Mushroom soup

What else would you crave on a cold rainy day?

What you need:
1 8oz package button/baby bella mushrooms, sliced thick
1/4 cup dried shiitakes
1/4 cup dried porcini
1 tbsp butter
1 tsp dried thyme
1/4 cup full cream milk
salt and pepper to taste
a few drops truffle oil for garnish

– Soak the dried mushrooms in hot water for twenty minutes. Squeeze and remove them, and chop into coarse pieces. Discard stems. Filter the soaking liquid. (It is usually gritty.)
– Heat the butter in a saute pan and add the sliced mushrooms and thyme. Saute until the mushrooms soften and release their liquid. Add the chopped soaked shrooms and the soaking liquid. Add about a cup of water or more. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer for fifteen minutes.
– Take a hand blender to the soup. When you get the desired consistency, add the milk, salt and pepper. Turn off the heat. Ladle into bowls and add a drizzle of truffle oil to each serving.
– Serve with crusty bread.

This is good. There are no onions, no garlic, no celery, no carrots, Just mushrooms. If you're a mushroom lover, this soup is for you. Let me know when you make it and I will be right over.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mushroom soup

  1. Emjay says:

    Is this thick enough to use as a sauce? I don't think I would like "straight" mushroom soup but it sounds as though it would be great over a steak (sorry!) or pasta.

  2. Purplesque says:

    It is quite thick. I sometimes drink my soup from a cup, but this one had to be 'eaten' with a spoon. It could be thickened further with a tsp of cornstarch dissolved in the water.I lurve the idea of using this on pasta. (Or steak- Thank you for being so gentle. lol)

  3. saraH says:

    I'm definitely going to make this!!

  4. julie says:

    Congrats on the "Food is Good"! I've been missing you blog desperately. You always cook the best food.

  5. A-kay says:

    I am not a great lover of mushroom and think it will be a little too mushroomy for my taste 😛 But I think I would love to use this as a pasta sauce (as Emjay suggested) or even as a pizza sauce.

  6. Purplesque says:

    I hope you like it as much as I did. Thanks!

  7. Purplesque says:

    Thank you so much! I haven't been cooking much blog-worthy food lately, just simple, everyday comfort food. I'm off to visit your blog now..your food is not just absolutely delicious, but glorious to look at.

  8. Purplesque says:

    I have to admit this is the mushroom-lover's soup. You could always add an onion or two before sauteing the mushrooms, or even carrots.Mushroom pizza sauce..with roasted peppers and a sharp cheese. Oh goodness, now I'm drooling again. 🙂

  9. Waterbaby says:

    not a fan of 'shrooms so wouldn't make this BUT congrats making front page!

  10. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you.

  11. 8gurl says:

    Oh wow this looks fantastic! I love mushrooms and love cooking soups in the wintertime. And I'm loving all the creative ideas from the other cooks. I don't think I would like it pureed because I really like the texture of mushrooms, maybe reserve some cooked mushroom to add back after pureeing the soup would allow the soup to have the taste and texture or a cream soup along with some pieces of mushroom. I also love the idea of using this as a pizza sauce. YUMO!!! I'm going to try this weekend and will let you know what I come up with. I'll probably have to omit the truffle oil, too pricey for me. Thanks and Congrats!

  12. Purplesque says:

    A fellow mushroom lover! I know what you mean about texture..I'm more partial to a creamed mushroom soup, but I've seen it done the other way. Can't wait to see your version!

  13. I love all kinds of mushroom soups, creamy, textured, watery, you name it! Great recipe! Congrats on making this appear on the homepage too. You should compile a cookbook now.

  14. Purplesque says:

    🙂 What a raggedy collection it would be. I think we'll call it 'This and that.'

Leave a Reply

