Our daily bread

I really like this recipe from vegan food author Bryanna Clark Grogan. This is a simple bread made of half whole wheat flour, salt, water and yeast. The recipe is quite flexible and needs little planning. If you're like me and suddenly decide to bake a bread on a weekend morning, you don't have to worry about a starter; the sponge can be risen in an hour or two. 4-5 hours later, you have fresh crusty bread.

The only problem was that the flour absorbed too much water. Maybe it was because I used Indian atta, fine ground whole wheat durum flour. I could only use 4.5 cups instead of the 6, and ended up with two tiny loaves. We made sandwiches for dinner and I gave the other loaf to my neighbors- they made all the right noises, so I assume they liked it as well. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Our daily bread

  1. YUMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!your neighbors are so very very very lucky……

  2. Oh yay! I loved this recipe too. Your bread photo is talking directly to my stomach now.

  3. Emjay says:

    Great photo!! I wish I was your neighbour!

  4. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you.

  5. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. I was trying to upload a picture of the whole bread but Vox wouldn't let me.

  6. Emjay says:

    Vox can be quite temperamental sometimes!

  7. *grabs the bread from the neighbors and RUNS*

  8. malathy says:

    I can chuck my current neighbour out of his house, P. There is a nice kitchen there, and a nicer garden.

  9. malathy says:

    Actually, that last comment and this current comment is from Lakshmi from her m-i-l's laptop…

  10. Purplesque says:

    I wondered who it was, promising to kick out their neighbor..lolAnd you m-i-l has a Vox account. How cool is that?If you will teach me to garden, its a deal. I'm taking the next flight home.

  11. You got me thinking. I did have a problem with the water too. I had to add like 1/3 cup or more water into the dough so that it wasn't too dry. I just used normal organic whole wheat flour. Nothing fancy like you. 🙂

  12. Purplesque says:

    Lol..atta is everyday flour for us, quite the opposite of fancy. I'd love to try this bread again with more water..

Leave a Reply

