What’s sweeping over twitter

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What’s sweeping over twitter

  1. I ❤ free speech……but I'm not McCain's friend………and I NEVER wink. lol — *waves*

  2. Crys says:

    Awesome :)I'm not McCain's friend either…

  3. I thought his repeated use of "friends" towards the audience was patronizing, or like some used car salesman trying to get you to buy that 1975 Gremlin with just 80,000 miles on it. (For those too young to remember, the Gremlin was a compact car made by the now defunct American Motors. It looked like a pregnant Volkswagen Bug.)Wink wink!

  4. lauowolf says:

    I was bopping around looking at people live bloogging the debate.Everyone was all "stop saying that" "I'm NOT your friend"It was reassuring to see it wasn't just me he was creeping out.

  5. Crys says:

    Oh HECK no, it is obvious that he's starting to panic. Not only did he actually repeat some of the things Obama said, almost word for word, but he was talking over everyone's heads. Obama took the time to explain it in "real people language" but McCain insisted on talking politician lingo.

  6. This is such a clown show by now. Certainly no McCain… but politics is shit anyway.

  7. Emjay says:

    LOL! They were certainly quick in getting these out.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Hey!! Good to see you! I never thought you were the winking kind. 🙂

  9. Purplesque says:

    Seriously, what friend would call you 'my friend' nineteen times?

  10. Purplesque says:

    I've never seen a Gremlin, but I know exactly what you mean when you say 'patronizing'.Between his 'my friends' and her winking, I don't know which is worst.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Honestly, it was creepy! Especially that loud fake whisper.

  12. Purplesque says:

    I have to agree, but I haven't had this much fun following elections in a long time..

  13. Purplesque says:

    Within hours! This is what I call true American spirit..:)

  14. jaklumen says:

    I think McCain is trying to appeal to Southern conservatives who aren't too crazy about him by using one of their folksy old terms. It's more or less used just like "ladies and gentlemen".It'd be FAR funnier for the T-shirt to say "I ain't yer friend, McCain, and yoo ain't no good ol' boy."But people are missing the cultural reference here.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Lol. I know. This was the liberal response to his Southern conservative address.I have spent most of my time here in such areas of the country, and what applies to 'Ladies and Gentlemen' should apply to 'My Friends'. You don't use the term of address nineteen times; you use it a few times and at specific moments for greater effect.

  16. jaklumen says:

    yeah– I missed it, but that's what I guessed.I think it's likely proof that it's a put-on and he doesn't understand. He *is* from Arizona, after all.

  17. lol — no — I've never been a good winker. It confuses me – I ended up shutting both eyes…….or neither!

  18. Purplesque says:

    Aww. Thats cute. I had a crush on this cute, innocent kid back in college. We'd tease him gently all the time, asking him to wink. He was a great winker. 🙂

  19. bee says:

    my fav t-shirt says: "this one is voting for that one."

  20. Purplesque says:

    Oo..I love that! I should get one of those, even though I can't vote. 😀

Leave a Reply

