Born Free

As a kid, my favorite thing in summer holidays was to bury myself in the coolest room in our house, reading and re-reading my dad's stash of old Reader's Digests. There was even a hindi version of Reader's Digest for a while, optimistically titled 'Sarvottam', 'the best'.

Sarvottam used a delightful blend of formal Hindi grammar and American humor, and I instantly fell in love. Reader's Digest was where I read about Christian. Christian was a lion cub purchased by John Rendall and Anthony  Bourke from Harrods of London in 1969 and ultimately reintroduced to the wild.

Fancy finding him on You Tube, twenty years later.

Born Free

This made me cry, and it did not help that I first saw the cheesier Whitney Houston version.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Born Free

  1. Aubrey says:

    Rather marvelous.
    We saw this video at work. We were all crowded around the computer: sniffing, dabbing eyes, averting eyes from the emotion.

  2. cried when I saw this video a few months ago!

  3. Emjay says:

    A tear jerker! I used to like Reader's Digest when I was young too. It never changed very much!

  4. Purplesque says:

    It is impossible to see this and not cry, isn't it? Such pure, wordless love.

  5. Purplesque says:

    I ran into it quite accidentally, after passing over the NYT best screen moments article a couple of times. To think that such a beautiful animal is now threatened with extinction.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Lol..it certainly did not. I got a free subscription last year after several years, and the magazine was quite the same. The reader, unfortunately, had changed too much.

  7. Amy Jeynes says:

    Wonderful! I'll bypass the Whitney Houston version…

  8. Purplesque says:

    We will not blame you for that. šŸ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving.

  9. Nyght says:

    Proof that love is LOVE – stonger than time and a barrier across any divide.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Yes..isn't this absolutely heartwarming?

  11. scorpion1116 says:

    Awww, thank you for posting this. What wonderful way to spend a few minutes of my morning. I've been feeding the neighborhodd cats who loiter around my porch. I think I'll go out and hug the only one that will let me get near it, lol.

  12. Purplesque says:

    no cats here. Do you think the chipmunks will let me hug them? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

