Another food survey

Its Sunday morning. I have had a cup of tea, set my bread dough for the final rise, made a chickpea curry, read NYT online and even done 50 questions from the PRITE papers. What else to do but take a food survey? I found it on Singing Horse's blog who found it on Liz's blog. This is technically vegan, but easily adaptible, so go ahead and have fun! Don't forget to link back to Liz's blog.

1.  Name a song that involves food in some way.
Black milk by Massive Attack.
2.  What criteria do you use when choosing a new cookbook to buy?
Should have information that I can't easily find online. That, and great Amazon reviews.
3.  What did you eat today?
A mug of tea with a rusk, and some hummus.
4.  Name a vegan food that you know exists but you have never tried.
Vegemite.
5.  The Food Network just called and needs you to start your new show tomorrow.  What will the title of the show be?

I don't want a show. I want a book. It will be called The Complete Idiot's Guide to Vegetarian Cookery.

6.  Favorite hot sauce or other spicy condiment?
Garlic pickle.
7.  How old were you when you became vegetarian/vegan?
Born vegetarian. I've played with the idea of turning vegan, but will wait until we move to a more vegan-friendly city.
8.  Favorite vegan cheeze? 
Home-made paneer, fresh Indian cottage cheese.
9.  Cutest baby animal?
They are all cute, but I've seen baby lion cubs on TV and they are the cutest!
10.  Favorite type of jam/jelly/marmalade/preserves?

Kissan Pineapple jam

11.  Do you take any vitamins/supplements?

Nope. I believe that a balanced diet provides us with everything we need.

12.  What food/dish most embodies the Fall season?

Roasted squash

13.  What food would you have a hard time living without?
Salt
14.  Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?

Tea

15.  It's 10PM and you're starving.  What do you eat?
Ice cream!
16.  If you have an animal companion, what is his/her favorite food?

Back home, my German Shepherd loved melons. If we bought melons, he could sniff them out from outside and would not rest until allowed to demolish one.

17.  Worst injury you've gotten in the kitchen?

Lopped off my finger with a new knife when I was 7. There was blood Everywhere.

18.  When you have a food-related question, who do you call?
Google, or my mom.
19.  Summer is ending- What food will you miss most?

Summer squash.

20.  What snacks do you keep in your purse/backpack/desk at work?

Nothing.

21.  Favorite soup to make on a rainy day?
Roasted tomato soup.
22.  What's your favorite combination of fresh vegetable and/or fruit juices?
I don't really like juices. But I love to put lots of different berries and half a banana through the blender to make a smoothie.
23.  Favorite brand of root beer?
Still looking.
24.  Make up your own question!
Who do you think is the most awesome cook in the world?
My mom! 🙂

p.s. All spacing snafus courtesy the fact that Vox and Firefox don't play well together.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Another food survey

  1. dewitte says:

    #12 & #21 – Yummy!I heard the vegemite is horrible, but then, I've heard a lot of things were horrible that I ended up liking.

  2. Emjay says:

    I'm not sure vegemite is vegan….. it is made from beef. Americans don't usually like it because they put it on toast too thickly. It is very salty – naughty #13! LOL spacing – Vox doesn;'t seem to play nicely with any browser or operating system lately.

  3. Purplesque says:

    I know what you mean..I'm always up for trying new things, but you never know!

  4. Purplesque says:

    Just looked it up. It used to made with beef but some newer versions are often vegetarian friendly, at least Kraft Vegemite is. I'd love to try it on hot toast, spread thinly of course. 🙂

  5. Emjay says:

    That's interesting …. though I would consider it "fake" LOL. I am not a big vegemite fan but I do like it when I am feeling sick – it is great comfort food to me. We had more Bovril in our house as we were growing up.

  6. Scott says:

    #17: OW! Ow ow ow ow! Like, the whole finger?!

  7. Purplesque says:

    Looked up Bovril as well…lol. I'll stick with Vegemite for now.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I don't think so. More like a good fat chunk out of the tip, which would explain the bleeding. But I don't remember getting stitches so it can't have been bad, and there are no scars.

  9. Your German Shepherd actually ate the melon? Or he just liked to rip it open? I'm curious, because we had a old tomcat who used to like munching on watermelon. The problem was he would take just one bite out of a wedge and leave the rest to you. One day he jumped up on the picnic table during a family gathering and took a bite out of each wedge of watermelon on the table. He did it so perfectly, people thought I cut them like that on purpose.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Lmao at your tomcat taking perfect bites out of every wedge!Our dog loved muskmelons. He would eat them, skin, seeds, pulp, Everything. He also loved papayas and corn on the cob. He would clean a corn on the cob so neatly that you would think a lady with perfect manners had eaten it. 🙂

  11. Great, you did this survey already! Now that you mentioned it, I never tried Vegemite either. I thought of trying it so many times but somehow I cowered every time. I am all for trying new food, so it is really weird.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Lol..yes, that happens with certain foods. I am not sure where to look for it, though, still waiting for it to suddenly show up in my supermarket aisle one day!

  13. I have never found it anywhere either. I mean I visited a few huge Whole Foods with the intention of finding interesting things. I spent a long time looking for stuff. But no Vegemite.

  14. OW! Sorry about that finger!!Your dog liked melons……FASCINATING!!! I saw on one of the nature shows that tigers like pumpkins…….that they REALLY like them and act like they're catnip, nearly. ..

  15. Purplesque says:

    Just a couple of Australian friends, including Emjay. I've heard its salty and yeasty, so it reminds me of miso. Can't wait to try it!

  16. I think we have some in our local supermarket — at least I think I saw it a few years ago — maybe you do?

  17. Purplesque says:

    I will check, for sure. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

