You can certainly make it without the lemon, if you don't like tart. (Or ask stepmom to make it for you, sans the lemon. πŸ™‚

  9. Purplesque says:

    Aww..thats your bucket list? I'll be happy to mail you some.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Sounds like a dream trip. I just added a houseboat on the Kerala backwaters to mine.

  11. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Hardly morbid, dear lady. We are talking about stuff to do while we are alive! You know..live each day as if..

  12. Purplesque says:

    Thank you!Your little book? Do tell.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Yes, the movie wasn't all that..I hope your leg heals soon. That said, it hasn't stopped you from going on a glorious trip already..I hope there are many more to come!

  14. Waterbaby says:

    lol lol. i'm an excellent cook. my stepmother need not make for e any dish, especially at 1,000+ miles away, lol. (i'm laughing picturing this dish arriving via Fed Ex …)

  15. OOOOOOOOOOO so pretty!! That looks so delicious!!!potluck for Movies and Mental Illness Haaa!!!What a COOL concept! Sounds like fun, cliches and all. What's on yours? I guess the funniest answer I would be able to think of is: "Another bucket" but I'm sure someone already said that!I don't have a list. I just do stuff, think of stuff, etc. So many things I wanted to do (like be a musical comedy star on Broadway) are never going to happen that it's staggering to consider and counterproductive, mostly. When I was a lot younger I didn't have one, either. I always assumed I'd die early. LOL …The only thing I'd still want to do is to learn how to fly a jet.I'd want to take it in one of those straight-down-to-earth dives and pull out right at the last minute. Neat, hunh?*grabs the plate of couscous squash while Purplesque is thinking about flying in a nosedive, and runs*

  16. M-----l says:

    Thanks for the offer, Purplesque. My mailman doesn't like me, and I'm sure he'd just eat it himself. It certainly does look good, though.

  17. Karen Lynn says:

    Looks delish, and its making me very hungry, is it good for breakfast? heheMy bucket list isn't prepared yet, but 2 of the things on it are1. hot air balloon ride2. skydiving

  18. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I'll take any/all food coming via FedEx, though there might not be much left to enjoy after 10,000 miles..

  19. Purplesque says:

    You could so well be a musical comedy star..you have a great voice and a delightful sense of the absurd!To fly a jet..ooo. That sounds more daunting than the former, but I have no doubts you can do both.

  20. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..you don't leave any Christmas cookies out for him? Bad M—–I.

  21. Purplesque says:

    Thats a great list! We planned to skydive once, but members of our group copped out at the last minute. A hot air balloon ride would be Awesome..

  22. I hope you enjoy your trip, and happy holidays to you and your whole family! My little book is my own autobiography. It's nothing too serious, but rather a self-help therapy to help myself deal with those severe traumas I endured growing up as a only child in a cold, overly-strict and dysfunctional family. My goal is that one day I can write about all the painful experiences and look them in the face and let go finally. I might want to get it published, but to be honest, at this point of my life, I have lived so much for other people that I don't know what I like or want to do for myself. So, we shall see.

  23. scorpion1116 says:

    Beautiful food as usual! I need to quit visiting your site when I'm starving, lol. I've never really thought about a "bucket list" in the proper sense, but there are a few things I'd like to happen before I die. I want to live someplace beautiful (which translates to near or on a body of water), I want to be able to retire while I'm still well enough to enjoy it, (I would probably start up a little part-time business) and I want to know reciprocal love again.
    I hope you make your bucket list happen. πŸ™‚

  24. Purplesque says:

    I hope that your book comes true this year. ((hugs))

  25. Purplesque says:

    I hope your bucket list comes true for you, too, scorpy..have a wonderful new year.

  26. Morgat says:

    More butternut squash! Mmmmm… I'm going to have to make this one, too!
    I'm also going to have to see "Bucket List". I've got the general idea of the bucket list from this post, though, and finishing my novel series and getting them published is on my list.

  27. Purplesque says:

    Novel series! Tell me more. (Maybe its on your blog..I should go explore.)Bucket list is your standard, feel-good movie..not one I would particularly recommend, unless you love Jack Nicholson like I do. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

