Winter smells..

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Winter smells..

  1. Aubrey says:

    I love all the colors and textures. I never tasted a chestnut, but they must be rich and yummy. They look that way, anyway!

  2. Waterbaby says:

    @Aubrey – the japanese eat by the season and this is the time of year for kuri, chestnut cake that is just wonderful, lord i'm homesick suddenly!

  3. Purplesque says:

    Oh, Waterbaby. Do you get kuri here?Chestnuts remind me of Indian water chestnuts, which are delightful boiled and sprinkled with rock salt. Are Japanese chestnuts like European ones? Do you get em here?

  4. Purplesque says:

    They are..rich, sweet and slightly smoky. They remind me most of boiled Indian water chestnuts and a little bit of well roasted sweet potatoes.I thought all Americans ate chestnuts. Sorry, another generalization, obviously..but why no chestnuts?

  5. Aubrey says:

    I guess when Aubrey's taste buds were developing, chestnuts weren't that available. Then, when I tried water chestnuts – not particularly thrilling – I automatically associated them with the wintry, sweet kind of chestnut.
    Now that I'm curious about them, whenever I see them – they're just too expensive!

  6. Waterbaby says:

    I've not seen them, which isn't to say they can't be found at, say, Asian markets. They're a sweeter chestnut than the American version, so so so delightful. Next time I'm in that part of Tacoma, I'll check out the Asian market …

  7. Purplesque says:

    I don't like the canned water chestnuts we get here..and they are very, very different from the chestnuts above. These are dreadfully expensive in the grocery stores, but quite reasonable if you find them in a Farmer's market..we once bought some for two bucks a pound!

  8. Purplesque says:

    Just saw a picture..I'd love to try them. *Makes a note*

  9. Waterbaby says:

    @Purplesque – the ones I ate looked very much like this, each wrapped individually and artfully in a delicate beautiful paper (no does wrapping better than the Japanese!) … god i'm going to cry if i keep talking about it (america offers nothing comparable in its food culture or exquisite attention to detail and beauty)

  10. Waterbaby says:

    @Purplesque – and oh yeah, the outer part is this soft thin slightly sweet fragrant cake and the inside a core of sweet chestnut (but not an american sweet … more like … hmmmm …. delicate and light … like an earthy nashi pear … ohmigawd … so simple yet so …. beautiful and seasonal. the stores right now are filled with lovely boxes of the treat. i really am about to hop on a plane right now!!!!

  11. Purplesque says:

    Oh, those are beautiful. I'm reading this while watching Andrew Zimmern in Japan. He, of course, is eating things like octopus icecream and goat testicles, but I can see the attention to detail and the gorgeous simplicity everywhere.Lets not talk about things that make us cry, anymore. I have a sudden craving for Prairie oysters. 😀

  12. Waterbaby says:

    @Purplesque – lol. yes, i saw those trailers. not *all* japanese food is a work of art of course, they have an abundance of homestyle staples like udon and soba and curry rice, nevermind a zillion ways to prepare fish. nonetheless ………….. their attention to detail is unsurpassed and their palate refined to a T. Against them, Americans are such slobs in presentation and eating habits. It makes me ashamed and angry. Enjoy the show!!! I've eaten plenty of octopus (it's OK, doesn't rock my world) but not had the ice cream. Meh. Quality matcha ice cream though — ohhhhhh yes!!!!!

  13. Purplesque says:

    I know what you mean.(Help me out a little bit.. Are you Japanese? American? Japanese-American? American-born Japanese-soul or vice versa? I 'm all curious. 🙂

  14. Waterbaby says:

    American by birth, Asian on the inside; my standard quip is I'm an Asian trapped in a Western body. Always resonated with other cultures, especially Eastern. Never America's. Many many lifetimes in Asia as well, Japan especially. It's my soul home. I hate America.

  15. Waterbaby says:

    that should read i hate being in america; much "prefer" it at a distance as a society and culture.

  16. Purplesque says:

    That explains it. I have a friend who was born here but considers herself an Indian soul. I have no such clarity..there are things I love and hate about both cultures.

  17. Waterbaby says:

    I tooooootally understand about your friend. I was actually more Japanese than some Japanese! … who in turn were more Western than I! On the other hand, I've also known (fill in culture) who are (that culture) through and through. My cultural clarity (Eastern not Western) was profound from a very young age, it has been an albatross for sure.

  18. Purplesque says:

    I'm sorry that it was an albatross more than an asset for you. At the same time it is amazing that you had it from a young age..

  19. Waterbaby says:

    @Purplesque – no reason to be sorry, eventually the door to leave the country open, just had to patiently wait through several decades of being very uncomfortable and granted i'm back to waiting again but i think about it all the time and reasonably know one day my chance to fly again will come. 😉

  20. Emjay says:

    Great photo. They are roasting them in large kettles on the streets here in Milan and in Rome. They smell great – I had some hot off the kettle in London years ago and I did not like them! I still love that roasting smell of them though. LOL.

  21. Oh, neat! they open like that? Little blossoms of nutiness! I never ate one……but I pounded on one once when I was a very young kid; couldn't get it to do anything, except roll around. For some reason I thought they were little animals, like armadillos?

  22. Purplesque says:

    Ah yes..the smell is as good as the chestnuts themselves. I love sitting on the couch with a bundle of roasted chestnuts in a towel in my lap. They keep me warm and toasty and smell great as I shell them.

  23. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..somehow I know exactly what you mean. The little pointed end which has a different color, the tiny tail in the back, and the furry under-skin once open..they do remind me of small furry creatures that like to roll. 😀

  24. Waterbaby says:

    every time i swing by at first glance i think chocolates!

  25. Purplesque says:

    Mm..its snowing outside, and dark at 4.30 pm. I want hot chocolate!

  26. Waterbaby says:

    splash in some bailey's and we have a date.

Leave a Reply

