Vegan Mofo- Tamarind Rice

With the in-laws' visit, my cooking creativity has been put to the test. Mother-in-law does not eat rice or root vegetables, including carrots, radishes, turnips, onion, garlic or potatoes. Father-in-law eats only two kinds of lentils, and sister-in-law will not eat yogurt or anything with unfamiliar ingredients (that includes pasta). So its been interesting to come up with a dinner that everyone can enjoy.

Ingredients:
1.5 cups long-grain rice
3 cups water
1 tbsp oil
1/8 tsp asfoetida
1 tbsp mustard seeds
1 dried red chilli
2 tbsp coriander seeds, ground
6-7 curry leaves, fresh or dried
1 tsp split black gram
1 tsp bengal gram
2 tbsp tamarind pulp (or use 4 tsp lime juice)
1 tbsp cashews, toasted/fried
1 tbsp raisins
1/4 cup roasted peanuts
salt to taste
1 tsp sugar
1/2 cup water
a handful of cilantro, chopped

– Wash and soak the rice in the water. After half and hour, cook the rice. Bring the soaked mixture to a boil, then lower heat to simmer and cover. Watch until all the water is absorbed. Let the rice cool.
– Heat the oil in a small skillet. Add the lentils and saute for a few seconds. Then add asfoetida, red chilli, mustard seeds, curry leaves, coriander powder, and peanuts in that order.
– Saute for a few minutes and then add tamarind pulp and water. Add salt and sugar and bring the mixture to a boil.
Turn off the heat.
– Add the mixture to the rice and mix well. Garnish with cashews, raisins and cilantro and serve.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Vegan Mofo- Tamarind Rice

  1. Good grief!!!!There's not much left to eat!Butterfly wing dandruff?You are a patient loving creative person: (((((((hugs))))))They're lucky they're not staying with me. I might have handed them the phone book and a $20 bill, and said good-night.

  2. Purplesque says:

    LOL But they won't eat anything that does not come from a pure vegetarian kitchen!I want to eat butterfly wing dandruff. Sounds like food for elves. šŸ˜€

  3. They could go to the local supermarket……buy some stuff and whip it up themselves. I know, that's heartless. But it's not like you're home all the time, just lounging around eating bon-bons, thinking up food for them…you have a stressful job and limited time and GRRRRRRRR……..LOL– yes, that butterfly wing stuff would be expensive, too, I think — like saffron? But it might be in several colors.

  4. jaklumen says:

    Looks positively delish!I regret, however, that it is somewhat unlikely that I will use the recipe šŸ˜¦ I've found if the recipe doesn't have a list of ingredients that is fairly short, cheap, easy to get, and the recipe can't be memorized quickly, it often gets lost in the shuffle. Lazy me! (not to mention cheap)

  5. Emjay says:

    Oh for goodness sake!!!! You are a saint! I'm with Robbie – they would be on their own when it came to dinner! šŸ™‚

  6. Aubrey says:

    "Here is your dinner – made up of much expense, thought and effort. What your gratitude will be made up of is up to you, but I expect it to be extravagant, and I expect it forthwith."

  7. Purplesque says:

    They wouldn't call it dandruff, would they? It would be marketed as butterly wing glitter or something fancy…in different colors, how lovely!
    I could use it as a garnish on cookies. šŸ™‚

  8. Purplesque says:

    I don't blame you. I'd never go out to buy more than one ingredient especially for a dish, and definitely not if I wasn't planning on using it again. Its not being cheap or lazy, just practical..

  9. Purplesque says:

    Lol..its not that bad, they do make their own brunch. But since we are home in the evenings, dinner is a combined affair. Its much more common in India for people to have all sorts of weird dietary restrictions..personally, I don't get it. But I can work my way around it.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Oh, Aubrey, how I WISH I could deliver those lines, standing majestically in the kitchen in my apron, a rolling pin in one hand..

  11. They wouldn't call it dandruff, would they? No — that's a good point!! Who would eat it? Bleccch!I could use it as a garnish on cookies. šŸ™‚ LOL — that's neat!

  12. It's amazing how you need to wrap your brain around what to cook every day for three completely different people. God bless you for that! I love the rice. I mean, seriously, who wouldn't? I'm getting an euphoria just looking at your picture.

Leave a Reply

